We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”
Review of Burford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burford Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Arrival was good but be aware the hotel is on the A40 so there is allot of traffic noise. Check in was smooth with a warm welcome and a drink. Room was large and clean interesting bathroom with a very un-disabled bath. Attention to detail was wrong in so many ways with no heating on we had to turn on the heating, pictures all at wrong angles and no wardrobe just hanging space. But the room was clean and large. Breakfast you have to order the night before and although a good selection the cooked breakfast was just run of mill shop purchased and not of the best quality. The hotel was good but was off in so many ways no ambiance poor breakfast and staff saying only been here six months, well six months is long enough to know what and how to do things, Could of been excellent but its one of those hotels that you cannot put your finger on as to what is wrong but something is wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    61
    27
    19
    10
See reviews for
26
125
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hi we stayed at this hotel for one night over Easter weekend. I was disappointed to find it is on a busy and noisy main road. We had a room facing the road and could hear traffic noise. Hardly what I wanted for a romantic, relaxing break in the Cotswolds.
Staff were friendly but overall I wish we had booked in somewhere else. It is a steep walk up and down to Burford too so would not recommend this hotel to people with mobility issues- plus there is not a lift and all rooms require you to climb stairs.
Found a pubic hair in the bath/shower from a former guest....
Mattress was very uncomfortable and did not get much sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this Spring. Very convenient for touring the Cotswolds and just a short walk to the village of Burford.
The room was comfortable and warm,ensuite well fitted with plenty of hot water.
Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate.
Breakfast was excellent - tasty fruit salad, selection of cereals and several choices for a cooked breakfast
Friendly efficient service by Ted and his wife.
Good price for the bed and breakfast. Very clean room and hotel.
DianneGill Wales

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Well located for short walk into Burford, the downside of this is that the hotel is on the main road (A40) so if you're a light sleeper, be sure to request a quiet room at the back as road noise is an issue.

Room comfortable and breakfast OK, could do with a bit of help at busy times as the owner appears to be chef, waiter and receptionist all at the same time. Price is average for the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reido1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in Burford Lodge, last year it was a little cold during the early afternoon as the heating didnt come on till 6pm and there was no one around during the evening,although the room was good and the food excellent at breakfast - This year now owned by Mr & Mrs Liu (sorry if wrongly spelt) but the nice atmosphere of this old lodge was even better, and we were greeted nicely and the rooms were all warm and toasty! The breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice this year. Room was extremely clean with plenty of hot water and warm towels The new proprietors were very attentive although not obtrusive. We shall be going back
We generally visit the area at this time of year to visit Bourton on the Water xmas event.

Room Tip: Small lodge all rooms triple glazed as on the edge of the A40 so no room is a problem. Being on a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the middle of November for one night as we were in the area. We received a lovely welcome from the owner who was polite and eager to provide good service. The bedroom was a good size, with a bed which reminded me of bed knobs and broomsticks. The bathroom was once again a good size and came with fluffy towels and toiletries. The bed was comfy and although our bedroom was next to an A road the noise was fine. The room was warm with double glazing and long curtains on the windows. From a female perspective there were 3 mirrors in the room for doing makeup, including one in the bathroom. In the morning we had a cooked breakfast which was really well cooked, I loved the bacon. Once again the owner was welcoming, bringing us the tv remote so we could turn over if we wanted and bringing us Jams and juice. Basically if he thought we might need it he brought it to us before we even had time to realise we needed it. Later on he mentioned he and his wife had taken over ownership two months earlier. I really do wish them all the best and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna64uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our recent stay at the Burford Lodge was a most pleasant experience. The hotel is conveniently situated with easy and ample parking and less than five minutes walk from the lovely village of Burford where we found many good restaurants. There is a public footpath adjacent to the hotel which runs along the side of the golf club and takes you over beautiful landscape. The new owners were more than attentive to their clients needs and made us most welcome. Our room, which was exceedingly clean and cosy, was at the back of the hotel so we did not experience too much traffic noise. The breakfasts were excellent. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: "rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.4 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford Lodge

Property: Burford Lodge
Address: Oxford Road, Burford OX18 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burford Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership since Spring 2012, this honey-coloured Cotswold Stone Lodge has eight individual en suite bedrooms. Our warm and welcoming small team of enthusiastic and caring local staff offer a friendly and charming atmosphere. In an area of outstanding natural beauty, the picture postcard town of Burford has a wealth of antique shops, cafes, bars, National Trust properties and delightful gardens. We serve light lunches and afternoon teas daily between 12:00 - 16:30. Our bar is open until 19:00. We hope your stay with us will be comfortable and memorable and we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Burford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford Hotel Burford
Burford Lodge Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing