We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub food in ages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #8 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best pub food in ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stopped in here out of the blue. Was walking to the High Street when the heavens opened so decided to dive in & get a bite to eat. Wasn't quite sure what to make of the place. It was clean & tidy with stone floors. Landlord was pleasent & chatty when ordering the food. The food when it arrived was well presented. It was also excellent. Clearly fresh. I had a steak which I have to say was one of the best I've had. The chips were to die for. The onion rings were done just right.

Well worth popping in for a meal. A great little hidden away gem .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    31
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
260 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Dog friendly pub in the centre of Burford. Great service and lovely food in a traditional pub. The owner has a bird and lots of dogs but all very clean. Good range of beer and cider. There is a separate room with bar billiards table. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had a few bar meals in our time, but this one was exceptional. Hidden away just off the High Street but well worth seeking out. Would go back again and again to taste full menu. Staff extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekWinnersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place , very friendly staff and beautiful dog , food was amazing , would visit every week if I could , only popped in for a quick bite , ended up staying for hours , sat by the fire enjoying every moment , blt baguette was the best I've ever tasted ! And the Guinness was top class

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
245 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

A chilly day, but a warm fire, warm welcome, friendly service and lovely grub. It is difficult to add to previous reviews. It isn't the prettiest of pubs but scores highly especially the steak and ale pie and smashing chips and quite probably the best sticky toffee pudding my wife and I have ever shared and we have tried a few! Thoroughly recommend the Royal Oak and look forward to visiting again next time we are in Burford

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

had an excellent meal at this proper traditional pub in burford. the hosts and staff were brilliant very attentive. its a place where some of the locals gather aswell as us tourists. we ordered starters which were fab very morrish and tasty, then we ordered the pies chicken and steak, we also had the lamb and the rump steak couldnt find any sort of disapointment apart from the huge portions not complaining tho... we would love to try the accommodation in the future as its just off the main street and seems a little quieter.

Room Tip: order anything off the menu it wont dissapoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

A decent down to earth pub in the rather chi-chi quaint Cotswolds town of Burford. My husband and I stayed here one night on a motorcycle touring holiday. Despite having booked a room in advance through their website, they had no record of our booking. Fortunately a room was available - comfy enough, rather than luxurious. Decent pub food - my husband and I both had excellent pies mid-afternoon, and came back down later for pudding, washed down by Wadworths beer. Quite a few dogs in the bar, some on the scrounge for any leftovers from our lunch - not a dog person myself, but I got the impression Burford is a "dog-person" town!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a traditional British Inn, offering freshly prepared food, great real ales and bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Burford
The Royal Oak Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing