We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub...Made our holiday!!!”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #10 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great pub...Made our holiday!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We came across this pub on the 3rd night of our weeks holiday and returned for the next 4 nights!
Very friendly people and the food was wonderful.A local pub with a great homely atmosphere.Every meal we had was presented well and tasted great.Will definitely return if we are in the area again.Thanks for the experience and the memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian_M20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    32
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
257 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We often visit Burford, and occasionally stay over. We stayed here for one night. This is definitely a "pub with a couple of rooms", and concentrates on the pub side of things. Nothing wrong with it, just a bit basic as a place to stay and the noise from the extractor fan for the kitchen was a bit of a nuisance. We didn't choose to eat here for our evening meal so can't comment on the food. We did have breakfast - in the bar - nothing wrong, just ok. However this place is quite reasonably priced for Burford.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

we reserved a table for 9 for sunday lunch ,the pub was very busy so we had quite a wait i ordered home made chicken mushroom and leek pie with hand cut chips with vegetables which i
would highly reccommend. Two of the party had chilie beef which they thoroughly enjoyed,three had roast beef with mixed results and the two children had burgers in buns which they enjoyed .Overall a good lunch experience and will be going back again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stopped in here out of the blue. Was walking to the High Street when the heavens opened so decided to dive in & get a bite to eat. Wasn't quite sure what to make of the place. It was clean & tidy with stone floors. Landlord was pleasent & chatty when ordering the food. The food when it arrived was well presented. It was also excellent. Clearly fresh. I had a steak which I have to say was one of the best I've had. The chips were to die for. The onion rings were done just right.

Well worth popping in for a meal. A great little hidden away gem .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
271 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Dog friendly pub in the centre of Burford. Great service and lovely food in a traditional pub. The owner has a bird and lots of dogs but all very clean. Good range of beer and cider. There is a separate room with bar billiards table. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had a few bar meals in our time, but this one was exceptional. Hidden away just off the High Street but well worth seeking out. Would go back again and again to taste full menu. Staff extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekWinnersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place , very friendly staff and beautiful dog , food was amazing , would visit every week if I could , only popped in for a quick bite , ended up staying for hours , sat by the fire enjoying every moment , blt baguette was the best I've ever tasted ! And the Guinness was top class

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a traditional British Inn, offering freshly prepared food, great real ales and bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Burford
The Royal Oak Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing