We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pies pies pies”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #10 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This chef knows how to make a pie ... I had the chicken pie and my partner has the steak and ale pie - they were both absolutely delicious.

Everyone was friendly and helpful and the bar has free wifi which is always welcome.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello, we're so pleased you enjoyed our traditional pies and your visit to The Royal Oak. Thanks again Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a meal the 28th july in the royal oak, we both had the steak and ale pies, beautifully presented and rammed with chunks of beef and tasty gravy and pastry to die for, the reviews dont do them enough justice. Lovely and friendly owners and great wine.. keep up the good work and thank the chef for a great meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 319julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi, thanks for your great comments regarding our pies, we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again. Thanks Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a lovely meal here last night 20/07/14, my Fiance had the Steak & Ale pie, I had the Fish & Chips, neither of us were disappointed. The Pies are the Royal Oaks speciality and boy i can see why. The Landlord & landlady were very friendly and smiley without being overbearing, locals and holidaymakers seemed to be chatting away happily to them. I would highly recommend this establishment if you are staying in Burford or thereabouts.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flatcapnwippett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for great review and we're really pleased you enjoyed one of our traditional pies, thanks Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We found the Royal Oak by accident and it was a wonderful find. John, Janette and Harry make a great team and run a great little pub in a absolutely charming historic village. One of those places you never forget and in some respects looks time has passed it by. Our accommodation was a spotless clean, comfortable room at the rear of the historic hotel. A great bar area with a cosy fire and excellent dining facilities, with Harry's expertise as a chef have all the ingredients for a great night. Cannot wait to return and generous handy car parking at the rear is a real bonus. We will be back on our net trip to UK ---- O & W-Australia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of our pub, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

just to say what a pleasure it was to visit the royal oak this week a little treasure of a pub , a warm welcome , good company and excellent food , lovely to meet you all , all the best for the future , Alyson and Chris ......bailey's coffee and guinness couple ;-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Alyson and Chris, thank you for your lovely comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in The Royal Oak. Please come and visit again soon. Thanks Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the royal oak for one night this week, John Jay and Harry were very friendly and welcoming, the bar area has a lovely friendly feel about it, my bedroom was lovely very clean neat and tidy, it was like sleeping in a cloud the quilt was so comfy, lovely little courtyard type garden for a beer in the sun.
Breakfast was lovely.
All in all I couldn't fault it, I will definately stay here again, good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geezersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakBurford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. Please come and stay again soon. Thanks again Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at The Royal Oak in Burford for one night on the evening of Wednesday 2nd July having only booked my room the day before. Upon arrival at The Royal Oak I walked into the bar to a nice warm welcome and I can truly say that upon leaving I felt like a true "local". John and Janette (landlord and landlady) are wonderful - very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. I opted to stay in the slightly larger king sized bedded room with ensuite bath. The room certainly had charm about it, slightly uneven floor and the wonderful stone walls. The bed was extremely comfortable and room very clean. In room tea and coffee facilities were provided along with bathroom amenities and a hairdryer. Personally I also liked the position of The Royal Oak just off the main High Street. The Royal Oak also has a charming courtyard garden and ample car parking. I opted to dine at The Royal Oak on the evening of my stay choosing the Steak & Ale Pie which comes highly recommended and for the more "hungry" appetite. I left The Royal Oak feeling very relaxed also knowing I had made new friends who I will certainly see again soon. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Travelling tip - if you are arriving by train get the train to Charlbury, the taxi to Burford is £20...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAWILKO, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your stay at The Royal Oak and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a traditional British Inn, offering freshly prepared food, great real ales and bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Burford
The Royal Oak Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing