We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotland House
Ranked #11 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Cotland House is in a great location in the Cotswolds, and easily within walking distance of Burford. The rooms were large and airy, and very quiet, despite the house being right on the road. The English breakfast was wonderful, and we'd recommend Cotland House to anyone seeking a quiet space to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinJ003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was the second time my partner and I had chosen to stay at Cotland house and it was even better than we remembered! All the rooms are beautifully decorated with personal finishing touches. I had a great nights sleep and thoroughly enjoyed using the tastefully decorated bathroom, complete with roll top bath! Shelly was welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Just as we had remembered the breakfast was amazing. A huge bowl of fresh fruit, orange juice, warm croissants and cereal were waiting for us in the morning and that was before Shelly had offered us a cooked brekfast. My partner commented that the sausages and bacon were fantastic and I really enjoyed my bolied eggs, which were cooked to perfection. Burford is a great place and Cotland House is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Winslet room was quiet with a great roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is our second stay at cotland house, we have chosen to stay there when we go to the fairford airshow (a brilliant day out!)

It is hard to heap enough praise on the experience,
Shelley and her husband are wonderful hosts, not intrusive but extremely friendly and helpful, nothing seems too much bother for them.
we stayed in the same room, the top one with the roll top bath, everything is clean, crisp and white.
the bath was a godsend after we spent a day in the rain on the friday!

There are bottles of water in the room, bikky's, tea and coffee and plenty of reading material if you can keep your eyes open once your head hits the pillows.

some people have mentioned the noise, the house is on a main road but the noise was absolutely no problem for us, if you're worried, just take some earplugs, then you've covered your bases, but in no way let those comments stop you visiting or you will be missing out on the best breakfast i've every had (aside from my own of course!)

saturday morning i had museli, fresh fruit and yogurt, followed by poached eggs on toast, then on the sunday, i had a big bowl of fresh fruit with yoghurt and honey followed by a full english which had a beautiful tasting sausage, bacon, egg, mushrooms and grilled tomatos with toast and jams...... ummmmmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it again!!

the indian in town, which is walkable, about 10 mins or so, was fantastic and we have eaten in the pub a few doors down which is also fab.

so, what are you waiting for, pay a visit, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtreez43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We needed somewhere comfortable to crash last month after a long flight from Sydney with our 9 month old baby. Cotland House exceeded our expectations. The room we were allocated was tastefully decorated, as is the whole house. Shelly's taste is unpretentious, simple and very comfortable. Shelly had set up a cot for our baby (without having requested one) with some cosy blankets and a little teddy bear. Our bed was plush and comfortable. A tea tray with a good selection of teas greeted us, complete with four little lemon short bread biscuits, which were so tasty, I'm sure they were homemade.
Best of all was the breakfast Shelly prepared for us. Buffet section included a large bowl of fresh berries, a good variety of cereals, natural yoghurt and juice.
At the table a clean setting with croissants, fresh coffee, the best cooked breakfast I've had in England (and I lived there a year) complete with local smoked bacon - delicious. A high chair was at the table for our baby, without having to ask for one.

A few days after our one night stay, we called Shelly to ask for another night, as we had decided to head back to London early.

Some people just get the B&B business and Shelly is one of them. We found her hospitality to be warm and thoughtful and will be recommending this B&B to anyone we know travelling west out of Heathrow!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

A two night stay in Cotland House was a lovely gift from our son and partner. Having stayed only once in another old fashioned run down B&B it was with trepidation we set off to the Cotswolds. What a nice surprise to find such a beautiful property overlooking open land. We were shown to our delightful large room by the hosts polite son. Imaculate and modern, a good shower, complimentary tray of tea, coffee etc with biscuits too. Burford, a short walk away is charming. Shelley, our host, was absolutely lovely. There if we required anything but discreet otherwise. Breakfast was a real treat and we couldn't wait for the next morning! We can't think of any negatives.
Shelly has a quiet charm and a great sense of humour which was extremely appealing. Go to Cotland House as soon as you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My boyfriend took me on a surprise trip to the Cotswolds for our anniversary and we spent one night here. The house is beautifully decorated and there is designated guest parking. We didn't go out in the garden because the weather wasn't the best but I can imagine that it is very nice in the summer. The room and bathroom were great, again nicely done out, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent, I'm sure you can't get bacon like that in a supermarket, very tasty. The house is in a good location as well, within easy walking distance of Burford or, if you prefer, you can just stumble to the pub next door. We had dinner at the Bull in Burford which I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just back from a very agreeable stay at Cotland House which was, unfortunately, only for one night. I'm normally a little wary of staying in B&Bs because when they're bad they can be very, very bad. Cotland House, however, is very, very good.

Shelley was friendly and attentive but not intrusive (although I note I didn't get any home made brownies or biscuits like some other reviewers!). The house is located just a few minutes walk from all the amenities of Burford which I'm told has 15 pubs, but I didn't manage them all in one night.

I had the attic double room which was a good size although the en-suit had only a (very nice) bath and not my preferred shower. Plenty of fluffy white towels and clean bed linen and a good selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Breakfast is very good and the full English is cooked to order with offers for top ups of tea, coffee and toast. A nice touch was a variety of newspapers.

The best recommendation I can give is that I will return to Cotland House soon and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiegfriedFarnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burford Lodge
Burford Lodge
#13 of 15 in Burford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotland House

Property: Cotland House
Address: Fulbrook Hill, Burford OX18 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cotland House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotland House is a fine old Cotswold stone house, with three comfortable en-suite rooms and fresh, locally sourced, English breakfasts. It's just a short walk away from Burford high street, with easy access to the rest of the beautiful Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cotland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotland House Hotel Burford
Cotland House Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing