We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice weekend”
Review of Golden Pheasant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Pheasant
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed on an Amazon deal which was fantastic value. We had a courtyard room which was basic but clean but the room had tea coffee and biscuits and bottled water. Great location right in the centre of Burford and the food was excellent. We had nothing to complain about during our stay The,service in the restaurant was excellent and the quality of the breakfast was as really good. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Golden Pheasant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

we stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time. Burford is a beautiful little town with good shops and places to eat and drink.
The room was very basic and extremely dusty especially the bathroom, however, we were in an annex in the car park. I think a room in the main building would be much better.
At the moment the car park is really dangerous as they are digging it up and there are no outside lights.
Breakfast was really good and the staff extremely nice. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent as was the singer they had on Saturday night.

All in all a great place to stay and/or eat.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the car park annex rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were really impressed with the Golden Pheasant, the food was amazing and the hotel was lovely very clean and comfortable we had a very enjoyable weekend. burford is a lovely town with some nice shops and pubs with good traditional ale andit is very cental to lots of place to visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandabatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Burford is such a great place, so many nooks and crannies and this was a pleasant find as we were going to a wedding and decided to find a place to stay. Looked like a really lovely place to eat and drink although we didn't do either. Very welcoming and friendly. A small car park at the back although we parked on the street outside the hotel. The room was unbelievable, enormous and beautifully renovated. Warm with an enormous amount of space! Great bathroom, big bath, adequate shower and his n hers basins! Key to let yourself in at the side of the building if staying out for a late one! Good breakfast included... Cereals, yogurt, juices and a choice of toast. Selection of cooked breakfast too. Pretty reasonable at £95 and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ochre999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and what a place, the staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is excellent(try the sirloin steak).
We could not recommend this place highly enough and will be returning again soon as Burford is a lovely place too.

Thomas
London

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed just one night at a price of £60 bed and breakfast. We were allocated a room on the front of the hotel, which was noisy, so were moved to a four-poster room on the back of the hotel. Obviously this wasn't a £60 a night room and we felt privileged to be moved. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom. It was a little on the cool side but extra heating was provided. The room was comfortable and housekeeping good. A small negative, the bath taps need to be turned on in plenty of time as water pressure is poor and it takes a long time to get a reasonable amount of water in the bath. Similarly, the shower attachment takes a long time to rinse off shampoo.

We ate dinner in the restaurant. Food was excellent, well-presented and well-served by a very friendly waitress. Wines are reasonably priced and decent beer is available on draft.

At breakfast cereals and juices were self-selection then the hot choice was cooked-to-order. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was excellent, as was the full Pheasant.

There is limited car parking to the rear of the hotel but we had to park on the main street, not a problem in winter months but I imagine it will be difficult in the summer.

Vale for money was very good.

The hotel is quaint, in a quaint and attractive town.

We'd stay again, if in the area, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great little B&B, breakfast was really nice and the service was always good.

Our room and bathroom were very nicely decorated and clean. The bed was not the best I've ever slept in, but it was decent.

The room was a little on the cold side, because there was a ventilation window that wouldn't shut, and with it being Feb, the draught was a little chilly! Also, I really needed a full length mirror.

Parking was really convenient for me, as my room was one of the ones out back, so I was parked right outside. But it did get very crowded after I had parked, and if I had parked facing the other direction I would have struggled to pull out.

The pub serves the best food in this little village!

Overall, it was not a 5* experience, but we had a great few days here and for the price we paid, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyingturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
557 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range: £72 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Pheasant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing