We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Golden Pheasant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Pheasant
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent a weekend here, although walking into the pub and hearing they had live music I thought I might regret the choice - it turned out to be a a great option! really good value, nice rooms and very quiet. In particular the beds were extremely comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and the location is ideal for all sorts of activities. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingoHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago and had a great evening out! The room was out in the courtyard so no issues of noise from the pub. Very functional with a nice en suite bathroom so no complaints there!
We decided to eat in and the food was very good. Much better than the web site suggests. I have told the manager to talk the food up a bit as it is much better than the web site indicates!
Try the Chocolate Block wine.......... Bloody marvellous!!

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here 3 weeks ago for a couple of nights as we needed a twin room and this was the best value available. Room was fine as you do not expect large rooms in a historic building right in the heart of Burford. Price was good because it included an excellent full breakfast. Service was fine apart from a slightly dour gentleman at the bar who was more at ease with the regulars than his more transient guests. We took advantage of the buy one pizza get on free on a Tuesday offer and they were excellent. Would certainly stay again if priced at the same level.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CheshireFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a two night stay for our anniversary. Our room was lovely and clean; the staff were pleasant and could'nt fault the food. Burford was in a great location and we would definately go back again. Jill and John T.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked just a few days before our stay and given it was Easter weekend the only rooms available were 'four poster' rooms at £125 a night. Perhaps a little more than we had hoped to pay but it looked nice on the website.
First issue was that we had to pay the full amount on arrival despite the fact that they already had our credit card details which they could have charged the room to in the unlikely event of our absconding early the next morning. I don't think it's a welcoming start.
The size of the room was good, with a few shabby chic antiques dotted around, pretty much as I'd expected, but the room was bit dusty (I accidentally knocked the bedside lampshade when reading in bed and saw a little cloud of dust disperse into the air). Our four-poster was in fact a two-poster, a tester bed, which was fine except that it appeared to have been constructed from two different beds and had no upholstery (or ay substitute for it) on the headboard - it was literally a piece of MDF with countersunk screws to hold it in place. Worse by far though was the mattress which had possibly once seen better days. It was not only very soft but sank in a hollow in the centre meaning that you spent the night on a sort of incline given that the two of us could not occupy the centre simultaneously.
The bathroom was nicish (though disappointed to discover the mosaic floor was actually lino), but there was a complete lack of hot water. It generally trickled from the taps and occasionally stopped altogether. This is not what I would expect from the most basic hotel.
There is very little to say about the food except that it is very average. We had dinner there the one evening we spend at the hotel and breakfast the next morning. Dinner seemed like convenience food that had just been heated up for us. It was passable (since we were hungry) but for the prices charged I would really have expected better.
One or two of the staff were pleasant, but we both noted how inattentive they were. Arriving down for breakfast, no "good morning" or other nicety, straight into order taking. This is only a small thing but it's part of what makes you feel welcome - or not. The lack of attention to guests held up when we checked out, straight after breakfast (you have to check out by 10.30am anyhow, which seems a little mean - most hotels will ask you to vacate your room by 11.00am at the earliest). Having pre-paid the room on arrival there was only last night's dinner to pay for. The bill as put in front of us with barely any eye contact. No "Did you enjoy your stay?" or "We hope to see you gain". Before I could get my credit card back in my wallet the person on reception had already looked away and moved on to other business.
All in all, I would not return and would not recommend the hotel. I am quite at home in both one star and five star hotels and all I ask for (and believe anyone should expect in any hotel) is a good mattress, a good shower, a clean room and helpful friendly staff. On this basis the hotel scored 1 out of 4 tops.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuart1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It is the policy of the hotel to take payment on checkin. This has arisen following several guests providing credit card details that had no credit. Once a guest has left we have no other recourse to collect payment if a credit card has no credit available.
The mattress in the room you stayed in is less than 12 months old. I am sorry you found it to be uncomfortable.
Our staff are noted for their friendliness on booking.com and other review sites.
We do not have any record of the hot water being reported as cold during your stay or on your departure. Had you reported it to us during your stay we would have rectified the problem immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were booked in for a Friday & Saturday night stay. The advertised car park was unavailable without warning so we had to find a place on the main road. The room had been cleaned but not thoroughly. We were left with the remains of the previous occupant's water. The tiny ensuite shower room was awful - moldy and the shower head was so gunked up the weak pressured water could barely trickle out. The towels were old and needed replacing; they were threadbare. The mattress was lumpy in the extreme, with springs protruding, making it impossible to get comfortable. On the second night there was live entertainment in the bar below our room until after 1130pm - not ideal for a quiet weekend away and again, we were not forewarned. Sums of money were being spent on the outside seating area - this would be better spent paying attention to the interior. We sent our remarks to the management but received no response. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was good and plentiful, as were the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.. I have passed your concerns about the room to housekeeping. All of our towels are provided and laundered by a third party company with a one year replacement cycle, so I am surprised you found the towels to be threadbare.
The live music is highlighted on the front page of our website and the receptionists do inform all guests at checkin when events are on. In fact its the very reason many of guests choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed on an Amazon deal which was fantastic value. We had a courtyard room which was basic but clean but the room had tea coffee and biscuits and bottled water. Great location right in the centre of Burford and the food was excellent. We had nothing to complain about during our stay The,service in the restaurant was excellent and the quality of the breakfast was as really good. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
613 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: 91 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range: £69 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Pheasant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing