We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Historic Cotswold Pub in a small village. This is a laid back family run pub, that provides home cooked food in a friendly environment. There is a large beer garden for all to enjoy, whether it's for a drink or meal. Popular for their burgers, pizza and cheesecake is the perfect place to bring your family. Our main menu is not available on a Sunday, just roasts and a range of snacks. *The carpenters is not a gastro pub
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went here for the first time based on reviews and were not disappointed. When food is freshly cooked properly and not microwaved it is not going to be on the table in a few minutes, but this is what eating is about! Time to talk and catch up. Go to KFC if you can't wait! Every aspect of our meal was great. The starter of scallops with pea purée and chorizo, mains of burger, fish & chips and the best cod with a herb seafood risotto, and a shared sweet of beautiful chocolate fondant, perfectly cooked! Keep doing what you do guys and be encouraged. Thank you.

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge1603, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear AlanS238
Thank you so much for your review, you have completely summed us up, what we are about, your review was very encouraging and we will continue to "keep doing what we're doing" than you so much again, and please come back and visit again soon!
Best Regards
Bridgett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for The Carpenters Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We used the Tripadvisor to choose this pub for our meal at the weekend and on arriving it looked very promising. Maybe we were over anticipating but the service here really lacked professionalism and speed! We waited a long time for menus so resorted to ordering bread and olives to keep us going. Three main courses arrived but no sign of the salad (apparently the chef had forgotten about the 'poached' grapes). A complimentary glass of fizz for the late arrival helped slightly although the rest of our meals were by then cooling rapidly. We decided maybe the manager was away as the staff seemed to be spending a lot of time chatting at the bar with locals. However, the food was tasty and the creme brulee cheesecake was sublime. The service did not match the cost and we left feeling somewhat disappointed.

2  Thank rufuschaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge1603, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear rufuschaka
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor
Maybe the reason it looked promising on arrival was that it is a friendly pub with staff and locals being able to talk to one another creating a fabulous atmosphere.
The reason you waited a while for menus was that you had all arrived much earlier than your booking time and had reasoned that you were here for a pre dinner drinks. It is no problem to ask for a menu and they would have been given to you to peruse.
Sometimes the Head chef is not happy with a dish, and he will replate it, we are sorry in the short delay of the last meal arriving at your table. I did give the person a glass of prosecco, and immediately the rest of the table were up in arms saying their meals had gotten cold waiting for the last dish and were insistent on everyone having a glass. I gave you each a glass and hoped it would improve the mood of your table.Obviously after seeing your review now , it did not. I served you, (being the manager/landlady) and wonder why if you wanted the manager, did you not just ask as I was at your table? And yes, the staff talk to the locals, we find it is not prefable for staff to turn their backs on customers/locals and rather to engage with them. We are sorry you were disappointed, and hope you can see what we are about and come back for a meal again in the future,
Kind Regards
Bridgett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed a relaxed lunch on a Saturday lunchtime. The bar staff are very friendly and the whole place is relaxed and comfortable. We enjoyed the burgers although I don't think the word burger does this prime minced steak in a home made bap justice. Best onion rings ever. Also dog friendly. Well done and thank you.

Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge1603, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Brenda W
Thank you so much for your review, I must agree with you on the burgers, I know I am biased, but I have genuinely never seen or tasted such majestic burgers myself!!
We hope you come and visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Bridgett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited The Carpenters Arms after a very, very long day's motorcycling. The landlady was welcoming and friendly right from the word go (not something you can take for granted when you turn up somewhere nice on a motorbike!), reserved us a table and she and the other staff proceeded to demonstrate just why they get such excellent Tripadvisor reviews...

The service was excellent, the food was devine, the bill was at the upper end of what you'd want to pay for gastro-pub grub but (for the Cotswolds at least) not excessive and the whole experience something we really look forward to repeating. We were given details of a good local B&B (we stayed somewhere this time that we'd never wish to return to!) an we WILL be back. We just hope the current owners are still there because this place is simply fabulous.

Very, very highly recommended.

1  Thank maxandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge1603, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Maxandria
You know how you meet people and immediately hit it off, well you were both such a super couple and I genuinely enjoyed chatting to you both and only wish I wasn't working and then I would have happily pulled up a chair to chat!
I am so pleased you had a great night, and thank you so much for the review, we hope we see you pulling up outside on your bikes again soon!
Kind Regards
Bridgett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Sat in the garden in the evening sunshine and had a very pleasant meal - tried the homemade burgers which were delicious along with the divine onion rings. Friendly staff. Would visit again if in the area.

1  Thank Alexander4836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge1603, Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Alexader4836
Thank you so much for your review, I agree, our burgers are gaining a sizzling reputation and we are fast becoming known for them! We hope you visit us again if you are in the area!
Kind Regards
Bridgett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

 
Swinbrook, Burford
 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing