We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay if you're wearing an Armani suit!”
Review of Swan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Norton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swan Lodge
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay if you're wearing an Armani suit!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Swan Lodge really is a very nice B & B. The rooms were very clean and tidy and a good size - all for a reasonable price. The only problem is the fact that you may get looked down upon if you don't drive a Rolls Royce or you like to wear shorts. I found the proprietors a bit snotty. A very nice stay otherwise - good choice of breakfast, comfortable beds and beautiful scenery on the grounds of the property. Would recommend to anyone in tweed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped here for 1 night, we were attending a Birthday party in Chipping Norton which is 5 mins drive away. The owners were polite, efficient and helpful, The room was nice and spacious and everywhere was spotless.The breakfast was really good too.

The only thing that stopped us giving Swan Lodge a 5 rating was the bed. Although it was comfortable enough it was very noisy and you found that you woke yourself up when you turned over in the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Beautiful B&B in the Cotswolds, every thing is as it should be .
Wonderful large bedroom ( think it was called Chartworth ) with a really large comfortable bed and immaculate onsuite with bath and shower over.
Breakfast is as good as it gets with plenty of choice for cereal , juice etc or a superb fried full English.
The public rooms are full of character and beautifully presented. If you want a 5* B&B in this area I do not think you can better Swan Lodge, we will certainly use the Swan again.
The private parking is adequate with a exit that needs caution .
In short a B&B that comes highly recommended , just try it I'm sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We think rooms at the front could experience road noise. We stayed in room at top of stairs straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Swan Lodge at Enstow, just outside of Oxford and handy to tour the Cotswolds can`t be kept a secret much longer. It is a most tasteful home of quality, run by a couple of perfectionists with an eye for detail and immensely high standards.
Jams and marmalades in crystal glass with individual spoons?
Brown and red sauces in individual lidded porcelain dishes?
Wonderful figs and strawberries at the breakfast spread ,before one of the finest full English breakfasts in the land?
An excellent fresh brewed continental style coffee?
A bedroom of 30ft by 15 ft. with windows on both sides, backing onto a manicured back garden and carp pond with the most fragrant rose ever ,wafting through the room, where it had grown the entire height of their tree. Wonderful, just wonderful
The large oaken breakfast hall with just a few tables gave a feeling of a history. The large sunken lounge was the epitome of comfort with its luxurious raised television viewing area putting most five star hotels to shame.
It could do with showers rather than huge baths with hand showers but this was more than compensated for in its value. It felt like living five stars yet paying for three stars. As a qualified Mechanical Consultant Engineer, I did feel belittled by my inability to close the curtains without the use of tools but the overall privacy in this instance over-ruled a life time`s habit.
There was more than adequate parking space overlooking the countryside This B&B is a wonderful place to behold and an outstanding example for every B&B. This is the best B&B I have ever been to, or imagined, at 75% the price I would normally pay and living fully up to its trip advisor recommendations.
This is THE PLACE that you need to see the Cotswolds from. Spotless,, tasteful and perfect. How we would like to live, all of the time. I cannot praise it enough. We SHALL return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishermanNeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Clean, friendly and attention to detail. The tea/coffee and biscuits in the room was most welcome; the shower hot and powerful (even though just hand held over a bath). The breakfast was an excellent spread of fruits, cereal, yogurt; with any options from a full cooked English or kippers. SL does not do evening meals, and Philip offered to book a table at the nearby Crown pub, which is the only restaurant open in the evenings in the village of Enstone. (Except Sunday evenings) It is only 10-15 minutes walk away, otherwise you would need to drive. The most difficult part was finding SL. TripAdvisor does not list a telephone number, and as with most villages the houses have names and not numbers; although satnav helps if you have the postcode. If you are coming from Oxford, you pass the Harrow pub on your left (now closed) and Swan Lodge will be on the right. If you reach Adam Stores on your left (The village shop) you have gone too far. There is also an S3 bus that runs from Oxford railway station to Chipping Norton. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, which although a twin instead of double, had a greater feeling of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife & I stayed here for just one night whilst attending a classic car event in nearby Cornbury Park. We echo every good things the other reviewers have said! Bit of scary entrance/exit from the car park due to being on an unsighted bend, particularly for our elderly, slow moving car. We had the Radford room which is huge!! Excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morristwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A really nice and cosy bed and breakfast, with very nice interior. Quite large room with sofa and lounge chair without being crowded. The breakfast was really good, with a large sample of fresh fruits (strawberries, blueberries, melon, oranges, pineapple, etc.), various cereals and yoghurts. A full English breakfast was also included. Friendly hosts and extremely beautiful surroundings. Very good value for money. Would definitively return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robmar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
3.5 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.6 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Lodge

Property: Swan Lodge
Address: Swan Lodge Oxford Road | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 4NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Norton
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OX7 4NE ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Chipping Norton
Swan Lodge Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing