We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean & Quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I am amazing people have managed to find faults with this beautiful hotel. As a Travel Agent I am very picky about where I stay. Came to this Hotel as part of a ‘Spa Package’. Two nights Breakfast, Dinner, Full use of Spa facilities and two treatments.
Spa is beautiful! The back massage and facial I received was lovely. The Therapist was friendly and professional.
The food was simply gorgeous. Not huge portions, but beautifully presented and of a high standard.
The hotel rooms were spacious and incredibly modern. Both a stand up shower and a separate bath. The two huge double beds were so incredibly comfy, had a fantastic nights sleep.
Please don’t hesitate in staying here. Its brilliant for a short break away to be pampered, chill and relax.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank Blue_Fluffy_Dice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend and it was fantastic! Hotel is new and the staff and service was excellent. There is so much to do in the grounds and the health club is stunning. This hotel is well worth a weekend visit and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppiesbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel is nothing short for being easily labelled as Faulty Towers 2. Beautiful hotel but operated by a bunch of jokers. I looked up on the review and booked a room to spend our marriage anniversary. But it was a biggest mistake ever. The food was horrible, the service pathetic and management below standard. Do not visit this place ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwinthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We are extremely disappointed with your comments and would like to discuss with you. We do not recognise your booking however. Could you please give me a call on 01608 673620, kind regards John Angus, Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We booked a golf weekend for 3 people. We all had an excellent time. The grounds are amazing with the golf course going around the magnificent house and beautiful surroundings.

Our rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly, taking time to talk to you to make sure everything was fine. We dined in the restaurant where the food and service was excellent. The cooked breakfast was hot and set us up for a pleasant walk round the golf course.

The golf course was lovelly and one of the best I've played with some challenging hole and risk and reward holes. We enjoyed our stay so much we will certain return for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peck2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The Crowne Plaza pitches itself as a good location for business, conferences etc. but in reality, there are a couple of major issues which let it down for this purpose. The hotel itself (separate from the allegedly dreadful Firoka place which adjoins it) is quite pleasant with friendly staff, nice rooms and very comfy beds. The bar isn't up to much though and the cappuccino I had there was appalling, served with 'shortbread' biscuits that tasted like uncooked pastry made with wax.

The main issues I encountered crop up when you find yourself needing to communicate with anyone – pretty much a prerequisite of a business venue. The hotel is in the middle of rolling Oxfordshire countryside and quite a long way from even the nearest mid-sized town (Chipping Norton) which makes the lovely surroundings very peaceful but sadly lacking in any mobile phone reception. Occasionally, you might manage to get one or two bars but expect to get cut off frequently in mid-conversation and don't even bother trying to get a 3G/data connection.

This would be tolerable if the hotel offered decent, free WiFi but it doesn't. First off, it's £10 a day and then when you stump up for it, it's so unreliable and slow that it's completely unusable. WiFi reception comes and goes constantly sometimes disappearing for up to 10 minutes at a time and when it is working, it's painfully slow. These days, for any venue selling itself as a business destination, this is frankly unacceptable.

All in all, the venue was a fairly decent kind place and if all you're looking for is a good location and pleasant surroundings, you probably won't be disappointed. If however you need to be able to communicate by mobile phone or require WiFi internet, then you should definitely consider somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canonburyN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

I would like to confirm that a Vodafone and 3 mast will be erected during the summer. I am afraid I have to disagree with your comments on the wi-fi as business travellers are a priority for us, wi-fi is free in all of our public areas. John Angus, Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Very nice property and nice rooms but the fact that one needs to wait for 45 mins to get a meal in the bar. Staff seem not bothered and very slow.
Also no mobile reception in most of the property for Orange and Three so for me that was a major downfall travelling on business as I don't want to pay £9 just to get online (there is some free internet in the lobby).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingChris040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Further to your recent stay, I would like to take the opportunity to confirm that we have agreed to have a mobile phone mast on the site that will enhance all mobile signals in the coming weeks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop Park in the future.

John Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We loved everything about this hotel! It's in a beautiful parkland setting, but is modern and stylish on the inside. The staff were all very friendly, dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were both very good and we had a wonderful room with loads of space and all mod cons. It was the perfect weekend away - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

John Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,037 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
888 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,394 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £76 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing