We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Rate Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early May 2012 for 3 nights. Although the staff were friendly, the communication between them, if you had a problem, was poor. You cannot open any windows, a particular problem to me, and the beds were not made as requested in advance, i.e. sheets instead of a duvet. Despite requests which were ignored, we ended up making the beds ourselves? The food in the bar was good, however the restaurant was poorly attended and expensive. The breakfasts were clearly NOT cooked to order and obviously had been around some time, the staff did offer to cook fresh food when challenged. The outlook from bedroom to restaurant was poor, looking out over rubbish everywhere and a re-cycling yard. When I complained there was no particular concern.

Room Tip: Twin rooms, most have two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senior Adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for them. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Having been offered a room upgrade on my return I looked forward to my stay. Have to say that after my previous experience I was pleased they pulled out all the stops, wine was chilled and food good, but most importantly the staff made my stay a good one. Well done BIG improvement for what could be a top class venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May 2012 on a beautiful weekend. Great access to Oxford and the surrounding Cotswolds. We had a room with two double beds and a pack-and-play for our baby. The room is fantastic, and they paid attention to the little things. Wash clothes, Shower and Tub, Bath robes, hot water kettle, newspaper.

The hotel charges for internet access, which was disappointing.

Families - kids are not allowed in the pool after 6:30.
- there are two places to eat in the hotel, the restaurant and bar
- the restaurant is a little fancy for the kids, and the bar only has couches, so no real good place for families to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful setting and surrounding area of the Cotswolds. Our aim is to make our guest want to come back. I have taken on board your comments and they will be discussed with the team. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
J Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

What a lovely hotel. Great location, the drive is about 1.5 miles long, beautiful rolling grounds, rooms lovely, service good & a nice breakfast. Recommend this hotel, certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Mollys_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feed back, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Heythrop Park. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

J Angus
Resort Diredtor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I went to the Crowne Plaza on a freebie from Priority Club Rewards and we enjoyed it very much. The leisure facilities and pool were well worth going for. We used the hotel as a starting point for a 10 mile walk around the lovely Oxfordshire countryside.
We had a lovely meal at The Crown in Church Enstone. They were really busy but squeezed us in at the last minute. The village is very nice. We also visited the National Trust property, Chastleton House just the other side of Chipping Norton.
The rooms are very modern at tha Crowne Plaza and well equiped.
We would go back there soon.

Room Tip: Go free with your Priority Club rewards, best hotel you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feed back that you posted on the Trip Advisor website; it means a lot to us here at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, when people take the time to publish their views. It gives is the opportunity to improve any imperfections and maintain the high standards for our future guests.
The surrounding villages and the national trust properties within the Cotswolds is a delight to have on our door step and we are glad that you enjoyed them. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Driving up the drive seems to take forever, as this hotel is set in beautiful countryside, with nothing nearby.

I had booked a room at the crowne plaza for a family wedding, a lot of the other guests had booked the Heythrop Park rooms, and were unhappy at how basic the accomodation was, tired, outdated and an uncomfortable bed. Ours was spotlessly clean, contemporary, modern and very,very comfortable.

Reception at Heythrop was poor, the rooms were meant to be ready for 1300, as the wedding was at three, some guests could not get into their rooms until 1430!

The wedding venue in the Wedgewood room was lovely, and the reception in the ballroom was also excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful.

You access the crowne plaza internally, and there is a lovely spa with swimming pool.

Arriving as we did at 1230 we wanted lunch but were told they only had crisps!!! However, on going accross to the Crownw plaza we found them doing a lunch menu, why the receptionist at Heythrop did not tell us that is anyones guess.

bar prices were competitive and did not take advantage, beer £4 a pint and wine all reasonably priced for this type of venue.

All the hospitality areas were modern, clean and comfortable.

I would reccommend this for a wedding venue, but a bit off the beaten track for a quick stopover. A thoroughly nice experience!

Room Tip: our room was 1060
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profwenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you for choosing to hold your wedding venue in the Wedgewood Room at the Crowne Plaza Resort, and that you found it lovely. It means a lot to us here when people take the time to publish their views. We are delighted that you would recommend this as a venue for future brides and grooms. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here at our Resort. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April, I was recouperating from a hip replacement and wanted somewhere quiet with an indoor pool, peace and good walking. We were not dissapointed, the staff are friendly, the rooms just what you needed. The breakfasts were plentiful and the bar meals very good.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, walked the grounds, had coffee in the 19th Hole and foudnthe swimming pool just what I needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review that you posted on the Trip Advisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful resort, hospitality and the surrounding area. Our aim is to offer the highest of standards to our guests so that they want to come back again.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,036 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
887 reviews
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,686 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £75 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing