We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Nearby Hotels
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
US$70
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heythrop Park Resort(Chipping Norton)
US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox(Chipping Norton)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
454
466
289
110
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
466
289
110
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseexecutive roomheythrop parktwo double bedsbrassey restaurantbeautiful groundscar parkseparate buildingmodern hotellong driveset menuleisure clubspa facilitiescourse dinnersauna and steam roomlovely locationbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Due to a double booking, we were offered this hotel as an alternative, as we were due to meet friends in Chipping Norton itself.But after we had settled in, we invited our friends to visit us at the Hotel for dinner, could not fault any of it, excellent meal. Overall we had delightful weekend, excellent friendly and knowledgeable staff, comfortable rooms, wonderful swimming/spa and gym facilities, the only reason I have not given five stars is because no one is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased you decided to stay and sample the restaurant food.
We hope to see you at the hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Attended a large wedding so probably didn't have the typical guest experience.
Easy to find on satnav and adequate free parking. Checked in to a very large clean modern room. Iron and board available, and shower included a rainforest and traditional set up. Unfortunately no free wifi and the room was on the cool side.
We then had a leisurely meander around the hotel and old house and got pleasantly lost trying to find the spa.
The pool was large and warm, with a roped off area for the serious ones. Good spa facilities generally.
The grounds are large enough for a decent walk with fantastic views, and there's even a farm at one end with Bactrian camels. The kids adventure playground kept the little ones entertained, but I saw the tennis court had fallen into disuse (maybe okay in the summer).
The hotel is 5 miles from the nearest station and allows access to the lovely Cotswolds.
A superb weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Become a member of their frequent user programme for an upgraded room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago, to celebrate 20 years since our first date in Oxford. We had one of the family rooms (with our 2 kids) and ate both times in the restaurant.

It’s a great hotel and I strongly recommend staying there. We had a lovely time – hotel room, restaurant, spa and “adventure” playground all great. Some minor niggles, but nothing that detracts from a really enjoyable stay there.

The hotel is in a “Super-Modern” style, despite being attached to the historic house – so if you don’t like that style, it might not be for you.
The room was great as a family room – though (as seems to be the current style) quite dim – please put proper lights in hotel rooms!! Two double beds – great for our kids at 8 and 4 to share; perhaps not when they’re older. There’s a BIG TV, mounted on a turntable so it can either face the beds or be turned, once the kids are in bed, to face the mini-lounge area. A bit more clothes space would have been better, but that’s it. Bit of a weird shape room – sort of a wedge shape – but plenty space for our family and everything we wanted/needed.
We’d booked a “dinner, B&B” package in advance and I strongly recommend that. The food in the restaurant was *really* nice – both for evening meals and for breakfast. And the DBB package included free food for the kids which was great. Second night we’d only booked B&B – tried to change it to DBB before we arrived, but they wouldn’t let us which was a shame. With dinner effectively £60 for all four us on the package, that extra was well worth it. I strongly recommend the DBB package – the hotel’s about 20 miles outside Oxford (just its drive is a mile long!), and the food is great, so it’s no hardship eating in the same place two nights in a row! And it meant I could have a drink with dinner.
As well as booking DBB in advance, I also recommend booking your table in advance – there were people arriving at the same time as us (3pm ish) but not able to get a table for that night.
Very nice bar, serving good beer and cocktails – they even dressed a J2O up as a cocktail for my 4 year old! They also did what looked like good bar meals there, though we didn’t try them.
The spa was very clean and pleasant. Given a few comments already on here I timed the walk: about 8 minutes is fair, but that’s simply due to the size of the place. Much of the walk can be inside as the “old” hotel is linked to the “new hotel” on the 2nd floor – just walk past the restaurant and keep going. Then you do need to walk outside a little way.
Spent quite a bit of time in there, splashing around with the kids – nice to see a hotel with plenty “family time” available in the pool (9-6 from memory). There’s even a “family changing” area for the pool – downside: there’s no “door” to the pool area, so anyone could technically walk in there while you’re getting changed; also there could be someone already in there (as there was for us) when you access it from the outside corridor.
Round the back of the spa is the adventure play ground – my two absolutely loved it, mainly due to the zip wire!
So the only real negative was the temperature throughout the hotel – just that little bit too cold! Everywhere we went, we felt we *needed* to wear a jumper. On entering the room initially, (in *November*!!) the heating was down way too low and the window was wide open. To get it to a sensible temperature we had to turn it up to about “23” (which was NOT 23 deg C!). Then, returning from a day out in Oxford the next day, we found the heating turned right down again so had to warm the room back up. I’m not sure if this is an “eco-“ thing, or they’re just trying to save money, but it really does need to be a little warmer. The same goes for the pool, which wasn’t as cold as the local hotel/gym pool, but was still enough to want not to spend too much time in there. Shame. Similarly the sauna – not at “normal” sauna temperatures. The steam room was great though!
We'd definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased your enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope you would consider us for a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I attended a gala dinner for 500 guests on a Saturday night. The event was run faultlessly and professionally, including the excellent meal and the live entertainment that followed.
I am a member of the hotel group's frequent guest programme, so we were upgraded to a large and stylish executive bedroom on the top floor overlooking a landscaped garden area set in an inner open-air courtyard. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.
Before setting of the next day we enjoyed the breakfast buffet which offered a great choice of cold & hot items. The traditional English breakfast seemed to be the most popular.
The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the Cotswolds as well as nearby Oxford, Cheltenham, Broadway and Stratford upon Avon.
In the grounds of the hotel is a spa and also a leisure complex (the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym were available for us to use free of charge). The hotel is set in extensive grounds for any guests who like walking, running or cycling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are always thrilled to hear that guests enjoy their time with us and we look forward to seeing at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It's a shame because this hotel has the potential to be amazing but unfortunately it's let down by several little things which really make a difference.
The rooms are very clean, a nice size, and the bathroom and shower is fantastic. The decor is modern. There are several restaurants/bars although not many people around.
Unfortunately there is no information pack in the rooms, and as the complex is so spread out, simple things could be made so much easier with a simple information pack about times/food/prices etc.

The main problem is NO INTERNET and NO PHONESIGNAL. In a 4* hotel, you expect free wifi when you are in a location with zero phone signal or 3g. Unfortunately not only do they charge you £9 for 24 hours for wifi, this is per device, so with 2 of us with phones it would have cost £54 just to have internet. This is crazy i think!

The spa was fully booked unfortunately so we couldn't book any treatments, and there was no price list in the room either.

The swimming pool and gym were lovely and included in the hotel cost which is great.

The worst part was a fire alarm at 6.30am - a bit of a shock. Obviously, this couldn't be helped, but we were left outside with no sign of staff to explain what was going on. Not idea for a sunday morning relaxing layin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilbil66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Hilbil66,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the internet connection has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews