We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for one night as a base to explore the Cotswolds. The hotel is modern but attached to a very grand old country estate. The mix of the old and new works really well and there's nothing about the Crowne Plaza that's not clean, modern, stylish and 100% up-to-date.

We moved from a beautiful room on the second floor with great views to an equally lovely room on the third as we decided a bath was needed. The staff, all of whom were friendly and welcoming, were happy to oblige. Rooms - no complaints. Staff - friendly and courteous.

We ate in the hotel bar and relaxed over a bottle of wine. The next day we were centrally placed to visit Bicester for shopping and Chipping Norton and Broadway. I'd highly recommend the hotel for a well placed leisure break or a business meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed here for a birthday night with my boyfriend, it was pretty much perfect. Pretty grounds, lovely staff, really nice food at both dinner and breakfast and great junior suite room with super king bed/plasma tv/bath and shower.
The spa is a five minute walk with a nice gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Had a nice massage too. As others say all it lacks is a jacuzzi.
Theres a golf course so lots of groups of older men staying at the hotel and health club for that, not an issue.
No noise from people in the night just weird clicking noises in the room as I'm a light sleeper this was the only annoying thing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a longer stay and would love to go back

Room Tip: junior suite was a lovely big luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sl0wjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a spa break and we were not disappointed, the grounds are beautiful, the room was perfect and the food & service were both great. Spa is a bit of a trek by foot but the treatments were worth it and the staff were pleasant - only thing missing is a Jacuzzi! (This is the only reason its not an excellent rating)
Both breakfast and dinner were lovely and again the service was fab, the two walks looked interesting sadly the weather turned just as we headed out - will definitely go back and try them next time!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an executive room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giraffeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is our favourite IHG Group venue, the tranquil and peaceful setting is just amazing surrounded by woodlands and fields, on this visit we have seen deer, kingfishers and a yellow tailed Kite, the grounds are just full of wildlife. The front reception team under the guidance of Louise are polite, helpful and professional our check in took all of just two minutes before we were on our way to our lovely room. Yes, the hotel can become very busy with both corporate days and weddings, but if you book the time of your stay vigilantly, I can assure you it will be relaxing and very enjoyable!! Without doubt the best situated Crowns Plaza in the whole UK!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are the quietest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and son stayed here for one night on a visit to Oxford and on return commented = we wish we had stayed at the DeVere next door; it looked nicer and is joined to the hotel. The booking in was professional, lacked any personal touch.

The room 206 was an odd shape almost triangular, but clean with good beds. Good TV and wireless internet access. Décor very bland and drab no pictures felt very cold impersonal felt more like a modern office building functional but with no personality.

They ate the evening meal in the bar and had good friendly service and good reasonable priced, well presented food. Breakfast was very poor. A mixture of poor service, odd layout, and cold plates, which meant the hot food wasn’t by the time it go to table the tea was poured from one central pot… bland and stewed… no individual pots.. the chairs not the right height for the tables perched on the edge to enable being at a position to eat all the chairs the same.. This is the main restaurant the only one glad didn’t eat here… also trying to find a menu for the restaurant was almost impossible the bar staff gave me one and menu very similar to bars .. but twice as much.
Check out was professional.

The park and ride is easy to find out of the hotel and turn left towards Oxford. Cost was £2.50 per person.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diskdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Diskdr,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of the stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations particularly with the quality of food and service at the restaurant. Though we would prefer your wife and son had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent one night on business here. The hotel is a bit off the main track but is set in beautiful grounds is impressive from the outside. Once inside the reception process was fast and efficient. The interior is as impressive as the outside. The room was comfortable with a super king sized bed, couple if chairs and a decent work area. The bathroom comes with separate bath and walk in shower. There is also decent wifi reception in the room.

The health club is in the golf clubhouse which is separate from the hotel. The gym is fairly well equipped and I didn't use the pool but it looked pretty good. The only comment I would make is that the lighting getting to and from the hotel could be a bit better.

For dinner I ate in the bar. Reasonably priced considering where you are (not too many other eateries in walking distance) but the food was a bit ordinary. OK I only had a burger and chips but despite the hand made tag it tasted mass produced and took over 1 hour to arrive even though the bar was barely 1/3 full.

I made the mistake of of booking room only wrongly thinking that as a Platinum member it may be complimentary. I paid £20 for a full breakfast which was double what it was worth. Mediocre hot and cold selection and service just about OK.

Overall however this is a really nice hotel and I would probably stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepetem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After the mile or so drive from the main road you are presented with a fantastic hotel and grounds. As soon as we got out from our car the Porter was there to help with the luggage what an attentive touch. We were there for my mothers 65th birthday and there were 4 of us in our party and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. We arrived Thursday afternoon and the reception staff (Louise) and the receptionist (Izzy) were superb and so was the concierge (sorry i forgot his name) so courteous polite and efficient the appeared to know everything and i mean everything about the locality and were so willing to share their knowledge. The hotel is a credit to the IHG Crowne Plaza Brand the decor is amazing and kept spotlessly clean and fresh. The rooms are massive and once again perfectly and tastefully decorated and spotless with the largest beds you have ever seen and wonderful power showers. We ate in the hotel Brassey Bar both evenings and the food portions will defeat anyone they are massive and the food is also out of this world and awesome value for money. I can also recommend the Breakfast in the Brassey restaurant, service again impeccable and the food is all top quality and very tasty. My mom had a manicure in the Spa and said it was the most relaxing hour ever and very reasonably priced.
All in all go to this hotel if you get a chance its in a perfect location for a getaway, awesome food and room accommodation and the most welcoming and professional staff i have ever met in a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,027 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
11.1 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,367 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing