We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My first impressions of this hotel is one of bemusement. How could they put a carbuncle of a building on such a beautiful old country house. Well looks can be deceiving, the Crown Plaza is a place I would come back to again. The food from the bar was excellent, the service great. If you are in any doubt do book this place though the distance from Oxford is a bit prohibitive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWIBBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    415
    260
    97
    59
See reviews for
227
517
14
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I recently stayed here with my family for a 30th birthday celebration. The approach to the hotel is beautiful and I was very excited, as were my family who had arrived shortly before us. I had chosen and booked the hotel so was really pleased with everyone's first impressions.

Heythrop Park is owned by Crowne Plaza and De Vere Hotels. The De Vere is in the original, grand and spectacular building and the Plaza in a modern development attached. As a hotel guest you can go into both buildings, including the golf and spa club behind the main building.
The room was lovely, the breakfast great, the bar comfortable and drinks not too overpriced.

The only thing that spoilt it was the miserable staff. The Manager in particular was terrible, he would ignore you when you approached the desk, never cracked a smile and just generally made you feel like you were a bother to him.
On our first night my Mum had a terrible nights sleep due to a function taking place. Unfortunately the smokers gathered outside their room window and were very loud and drunken. She only slept two hours. My brother complained to the manager who explained it was unusually rowdy and they had had to phone the police and that it wouldn't happen again that evening. This was not good enough, my brother demanded my parents be moved to another room in a quiet part of the hotel, which the manager reluctantly agreed to, but then gave us only 15 minutes to move everything out of the room.

I would have given this hotel 5 out of 5 if the staff had been more approachable and friendly. I really couldn't fault anything apart from the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Sparkybec,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the minute you travel up the very long drive to this Hotel you are surrounded by woods & fauna & you just know you are in for a treat!
When you get to see the Hotel (we stayed in the Crowne Plaza)& the attached Mansion House (which belongs to the DeVere Group) it takes your breath away. The grounds are beautifully maintained & the views stunning. Very impressive 18 hole championship golf course within the grounds.
The check in at reception with Lizzie was very smooth & Damien was most helpful before arrival at the Hotel.
Our room was so comfortable with every need covered & we have never stayed anywhere that can compete with the peacful ambience of this establishment which ensures a very restful nights sleep.
We ate in the Brassey Retsaurant & again nothing was too much trouble for the staff, good eye contact & polite conversation with the staff serving our meal which was delicious.
All in all a really good break & we will most definitely be back & have already passed the details on too many friends & relatives.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor so not disturbed at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieH476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, We greatly value your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came here for a conference for the weekend. Stayed in a standard room which was compact and the bed was a little on the soft side for us. We are shower people so for us it was perfect with a power shower and wet room. Clean, free bottles of water, fridge. Food was average at the conference and I had specified before I came that I was a ceoliac. This was the area the most they let me down as apparently they weren't aware of my dietary requirements so at lunch and the gala dinner I had to have separate food but the staff with a bit of prompting were helpful. For the value of the stay we couldn't complain. In lovely settings surrounded by golf course. There is a spa and pool with gym facilities but I didn't use them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Belgium
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here before, so convinced my wife to spend a few days here while the kids were at their summer camps in the UK... what a disappointment.

AVOID this place if there are functions going on (weddings / ....), we got a lot of noise and bad service on several fronts. Upon checkout our account was credited (forget how much) as a gesture for the inconvenience and they wrote to us afterwards (probably because of the Platinum IHG card) to apologise; nice gesture, but they should have had their house in order.

Never again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here while they have 'functions', request a quiet room away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Nossi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the noise from other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here during the Easter holidays with our two daughters, aged 10 and 12, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The Crowne Plaza seems to successfully span the worlds of corporate conferencing and country house hotel. The atmosphere was relaxed and not too business like. Although if a large conference had been taking place during our stay we may have felt less at home.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to families who enjoy a good evening (or early morning) walk; the grounds are fabulous and even manage to include a small adventure playground without spoiling their original spendor. Do ask about the private wildlife sanctuary for retired circus animals and look out for the extraordinary number of dead frogs on top of the Archer bridge!

Breakfast and evening meal in the bar were good value. We did not use the restaurant.

The only drawback we found was that our room (#2030 I think) was far too hot and with inadequate/malfunctioning(?) air conditioning and windows that did not open the room was too warm for comfort.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms at the front or back of the hotel enjoyed a good view. The back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback. We have since rectified the issue you raised and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in a standard room. The bed was comfortable, and although the room was quite small with limited storage, we had everything we needed. The bathroom was good with a walk in shower but no bath. The service was excellent. Although the hotel was busy, we never had to wait to be served and nothing was too much trouble. I would like to say an especially big thankyou to Anna who served us in the bar and made sure we were happy with our meal. She found my phone after we left and took the trouble to bring it back to me in our room. We ate in the bar where the food was excellent with generous helpings at a very reasonable price. Only gripe was that the pear cider was imported, and most cheese was continental. I would have liked to see more local food served.

Room Tip: If you like lots of space, then don't choose a standard room. Although the main car park is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Gill C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. All our staff were so pleased to read your comments, our whole team are really proud of our hotel and pride themselves on their customer service levels and it is always rewarding to see our guests recognizing this. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
18.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
22.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing