We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Heythrop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We loved the Heythrop!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for my girlfriend's birthday weekend and loved every minute.

I must admit, it's hard to believe we stayed in the same hotel as some of the other reviewers below as our stay was brilliant and without a hitch.

The room, despite it's odd shape, was fit for purpose and very comfortable. The amenities offered in the way of robes, complimentary bottles of water, mini fridge, etc. were on par with much more expensive hotels and the wetroom with the large rain fall shower head especially deserves a mention - didn't want to get out! Little touches like the demisting mirror was also particularly savvy.

Although we didn't eat or drink at the hotel - the staff that we did come across were professional and attentive throughout our stay.

Unfortunately due to the good old English weather, we didn't get to spend much time wondering around the grounds however upon check-in we were given a map of the hotel site, and walking routes which we found especially helpful.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to recommend others and book again myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B9X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your great feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Heythrop Park Resort for your girlfriends Birthday weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    439
    270
    102
    63
See reviews for
240
535
15
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed Easter 2014. Where can I start? Check in - given a room without a bath (even though one was booked) with blood stains on the floor and grease on the bedding. Moved to a different room after complaining to find air con stuck on 25C continually (only way to make room cooler was to pull the power card out of the wall) - fixes attempted they say, no change though. Thumping vibration 2 nights out of 4 due to wedding parties being held, one of which continually set off the fire alarm until 2am. Night Manager of hotel openly rude and aggressive to both myself and other guests who complained about the alarms and his lack of effort to fix. Car park lights faulty. Food service staff rude, breakfasts partly cold, poorly cooked, indifferently served. Carpets dirty throughout. "Spa Resort" "Swimming Pool" - don't believe it, it's half a mile up a back service road as actually built BEYOND a neighbouring property. Not in Chipping Norton (not even near in fact - OK we could have found that out with a map but I tend to rely on addresses being accurate). Had to get a piece of clothing cleaned, but found there is no laundry service at all over any weekend and bank holiday period. Company REFUSE to take any form of complaint at front desk, referring myself and MANY others to email them. Over a month later and dispute follow up emails NO REPLY WHATSOEVER (watch them reply below - and no reply to my booking agent either...). Photos everywhere misleading - this is a modern hotel tacked onto an old country house - but the country house is a different hotel and you're not welcome there to eat or drink we found. And on the day of check out - alarm call at 7:45 AM and a phone call at 10AM even though check out wasn't until 11. Absolute worst experience I have ever had at a hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a good room - in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bordersbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Bordersbloke,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regretful to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your room accommodation and with the service received from our hotel staff.

We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The drive up to the hotel promises much and indeed the arrival at the building was delightful with an beautiful old manor house which told a story at every corner you looked. Having grabbed my bags and headed to reception to check in, I was informed that I was in the wrong part of the building and I needed to be at the sister hotel around the corner. Back in the car, down the lane and nice setting to car park a few minutes walk away from my booked accommodation. The planning committee of Oxford-shire have despicably let them selves down by allowing a concrete Thunderbird-esque building to be built alongside something as historic and beautiful as the one next door.
The hotel was fine for my purposes, and even had a nice pumped real ale on the bar rather than the usual hotel rubbish. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable with a nice touch of having a sleep well kit (consisted of two oils which I did not use). Major downside was my room struggled for WIFI connection even though it was supposed to be available. My colleague further down the corridor had a good reception. I must of fell unlucky on my room allocation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear HughShef,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate you mentioning that our rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. However, it is unfortunate to learn that our property has fallen short to some of your expectations.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the internet service provided. I have taken note of your comments and shared them with our hotel management for review and consider upgrades to make all of our rooms equally satisfactory.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I've just returned from a Hen Weekend with 11 girls staying at Heythrop. Firstly, the positives - sadly not many. The rooms are lovely and the showers great. The grounds and setting are very pleasant. Now the negatives. THE STAFF! Most of them are totally incompetent. Despite booking afternoon tea for 2.30, it didn't arrive until 3.40. The Manager was unhelpful and rude and the staff serving didn't have a clue. At one point, one of our group went to the kitchen area and was asked to take the tea in herself to serve it to us. We insisted on 2 free bottles of fizz as compensation which the staff poured for us, then took the remaining amount in the bottles away! The staff at dinner were slightly more accommodating but the food was average and not particularly hot. The rooms, whilst modern, clean and spacious are ridiculously hot, despite me adjusting the air con to 19. We did not have breakfast in the main restaurant and were instead shown to a function room with round tables and a makeshift buffet. Certainly not a 'private dining room' that we were told we were going to. I definitely would not stay at this hotel again. It promises much and delivers very little.

Room Tip: Go to an alternative hotel nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniH0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear DaniH0103,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am glad that you found the showers excellent.

I am sorry that certain aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations particularly with the room temperature and level of service you received. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience it may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us an avenue to improve our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

" ladies sharing a room, 6 of us in total. Used spa on day of arrival from mid morning, eating area bit mesy with left over golfers food on tables. Staff friendly, although ignored by a few. had pedicure, which was ok, never had one before, but all the time seemed to be spent on painting toes. Pool used for toddler + swimming lessons in afternoon, which was not very spa like. Gym clean and empty good equipment. Lots of gardens to explore. Evening Meal good, pudding let down (run out of stuff and it all felt a bit 'old' by the time we got to it). Lots and lots of space, loads of cars in car park but did not feel full. Would go again for overnight girly break, you can get good all in deals here so hunt around to get good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Everything from the drive to the hotel up to check out was great. The grounds are really beautiful as is the hotel interior and exterior. The outside patio was a great place to chill out and the food served was decent. The room had lots of lovely touches. The lighting could have been brighter but this seems to be the norm in hotels these days and I have been in worse! The bed was so comfy! I got lost somewhere in the middle, have u ever seen the scene in the musical Annie.... The ballroom was decorated beautifully for our event and all the people working there were great. Would 100% go back for anything I.e husband, friends, work.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemz1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is lovely, situation at the top of a long driveway in picturesque grounds.
The rooms are comfortable, but need maintaining as there were a few dirty marks on the carpet, curtains and furniture chipped and scratched.
The food is the bar is reasonably priced, the staff however do t all speak great English and come across as being unhelpful and unfriendly.
The breakfast was excellent, buffet style with plenty to choose from and so thing for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room, as they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy_lu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly value your feedback. We have noted your comments about our staff and corrective action has been initiated.#

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
993 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
198 reviews
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,073 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing