We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like staying at Blenheim Palace - What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was like staying at Blenheim Palace - What an experience!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

It was our 43rd Anniversery - where to go? Where to stay?
We both love visiting Blenheim Palace - We both love staying in Woodstock -
We would love to stay just one night in Blenheim - oh! if it were possible.
Well - `Great News`!
Staying at the Heythorp Park Hotel is nearly like staying at Blenheim Palace -
(I didn`t realise until we arrived that the same said architect John Vanbrugh who designed Blenheim Palace advised in then design of Heythrop Park) Say no more.
The House has 17 luxury Bedrooms - We were given a Luxury Suit with 4 poster bed very generous!
A 2 roomed suit with large Bathroom - in all I counted 7 large windows with stunning views.
As I had booked this stay as a suprise for my wife - you can imagine her expressions and comments on our arrival at the front gates and driving in to park outside the front doors of such a splendid 300 year old property - she was just stunned.
On our arrival the `check in` Manager and Staff were so very helpful.
ALL facilities were brilliant - I wish we were stopping stopping for more that just 1 night.
As you can imagine - WE WILL DEFINATLEY BE STOPPING AGAIN thats a promise!.
Just a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I am sure ALL of the rooms are excellent - But, when we stop again I would look to book a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poko74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
I was delighted to read your comments, and that you enjoyed our hospitality and surrounding area, thank you for taking the time to post them. Our aim is to ensure that all our clients experience a relaxing and enjoyable time in such amazing surroundings.

Regards
J Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    240
    194
    165
    201
See reviews for
132
372
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We returned here for a family weekend. As usual the staff were very helpful. This is now the fifth time we have been here and staff always remember us when we come back a rarety in most cases when a hotel is this size. Our rooms were in the Shrewsbury wing this time and they are of just the same high standard as the rest of the hotel. The breakfasts as always was wonderful. One small detail was the windows didn't open to a big gap and it was quite warm, however this is probably a safety thing, and not the hotels fault as they too have to abide by health and safety. The two rooms we had were spotless and the beds comfy. Keep up the good work and we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiebaby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feed back on your stay that you posted on Trip Advisor. It means a lot to us here at Heythrop Park Resort when people visit us, as you and your family have on many occasions. Our aim is to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we were abit anxious, what would we get for just £85 each per night - we found a quality hotel, great room, large bath all very clean. The food was good and the grounds are magnificent. Sorry if I sound over the top, but we just relaxed and enjoyed our stay. Dont know of the manager, but he needs to know he should be proud of his staff. We will definately make a return visit, probably bring friends next time.

Room Tip: i would book early, I'm sure this hotel will get very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemcginlay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
I was delighted to read your comments, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post them. The staff work very hard and our aim is to ensure that all our guests experience a relaxing and enjoyable time in such amazing surroundings. to We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a wonderful weekend break 14th June and were in the old building. We were made to feel very welcome and had such a lovely room it was like being a guest at Buckingham Palace for the weekend. The room matched the house to a tea. If your staying in an old building you cant expect top end boutique furniture. I really don't know what the bad reviews were about maybe some people like to moan! We will certainly be coming back time and time again.

Room Tip: The Hampton room is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for the delighful feed back and that you found the Hamptom Room very pleasing. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

went to the lovely heythrop park 2 weeks ago and there was the most nice lady you could wish to meet think her name was Pam she came from no where i had just came in for a group meeting i was tierd i drove a long was and all i wanted was a shower there was hardly and staff on and think who was on the reception was philipia and was as helpful as she could be i was sent to the spa, i had no idea where that was and got lost in that big hotel and was picked up by this star lady pam, that sorted me out so promptly was within 5 minuits of me speaking to her she spoke to reception who was as helpful as she could be again, she was polite and was only too happy to work with this lady pam to give me what i was asking for, and never upset any apple cart at all if you get the chance to meet her she will always have a smile on her face and be well spoken and her personality shone get the chance trak her down she will make your hol/stay/event a great time also i must say during my stay quiet a few people in my event also praised this lady and it was a pleasure to meet this lovely lady in the hotel thankyou for being there pam p.s now i do wish she was also had been at breakfast that was quiet a different matter altogether very loud and the rating i have given is because of my first impession the breafast rating i would give is turn around and RUN

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gregory h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Well, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but this is clearly not a 4 star hotel. The receptionist was rude, even to my 9 year old daughter who was told she couldn't use the swimming pool after 6:30pm. If you want to go somewhere with your kids for a swim, do bear this in mind. Wifi was available in the rooms but you need to pay extra...cheek! The restaurant staff were very polite but also poorly trained. The food was very sub standard. You can see why some people think British fayre is still poor. And finally, serving gin & tonic with lemon not lime? Scandalous...

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on the Trip Advisor Website. It gives us the opportunity to improve any imperfections. Your comments have been noted and will be addressed.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My 2 sisters and a friend stayed one night for our visit to Blenheim Palace the next day
The hotel is a beautiful building and we could have spent the whole day walking and exploring the extensive grounds.
Just check with reception if you book in the restaurant which restaurant they have booked you in, as there are more than one restaurant and the one we thought we were in was closed when we arrived for our dinner. We then we spent 15 mins trying to find out where we were eating only to find out the receptionist hadn't booked us in anywhere.
The restaurant manager sorted it out though. Well worth the wait, the food was excellent.
All in all a wonderful stay and we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide favourable comments. Yes, the hotel is a beautiful building and walking and exploring the extensive grounds is a source of great pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
J Angus Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,173 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
177 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,635 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing