We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heythrop Park Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed here with my partner for 1 night whilst attending an event at Blenheim Palace, with myself being an hotelier I must say that I was positively surprised by the standard for the price we paid for. I think we can say that as De Vere start running this part of the hotel some rooms are being refurbished along the way, our room was modern and had all you can expect in a reasonable good hotel that you pay very little. I wouldn't hesitate in staying again and can honestly recommend to everyone. Our room was 322.

If I would be very picky I would say the corridors you access the room need a bit more cleaning and decoration as it looked like staff areas, and that the explanation where breakfast was being served could had been better, however as I say that shouldn't put you off.

Francisco Macedo

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJSMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take all comments on board and will ensure that you points regarding corridors are passed on directly to Housekeeping so that we can improve on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    235
    194
    164
    201
See reviews for
130
366
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed one night over the weekend on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast package - had a Suite in the main building. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Dave on Reception. The room had stunning views and a lovely bath and shower. It is not furnished in a modern fashion but that is in keeping with the building. Dinner was well presented and the service was excellent. We were allowed to upgrade our inclusive house wine. All in all an excellent hotel on the up and offers excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MantyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit our new look website for some excellent value packages for any visits to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Having stayed for the second time I felt it was time to write a review.

Get the right room and this place is amazing!! Having read previous reviews, of which a large number are bad, it appears there is a real discrepancy in room quality and experience.

We stayed here on our mini-moon last Christmas and now are back for our 1st anniversary. Both times we have stayed in the room Eldon, this room is in the main house. It has stunning views on two sides over the unspoilt grounds and it's size and grandeur are fantastic.

Each time we have been it had felt like we are staying at Downton Abbey! We love it!

Both times we have come on the dinner, spa and breakfast package and feel like it is good value for money. The spa facilities are very good and our dining experiences have been excellent, but the real beauty of this place is the main house. The grand staircase, the huge fireplace, the lounge areas are all stately. I can honestly imagine this is a little bit how the Queen feels going to bed!

Apologies if this sounds a little too gushing, and I can't speak for those who have had different rooms, but get in to Eldon and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Eldon, although I imagine all in the main house, first floor are excellent (if this one is anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both stays with us. Please come back and see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

It is hard to think where to start when writing a review for this Hotel - everything about this Hotel looks to be perfect - the grounds, the building - stunning from the outside....BUT! Once you enter the Hotel, don't expect any decent service or luxurious rooms.

We arrived at the Hotel and checked in with a surly Receptionist - no grace on show whatsoever. Our room was in this strange annex-y type extension. We got lost twice trying to find it and ended up wandering around this run down conference area which looked like it was straight out of the 70's! Some signage would clearly not go a miss.

Our room was bland, bland, bland - nothing to get exciting about - think school dormitory's and you are not far off the mark. In a building like this you would expect the rooms to echo the oppulence/style of the building - this is an area they seriously need to look into.

Having charged nothing to our room during our stay we discovered a £35 charge on our room - supposedly for dinner which we did not eat - I explained we hadn't eaten in the Hotel and this was an error. I am so glad I chose to book my room via Paypal as had I left card details with the Hotel I feel certain they would have charged the card without my authorisation. What is worse - a month later I had a phone call asking me to pay up!! You can guess my response!

I would strongly advise anyone to avoid this Hotel under its current management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grange H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Since your stay in May the hotel has become part of the De Vere Venues portfolio and has gone through a major bedroom refurbishment with further changes to be made during the early part of 2014.
We have taken on board your other comments and where necessary new procedures and training have been implemented.
Once again, thank you for your review and we do hope you would consider a return visit to see the new look De Vere Venues Heythrop Park in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We went to a wedding at the adjoing Plaza hotel and decided to stay in the Heythrop Park hotel because it was alot cheaper and we were definitelyt not disapponted. The house and gardens are beautiful. We stayed in the Archer wing which had obviously been completely refurbished recently and the corridors and bedroom were very, very well decorated. The bedroom had a wet room which was nice and very clean. The bedroom decor was lovely, comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was great, everything you want for an English breakfast. The restaurant staff were wonderful, very attentive and helpful. It was a real pleasure to stay here and I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Archer Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeverlyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with the standard of the newly refurbished Archer Wing.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have been here with work (I'm pleased I wasn't having to pay). We had an event at the Crowne Plaza next door and a lot of work colleagues got to stay there and the rest of us stayed in this hotel. Whilst the building is very beautiful it needs a major overhaul inside the rooms. I stayed up some pokey corridor which you could hear everyone walking past as the floor must be light and hollow. The room was awful. Two tiny twin beds and dated decor. The bathroom was not much better with a tiny shower you can hardly move in. I've stayed in better Premier Inns. I rang for an iron and ironing board (each room in the Crowne Plaza has their own) and had to wait for them to bring it before I could get in the shower. I told reception I was meeting with everyone in 50 minutes. It arrived 40 minutes after me phoning and having to chase it up twice. Pay the extra and stay next door would be my advice.

Room Tip: Rooms at The Crowne Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are aware of the issues and have take measures to improve response times for guest requests.
In regard to the quality of rooms we are going through a major refurbishment of the bedroom and public areas. The first phase has now been completed and as part of this, all rooms now have iroining boards in them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely building.
Me and my husband always stay in De Ver hotel.
Breakfast buffet was nice
Nice staff
However there isn't clear signs to indicate the where the leisure facilities are.
Also there isn't clear sign posts around the hotel so you know where the bar is or the restaurant are.
The double rooms are very small and we was taken by surprise when we walked into our hotel room.
The outside ground are lovely and also the hotel provides a walking map which wasn't sign posted properly around the grounds so we ended up returning to the hotel as we didn't want to get lost.
We are returning back to the hotel in December with friends as we found a bargain for £45 a night including breakfast per room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ug0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will ensure the signage issues and maps are addressed.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
18.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing