We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil, value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights and at £98 for two nights B&B (lastminute.com) we thought we had a bargain. The rooms in the Archer wing have been recently refurbished and we had a lovely room with a king size bed and walk in wet room. The room was spotlessly clean. The main house is beautiful, steeped in history and very grand. The grounds are lovely, lots of nice walks around. Breakfast was varied, there was the usual Full English plus cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, ham, cheese, etc. Service was good. The bar is expensive as is the restaurant and we chose to eat at the pub at the end of the (very) long drive to the hotel! All in all we would recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teebeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    240
    195
    165
    201
See reviews for
132
372
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a very mixed stay! The staff on the Devere side of operations were very polite, helpful and efficient. Unfortunately the facilities in this resort are shared with the Crowne Plaza which did not make our stay pleasant. The manor house is beautiful. The rooms in the Archers Wing (Devere) are spacious and refurbished nicely. The Crowne Plaza bar served edible food but not as described on the menu and the drinks were overpriced and cocktails not worth it. The Crowne Plaza leisure facilities were nice (once we got the attention of the receptionist to get into them!). Unfortunately our biggest problem was an extremely rowdy and obnoxious wedding party who were partying in the Crowne Plaza (on a Tuesday night - seriously!?!?) until 6am. Their party unfortunately "spilled over" into the corridor outside our room repeatedly and nosily at 10 minute intervals...did I mention that was until SIX A.M?! The two hotels are linked so guests can wander between them freely. We both had to be up for work after just an hour’s sleep so were not impressed. The Devere staff handled my (lengthy) complaint and furious sleep-deprived rant about the issues and the fact that it ruined my partner’s birthday treat very well. They have offered compensation in the form of another stay which we will take them up on, with some trepidation, and I will happily return to Trip Advisor to up or down grade this review (hopefully) without the Big Fat Gypsy Wedding style influence to give a better picture of this hotel. N.B Do not mix up the Crowne Plaza & Devere sides of the resort when reviewing/reading about the resort - they are very different.

Room Tip: The refurbished Archer's Wing rooms are nice but have very little soundproofing so if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We have recevied your complaint and I understand that it is being dealt with internally.
Please accept our apologies for the disruption to your stay and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary in November 2013. All that I can say is that we had an amazing experience. We booked our package through spastayselect.com and got a great package. If I remember correctly we paid about £89pp and that included, room for the night, 3 course meal & buffet breakfast and full use of the facilities and a spa treatment each.

The service couldn't of been better, we were told check in was from 2pm but we arrived shortly after 11am and they got us out room straight away. We then went straight to the spa and used the facilities all day until about 5pm. We opted for a back neck and shoulder massage and it was amazing, the beauty therapists were brilliant and did it just as we had asked.

The dinner was beautiful and massive portions. Service was a little slow, we arrived at dinner at 7:30 and didn't get out until nearly 10pm but it didn't matter as food was great and to be honest apart from sit at the bar, there wasn't anything else to do.

Breakfast is help yourself. There was everything from smoked salmon, scrambled, boiled or fried eggs, cereal, pastries, full breakfast, fruit salad and yogurt and you could have as much as you like.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the main house itself is amazing and we had a long walk around the grounds/woods and it was lovely. If you ask nicely the concierge may take you for a ride in the golf buggy as he did for us.

All in all, definitely worth every penny. Nothing was too much to ask for as we couldn't of wish for a better anniversary weekend away.

Thank you heythrop x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were able to experience all the hotel has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel again very soon.
Please visit our new look website for all the current offers and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed to enable us to visit at the John Radcliffe Hospital and so was not meant to be a leisure break but was really pleased with everything. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was newly refurbished, tasteful, comfortable and warm. The setting was stunning even in January and we really enjoyed jogging through the grounds before breakfast. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and served in in the Brasery of the Crowne Plaza looking out across the landscape. All of the hallways have been carpeted and decorated to a high standard. My advice is to go now before the prices go up. I would have wrote the same review had I paid the same price per person as I did for the room. Thank you for an enjoyable stay and will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please visit our new look website for all current offers and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Oh dear oh dear.
What a shame. Very smart upmarket surroundings spoilt by poor service all round.
Considering there was only around a dozen tables booked, when we arrived we ordered our drinks and waited 10 minutes for them. Second round was even worse and the Manager came to chase up the order. The food was over cooked.
Just to add that THREE other tables all complained about the service. One table of around 8 had almost finished their mains when the last 2 guests were served. The lady was upset at having to now eat whilst the others had finished around her. Another table the chap walked across to the reception and asked what was taking so long and pointing to his watch say something about how long they had been waiting.
Wine was nice though and the young lad that served our table did his best to check up on us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dashv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in the Brassey Restaurant.
We are sorry that the service was not up to standard during your stay. Please be assured that your comments have been passed to the relevant departments and where necessary procedures will be changed and re-training can be carried out.
Thank you once again for your review and please accept our sincere apologies on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a fabulous place, set in the middle of the Cotswolds, near Chipping Norton - an ideal place for a superb relaxing break.
There is a two mile drive from the entrance through beautiful countryside which takes you up to the breath-taking hotel and grounds (440 acres I believe). It is outstanding and easily beats any accommodation we have stayed at in England.
There is a huge golf course, a spa, steam room, sauna and pool to chill out after a long stroll in the grounds. Pheasants and wild life are numerous with lakes, streams and a picturesque river running through the grounds. The inside is like a stately home but it welcomes you with open arms to make your stay memorable. The restaurants are first class and you can relax and enjoy a fine meal overlooking the grounds.
The rooms are fabulous, spotlessly clean and very modern.
The grounds also hold a little secret (not advertised) a tiny zoo, where you can see camels, zebras, giraffe, penguins - not saying any more - see it for yourself!!!
This place is a MUST and caters for all. And VERY reasonable rates.
Can't wait to go back.

Alison from Reading

Room Tip: We stayed in the main Heythrop Hotel and had a fab room overlooking the grounds. The Crown Plaza is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alycat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your stay was relaxing and you were able to fully experience the resort.
Unfortunately the animals you mention are not part of the hotel which is why we do not advertise this.
Please come back and visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The range of reviews is very telling, the venue is undergoing change, hopefully for the better. I've ranked it in the middle as my stay was brief and didn't involve full use of the facilities. Good points - a sweeping tree lined drive fires the imagination with delusions of Grandeur, a sensation amplified as you let the Renaissance themed entrance hall envelop you and carry you up the theatrically grand stair case to the....ah well enough of that crud! Look, this hotel is clearly going for the pack 'em in approach, not wrong but disappointing. How so? Small corporate rooms, nicely done shower rooms, big firm bed but rooms small and basic, light bulbs - 2 out of five working but 3 replaced immediately on request. TV remote not working - batteries changed, no improvement. No Hotel 'menu', no list of services on the desk. No Room service was told they only do room service next door at the Crown Plaza. The refurbished Archer wing so very much the antithesis of the design aspirations of its namesake (unless of course he liked bland corporate battleship grey and puce with designer bathrooms that can't contain all the water) and reception that could be a little more forthcoming - you'll need to pull teeth to find out things like wifi code and so on. Check-out wasn't great either and I advise vigilance if part of the bill had already been paid. The a la carte menu was laughable - gammon served with my big fat gypsy onion rings was like a nightmare throwback to a Bernie Inn circa 1974. the wine list completely inadequate and vastly overpriced. On the plus side, the waiting staff were excellent, especially the head waiter. In fact, they were all doing a great job despite being continually harried by various tiers of stern faced higher management who insisted on interfering instead of letting them get on with it. So, if this is a quick visit for you, it's probably adequate but if it's for a special occasion, I wouldn't rely on the small rooms of archer wing - see what else is on offer. I'd go back though because it's clear that there's a better experience to be had here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. Your comments and observations have been passed to the relevant departments so they can review and where necessary implement changes.
You are correct that the hotel is going through a major refurbishment since becoming a De Vere Venues property.
We hope that you would consider a future stay with us, please visit our new website for some excellent packages and seasonal offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#2 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing