We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, a combination of service issues let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, a combination of service issues let it down”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the De Vere Hotel for a family birthday and had 4 rooms in the Archer Wing. The rooms in the Archer Wing have all been recently been refurbished to a high standard (I'm not sure if the other wing is still used, it looked very shabby). Some minor housekeeping issues weren't resolved during our stay despite us reporting them on arrival, the hotel also seemed short staffed in some areas (reception). There was a real mix of service from very poor to excellent making it a bit of a Fawltly Towers experience! The hotel is in lovely grounds with a golf course and small health club. If you prefer modern hotels then go for the Crowne Plaza next door (reports from our family were that service seemed better there too). The hotels are connected so you can walk between the two. The local area is lovely, we ate at the Falkland Arms (Gt. Tew) and Whistlers (Chipping Norton) rather than dine in the hotel (the restaurant menu at the De Vere wasn't geared towards families).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Archer Wing if staying in the De Vere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    243
    203
    165
    208
See reviews for
134
381
21
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a gift to us and the first night away from our daughter since she was born 14 months ago! It was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the end of our stay! We stayed in room a302 which was an archer junior suite and beautiful! Just the right comfortable size with a huge bathroom and very clean! Dinner was excellent in the terrace bar and drinks were lovely in the bars! The de vere side is much more quiet and classy which was perfect for us but the crowne plaza bar was a nice escape to more fun and noise for a giggle! It was nice to retire to our quiet wing tho so best of both worlds! The spa was beautiful and we eenjoyed a Swim and steam! This hotel covers every category in beautiful surroundings and I would definitely recommend staying here! Just perfect! X

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIAG2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were travelling back home down to the South and decided to stop off at Heythrop and see if there were any rooms. I had stayed at Heythrop many years past when working for the Bank that owned Heythrop, so it was a trip down memory lane.

The drive up is two miles long, but that only adds to the character as you know it is set in vast amount of grounds. When you see the old house it is very impressive and just as I had remembered and is very much a country pile. We were able to park right outside the house and we had looked at the website before going and done our research so we knew what accommodation we wanted to stay in. We were met by a very polite gentleman on reception and he gave us a very nice room. We stayed in the Archer rooms (which have been refurbished at £85 per room per night on a B&B basis). The room was very clean and the bathroom with overhead shower was very impressive. It was everything you could want and very comfy.

The breakfast on the first day was in the partner hotel (which is linked) and it is very trendy and very stylish and it was absolutely fabulous, again everything you could have wished for. We noticed that the staff always asked if everything was alright and made a point before leaving whether we had enjoyed breakfast. I was also given a huge pot of tea which was lovely.

We walked around the grounds which are so lovely and it is so quiet. There are many pheasants and birds of prey around it was a real treat just to walk around in the peace and quiet away from every day life.

We used the pool in the afternoon, together with the sauna and steam room and again it was very clean and the staff were very polite.

Just before our second night ended we asked if we could extend our stay by another day as we were having such a relaxing time which the front desk were able to do and we stayed in the same room.

We then had breakfast in the 'old house' restaurant for the next two days, which again was of the highest standard with so much choice and the staff were excellent. Nothing could be faulted.

We enjoyed wandering around the grounds, did the two mile round the park walk many times and loved just sitting in the old house with a drink in the evening.

We loved the old house, especially the Wedgewood Room in the main house which is just beautiful. We also made good use of the snooker room down below the stairs. It was just lovely to be in such peaceful surroundings in such a lovely setting and just 'sit' and forget about the world outside.

We loved it and we will be back and thought it was well worth £85 B&B per room per night.

It also good to see that the old house is being cared for and have been sympathetically restored and the grounds are being well looked after.

We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Archer 410 which also had a sofa, which looked out in to the court yard and on to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a company event with 200+ colleagues & spouses. We had a newly refurbished room in the Archer wing and it was fine, with a very large bathroom/wet room. My sig other was unhappy at the lack of lighting for putting on makeup, but I wasn't bothered. Dinner for 200 was fine, service and entertainment were OK too. Breakfast was full buffet. No idea what was paid, but our organiser drives a hard bargain, so no doubt we got a better deal than solo travellers. The pool is a good size, but a bit shallow, and the sauna and steam room are decent sizes too. The grounds are amazing; you can do a 2 mile walk without going on the golf course. Have read some of the negative reviews, many seem to focus on value so be careful what you pay, but as a country retreat I think it was good. I hope we book again next year!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I don't usually do bad reviews but this hotel is an exception. £48 for a room via booking.com glad I did not pay full price. Would get a better room and breakfast at a B+B, breakfast here is an extra £19.95, dinner is £25.00 and Internet access £9.00, not for a day but per HOUR. Receptionist was functional, not in the least bit helpful or welcoming. Pool, health club etc are shared with the Crowne Plaza hotel next door, and you are clearly not expected to make use of them as there is no information on opening times or access arrangements to be found. Room is small and cramped, TV has 6 channels, the 5 old terrestrial channels + BBC news. Would not stay here again even if the room was free.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel staying at another hotel for a second night whilst we visited Oxford area. arrived, Checked in and given room in the Archer Wing. Nice room no complaints. The main house is very scenic and we had afternoon tea in one of the receptions rooms which was perfectly acceptable. wife used the swimming pool and I used the gym, again no complaints.We dined out at the pub in the village-which was probably better value based on hotel restaurant prices. breakfast in the morning, plenty of choice and very happy with service and food.Would I stay here again? yes. Would I stay at the other hotel we stayed at in Oxford the following night? No.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,223 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
191 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
379 reviews
11.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing