We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to expectations!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely surroundings and the main building and grounds are very picturesque. We had a small twin room which was fine as we were only there one night to visit friends close by. Breakfast was not good, there was not enough staff to keep up with turn around of tables, fetch drinks and deal with enquiries etc. the hot food was in covered warming dishes but because there was so many people the lids were left off so food was cold! Scrambled eggs looked dry and over done, they ran out of fried eggs and I couldn't find anyone to ask for more so my food got even colder! Relatively speaking we didn't pay too much for our B&B but if I had paid the prices quoted on line or £20 pounds extra for breakfast (the price if not including at time of booking) I would have been extremely disappointed.
Wifi was a bit hit and miss.
We used the spa on the Sunday morning, the pool was nice and warm but very busy not relaxing at all, it was like a local pool in the school holidays. Children and adults leaping about playing and shouting! Not enough loungers. Sauna and steam room very nice. Shame there was no jacuzzi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    244
    203
    165
    208
See reviews for
134
382
21
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My partner and I stayed Sat night for dinner and accomadation and breakfast , we had a room in the Shrewsbury wing ( the part non refurbished): room very nice, a bit small, the double bed is a small double bed, just a shame! And we wanted to try the pool, which we did, such a shame you need to go out from the hotel and walk 3 min ( the spa is in a separate building), but quite warm, nice and clean, and there are lockers and they provide towels.
The restaurant was perfect : buffet with a great selection of food and good ., breakfast nice with a good selection as well.
I didn't rate 5 stars , as you need to go out from the hotel, and you need to add a jacuzzi!!!!! PLEASE
LOVELY Grounds for nice walks....

Room Tip: the Archer wing: refurbished rooms and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariefranceMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Surly, unhelpful reception staff at check-in didn't put the weekend's stay in a favourable light, not at all welcoming and it deteriorated from there. There appeared to be no disabled parking and the room was so tiny, 2 people couldn't pass by and there was no room to sit in a chair at the dressing table at the foot of the bed. There was no dressing table mirror and room equipment did not work properly. The ordered morning paper failed to arrive. A double room was booked for 2 people (naturally) but there was only 1 flannel and 1 small piece of soap. This seems a tad short and mean somehow.

In the dining room, it was necessary to explain to the waitress what a fillet steak was, and to the wine waiter what a bottle of Rioja was - the food, when served was cold - oh and they got the bill wrong ( 3 times)! The spa and treatments were all fully booked all weekend so none was available for us. The breakfast buffet was poor too and it was a struggle to find waiter to obtain tea/coffee etc. It was a real headache.

This venue is not up to De Vere's standards. It lacks trained staff and rigorous management, the only saving grace being the grounds, which were superb and the only reason it's got a 2 rating rather than 1.

Room Tip: Lots of complaints about the tiny room sizes, so suggest you request a large room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we recently stayed at Heythrop Park hotel with some friends b&b for two nights plus one nights dinner package booked through Superbreak.The hotel is currently being refurbished by Devere to a very high standard.The rooms that were booked were in the Shrewsbury wing which has not yet been refurbished so we paid for a nightly upgrade into the Archer wing. The rooms are small but modern and clean. The hotel is beautiful with some fabulous architecture. The leisure facilities are about 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel and the pool temperature is quite warm. Our first night's dinner was in the Terrace restaurant which is a beautiful room overlooking the gardens and golf course. We paid for the second nights dinner £24.50pp excluding any supplements which was in the adjoining Crown Plaza restaurant due to a function being held in the Terrace restaurant. The food is very good and the portions very generous. We were informed that on Sunday morning there were over 700 people for breakfast. Due to the amount of people in the hotel I decided to pay my bill before breakfast to avoid the queue. Unfortunately I had a few problems with my bill .I had been charged twice the amount of upgrade for each night, charged for the dinner on the first night even though that had been paid and there was a problem with my room number. Eventually it was put right . The staff are extremely polite and very helpful. If it had not been for the problems when I paid the bill I would have given an excellent rating. Well worth a visit .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here last year and it was awful from start to finish. To save from rambling on and on, the room was absolutely diabolical, the service was terrible, the snooker/pool room was locked, the bar was shut, the free teas/coffees that all De Vere Venues offer weren't there, We couldn't find anywhere to eat - had to go next door to the Crowne Plaza, the free wifi wasn't offered even when asked for. When we mentioned it to reception they sent the manager to see us despite us saying we didn't want the hassle. He made matters worse. To cut a very long and tedious story short we eventually were offered a free stay but even that's been like pulling teeth to try to organise.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the newly refurbished rooms - the old ones are seriously appalling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the De Vere Hotel for a family birthday and had 4 rooms in the Archer Wing. The rooms in the Archer Wing have all been recently been refurbished to a high standard (I'm not sure if the other wing is still used, it looked very shabby). Some minor housekeeping issues weren't resolved during our stay despite us reporting them on arrival, the hotel also seemed short staffed in some areas (reception). There was a real mix of service from very poor to excellent making it a bit of a Fawltly Towers experience! The hotel is in lovely grounds with a golf course and small health club. If you prefer modern hotels then go for the Crowne Plaza next door (reports from our family were that service seemed better there too). The hotels are connected so you can walk between the two. The local area is lovely, we ate at the Falkland Arms (Gt. Tew) and Whistlers (Chipping Norton) rather than dine in the hotel (the restaurant menu at the De Vere wasn't geared towards families).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Archer Wing if staying in the De Vere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a gift to us and the first night away from our daughter since she was born 14 months ago! It was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the end of our stay! We stayed in room a302 which was an archer junior suite and beautiful! Just the right comfortable size with a huge bathroom and very clean! Dinner was excellent in the terrace bar and drinks were lovely in the bars! The de vere side is much more quiet and classy which was perfect for us but the crowne plaza bar was a nice escape to more fun and noise for a giggle! It was nice to retire to our quiet wing tho so best of both worlds! The spa was beautiful and we eenjoyed a Swim and steam! This hotel covers every category in beautiful surroundings and I would definitely recommend staying here! Just perfect! X

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIAG2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,226 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
192 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
381 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing