We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cotswold delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“cotswold delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed at crown plaza next to old house .great stay lot of grounds to walk around. rooms very nice free water every day. fridge in room only down side tv poor.all areas were very clean. breakfast plenty of choice, only set back breakfast waiting staff poor but this did get better by our third day.main restaurant expensive bar meals very well priced we went to church Enston village next door and ate in village pub called The Crown, great food you must go there.In room only down side can not open windows they are looked so air con works,

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony with windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    240
    195
    165
    201
See reviews for
132
372
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited with my daughter and granddaughter. We were in the historic old building which is currently having rooms refurbished. Comfortable, clean, friendly and nothing too much trouble to any member of staff. Good food, plenty of it and such excellent service. Moving freely between the Crowne Plaza and Heythrop Park Hotel was amazing going from yesterday to tomorrow, but both were fabulous and highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a fantastic place to stay, we stayed in the Archer rooms which were excellent, everything you could ask for, even a wet room to our surprise, clean, and bright. Drinks and food were not expensive, we found every one to be very polite and helpful.The grounds were vast, we spent the first 3 hours walking around the grounds and they were beautiful and peaceful. Breakfast was good and plenty. check out was at 11am and you could still use the facilities after that time. Can not understand why anyone would not be happy with this place and the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in April. Main house very impressive, don't stay in annexe. Reception on arrival was poor. My gave my wife's name as the booking reference. She then asked my name, spent time looking on computer then announced she did not have a booking in my name but had one for my wife. That in my opinion was not the best welcome I have every experienced. Paid extra for room in main building only to find the blind in the bathroom falling down, carpet had not been vacuumed, bedcover stained and my wife was able to write her name in the dust inside the TV cabinet and bedside light stand. We had dinner in the Terrance Restaurant it was a buffet costing £25 per head. Food was lukewarm, limited choice (fish or chicken) other people were complaining. Staff then put on a cd of Mario Lanza at an unacceptable noise level, but turned it off at my wife's request. When asked by the duty manager if everything was ok, I replied no we were unhappy with the quality of the food available. He stated he would have our bill amended. He asked about the rest of our stay and I informed him of the poor housekeeping and receptionist customer service. We were checking out the next day and he told us he would speak to us again then. At checkout, same member of staff as our arrival. Upon checking our bill we discovered that we had been overcharged. Amount removed from bill. Buffet cost also removed, but they tried to charge us for our meal on our first night even though I had a signed receipt showing we had to pay for drinks only. Guess what, duty manager not there but I did not expect him to keep his word. Have written to the CEO of De Vere but to date have received no response.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, peaceful surroundings. We stayed in the archer wing and rooms are nicely refurbished. Great swimming pool and facilities. Billiards room was fun and breakfast tasty and plentiful. Great hotel for any event.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 226kazzabazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of May as a getaway just the two of us in the DeVere part of the resort. The building itself is simply beautiful. The add on extensions look a little out of place but don't detract from the beauty of the main house. The communal areas are equally lovely, very clean and spacious and the grounds very well kept.
The check in was efficient and the staff friendly although I was told we had a twin room which I had not booked. The very helpful female receptionist found us a double with no problems.
The room we were given was in the Shrewsbury wing. It was VERY dated but clean and functional. The view onto the golf course was lovely. If you are looking for a luxury room then you will want to upgrade to the Archer wing or main mansion house.....although these are rather pricey!! The room was fine for us for one night though as all we needed was a bed and a shower. It was rather like staying in student digs with a bed barely big enough for two people. If we were staying any longer than one night we would have upgraded.
We had booked dinner at The Brassey which is in the Crowne Plaza side of the hotel (linked by corridors). We booked dinner when checking in however the restaurant did not have any record of our booking. They found us a table despite this. Here the problems began. There did not seem to be any organisation of the waiting staff and no control over proceedings by the management. We asked several (simple) questions of the wait staff (what is the soup of the day etc) and were twice told 'ermmm I don't know'. 20 minutes after sitting down we're were still sitting there with just a bread roll in front of us and no butter or drinks despite the restaurant not being very busy.
The staff (bar one very pleasant waitress) seemed very young, inexperienced and disorganised. We were served by about 5 different wait staff during the meal. The staff were laughing and joking loudly amongst themselves and seemed to be huddled in small groups talking a lot of the time. We witnessed several other diners complaining to the assistant manager.
The meal was ok but certainly not worth the £100 we paid for it. My partner had a steak with no steak knife and said the steak was very tough.....not what you would expect for £30!!!!
Breakfast was a similarly dire experience. It was disorganised, no one seemed to be in charge and staff stood around chatting and avoiding eye contact with guests. It was a mission to get a cup of tea despite a member of staff walking past us several times. This seemed to be his only job yet no one was getting their drinks!! We also had to go almost into the kitchen to get our own cutlery.
The problem appears to be no obvious management structure. No one was bringing any kind of order to the service and the inexperienced staff were just wandering around with no clear direction. Such a shame as the hotel is so beautiful. Based on the reception staff and the surroundings I'd love to say we would visit again but I'm afraid the service was just too dire. We have passed our comments onto the hotel as well as they don't seem to respond to reviews on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in the Archer Wing or the main mansion house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSB538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The title is trying to give De Vere the benefit of the doubt.....
Room

Despite having a little card in our room on the Archer Wing that stated our room was mid refurbishment, when we clarified with reception our room was supposedly finished.
-No air conditioning meant we had to sleep with windows open and at 6.00am heard the interminable deliveries arriving.
-Nowhere to put clothes other than a wardrobe and one drawer that housed the hair-dryer, for an overnight stay not too bad but for a week this would have been challenging.
-We had no information in our room at all, so no meal times, information about room service/laundry, doctors etc .
-The door closer on the next door bedroom either wasn't working or hadn't been fitted, every time someone used the door it slammed loudly.

Hotel
-Free Wi-Fi which is good but in reception area it is the neighbouring Crowne Plaza's wi-fi that is being found and as this is pass worded we couldn't use Wi-Fi. 3g reception was useless, so effectively needed to go back to bedroom to use De Vere wi-fi.
-The restaurant was soulless at breakfast with only fried eggs, no other choice of egg and no other extras were offered e.g. porridge.Coffee was served from a thermos jug - if you can't bring a proper pot and need to use a thermos at least let people help themselves. This idea of waitress thermos service is pretentious nonsense.

This is an 18th century stately home in a beautiful setting (don't think you can nip into the village for a meal, the drive is at least a mile long maybe more) that has been refurbished as a city centre hotel and it just didn't look or feel good.

On a positive note the staff were all very polite and helpful if not knowledgeable about how their wi fi worked, and we had got a very good deal on the room. We have stayed at other De Vere venues and just felt this let the name down.

Room Tip: Ask if anywhere has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#2 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing