We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Visited today for a trip down memory lane, as I worked here for NatWest in the early 80's. We were given a very nice welcome at reception and invited to wander around at will. All the staff that we met were very friendly and welcoming. We then went to the Brassey Bar for afternoon tea, which proved to be both excellent quality and quantity and really good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    240
    195
    165
    201
See reviews for
132
372
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed overnight on a lads golf weekend ,the course is long but well kept with beautiful surroundings . The hotel is quite impressive , our room was a little small the bathroom was very modern with a fantastic shower .Our evening dinner was ok which was self service same as the breakfast .
The staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are the type of person that goes away just to find lots of things to moan about this is not the place for you,annoy someone else.
Stunning unspoilt beautiful scenery and surroundings,amazing old buildings.
Stunning picturesque golf course,great pool and spa,great treatments.
Rooms lovely decor,comfortable beds,great shower.
Very nice food and wine,great breakfast.
Most of all every single member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful regardless of there country of origin.
Can not wait to book our return trip next time will be for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful surroundings , and the main house is very impressive from the outside .Huge entrance hall but it always felt cold and not very welcoming ! We stayed for two nights in the Archer wing . Room was a little cramped with not much wardrobe space and felt a bit musty but the bed was very comfortable and the shower was good , no bath. One of the waiters showed us a few bedrooms in the mansion . They were very spacious with lovely views but I thought they needed upgrading .
The grounds were stunning , and well worth exploring . The gardeners do a great job but would be lovely to see the old vegetable garden restored . We had spa treatments included in the deal and they were very good . Also the pool is super , a good size . Food was a good standard , though bread and butter pudding came out stone cold , they had forgotten to microwave it obviously . An ok choice at breakfast , could be improved by simple things like a nicer selection of breads. Only five mins drive from chipping norton and we had a lovely time exploring the area .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamJeF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had two nights here with our two young children (4 and 2) and stayed in a Suite/Family room in the Archer Wing of the hotel. This wing of bedrooms have been fully modernised and the Suite consists of large bed and sofa/sofa bed perfect for the children. It is a spacious room with huge bathroom and walk in shower. Plenty of wardrobe space and tea and coffee facilities.

The hotel has separate leisure building 5 mins walk away consisting of a lovely swimming pool and spa. Well recommended.

The hotel is stunning, set in beautiful grounds and in a perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds.

Our youngest son had an accident on the first evening, he slipped on the wet stone steps outside the building and hit his head. The staff were excellent and rushed to his aid including calling for an ambulance. Luckily he is fine, but for attention of the staff at the hotel these steps are treacherous when it is wet and they looked like they had'nt been cleaned of moss on the sides for a while.

My only niggle with this hotel was the checking in/out procedure. Only 2 members of staff in reception and a queue of people outside the front door. Both times was ridiculous and whilst I was being dealt with they were answering the phone for other enqs which was rude.

Overall, lovely hotel and great breakfast set in a beautiful location for the Cotswolds. Yes I would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Archer wing and pay the extra for a suite.. rooms are very big with plenty of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice looking building with period features inside, staff over run with queries at reception, and then loads staff in restaurant not attending to custiomers. Buffet [we had booked] was all gone, no soup left, and hot food was insiipd to the extent it was difficult to identify the dishes from each other. Left with very queasy tummy next day. Long trek, poor signage to rooms which were fine.
Would not visit again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwestyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room was lovely and the views were stunning. Very clean and well maintained.
The waiter/waitress service could of been better and at breakfast if we went up to get some more fruit juice the table got cleared even with food still on the plates. The food was to a good standard with a decent choice. I did feel the hotel wasn't used to its full potential but that's not a criticism

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garynsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#2 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing