We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other reviews a little unfair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We booked the hotel on late rooms for £45 and were amazed at the bargain we got until we looked at Tripadvisor and nearly cancelled it!
We decided to go ahead as the Thai Shire restaurant in Chipping Norton is one of our most favourite restaurants and we didn't want to miss out!
The drive up to the hotel from the main road is over a mile long and whilst beautiful some of the buildings are a little hideous and not in keeping with the rest of the grounds.
We were in Falcon wing which i think is where all the cheap rooms are, it smelt a bit fusty in the entrance but the bedroom was very clean and nicely presented and better than a travelodge! We were not disturbed by other guests and it was very quiet.
I assume the reason the hotel is cheap at the mo is that the 9 hole golf course is closed and being made into an 18 hole course and the leisure club is being refurbished so it is closed. However the grounds are beautiful and worth a wander round.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but saw that 2 courses were £16.95 and three courses £19.95, there was a supplement of about £2.95 for lamb and £5.95 for steak, no veggie options though. If you want to go into chipping norton it is approx £14 for a taxi and needs to be booked in advance as they get busy.
All in all for £45 including breakfast it was a bargain!
This place will be amazing when it has been fully refurbished.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

The main house is stunning, but it only has 17 rooms so you won't get a room in there on a discount rate. There are new wings off the old house, which are more Premier Inn standard - but were clean and comfortable. Food was very good, and the set price menu was great value. The grounds are vast, although there is a lot of upgrade work going on, so not all the facilities are currently available. A good base for exploring Oxfordshire.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed in th emain house and it is very characteristic. The room settings take me back in time to imagine the past glories of the families live in there. The garden view is stunning looking out to a landscpe garden . The experience is unusal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodleBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Having read a number of reviews I was a little nervous but for a small family get together this was a great place. Rooms in the old house were very spacious and well looked after, the new (Nat west bit) was a little tatty, but clean and quite acceptable.

Food was a surprise, really very good, staff made us feel at home and were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk around the grounds. Overall I suppose the place isn’t the modern top of the market hotel that we have stayed in before and if you expect that you will be disappointed, however it is a nice setting, peaceful, the staff were very good and our meal was very good quality and value.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirfredgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This hotels is in the middle of a huge landscaping project to put in some sort of golf course. The plant roars away all day, starting early.

The inside of the hotel is tired, dated, and a bit like the fleapits you find round stations and in Dover. No-one cares about the guests - we are just money to the organisation.

This once fine house is being ground into the dust by cost cutting and short cuts.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasscutter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I booked this hotel for a family gathering for my fathers 75th birthday, I had stayed here before for the company christmas party and a friends wedding, so I knew pretty much what to expect - excellent accomodation in the old main house and more of a travelodge standard in the 70's extension (but you pay for what you get!) and wonderful grounds/views.

Dad is a coeliac and needs a gluten free diet, my brother is a vegetarian so we are not an easy family to please, but Heythrop scored top marks - the food was excellent they had even got fresh gluten free bread for dad. Mum and Dad stayed in a Main house room - the bridal suite I believe, which was truly gorgeous (if you have ever stayed at the London Savoy it is very similar) - The rest of us stayed in the 'motel rooms' but even so my teenage kids were given a 2 bedroomed suite in the 'motel' part of the hotel which they were very happy with. The grounds are lovely we say many deer as we all went for a Sunday morning walk around the grounds.

All the staff were very attentive and friendly they had even put some Sparkling wine and strawberries in mum and dads room. All the rooms were spotless and comfortable.

A point to mention as I book a lot of hotels for business; if you want reassurance that the hotel will do a good job - communicate with them - I emailed and spoke to their events co-ordinator who helped to make sure a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Rang the hotel last minute and due to a special offer paid £38 per room (2 rooms) with breakfast . Fantastic main house, receptionist was very helpful and informative, security doors and room key worked fine. The room interior in the Falcon wing was like a Travelodge, clean and basic with tele, tea/coffee, no frills or extras. The very comfortable bar charged £3.10 for a pint of bitter and £4 for a large red wine so far from excessive. The pool was large and warm if a little dated. The breakfast next morning was excellent with a nice selection of hot and cold food all very nicely cooked.
We didn't read the reviews beforehand and would probably not have booked if we had but, whether we got lucky, or could it be the management and staff have taken on board the critcisms levelled at them, the experience we had was a good one. I notice the more recent reviews have been more favourable on the whole and considering the local Travelodges charge between £46 - £60 with no breakfast, pool, comfy bar area, billiard room, fantastic views, free newspaper - I could go on - I think we'd be more than happy to recommend to others especially whilst this offer is on.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,439 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,944 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
232 reviews
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £83 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing