We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star appearance, two star service....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star appearance, two star service....”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the main house and had a superb, large room with period features, wonderful furniture, tasteful decor and a lovely en-suite, all overlooking the manicured rear lawns. The original building is stunning and tastefully restored. The more modern buildings, that were built in the 20th century during the site's periods as a Jesuit college and a commercial conference venue are pretty poor and will leave you asking 'who allowed them to do that ?!' or judging by the other reviews here, 'why are we staying here?!'. Clearly it is a time of transition at the moment as the site is expanding its golf course and upgrading all its leisure facilities, all of which were closed (which is how we managed to get a good deal on the room, including brekkers and dinner!). Most of the old gardens are in a state of sad decay and need a lot of investment .

It was quite the most bizzare place I've ever stayed. We appeared to be two of only 6 guests rattling around in a huge complex for two days . My wife found it nice and private, I found it a little eery and disconcerting.

Amateurish welcome at reception, general feeling of staff doing a perfunctory job throughout but not really caring, and largely focusing on the small conferences that were being held. I did get the strong impression that there was no strong management of the place. Staff generally seemed to be east european and so were polite and efficient when we came into contact with them. In the bar though a miserable girl spent the best part of two days reading the paper, harumphing, not collecting our glasses from the terrace for over a day (we knew they were ours due to no-one else being around!); music played from a portable cd player was out of keeping; the terrace lighting was not switched on at night. Bar didn't have a drinks list, despite the vast array of spirits and when asked we were told they don't do cocktails (!) - when I suggested this was an oversight that could be costing them profit I must have seemed like a bleeding edge business guru, not a normal tourist that has been to random selection of middle of the road hotels all of which DO do cocktails.... The Billiards room would have been great if it had balls and cues.

Food was poor to passable and nowhere near as good as the overly formal restaurant wanted it to be. The kitchen is clearly geared to catering, not dining. On our second night the waitress got one of our main courses wrong - there were only two couples in the whole room that night.

Overall a mixed bag - if you can get a deal for the main house I'd recommend it as the grandeur of the surroundings probably makes up for the failings of the hotel. There's someway for it to go before it becomes the 'resort hotel' it describes itself as and the destination it aspires to be.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdSus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    248
    207
    167
    213
See reviews for
140
388
21
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This hotel has a great manor house, but 1970's outbuildings that look and feel like old hospitals or something out of a bad horror film based in an asylum!!
Bad Points;
Depressing outbuilding we stayed in.
Room was very small, TV worked when it wanted to and turned itself on in the night.
Room was dated and dirty.
Double bed made up of 2 singles pushed together.
No room service as too far for staff to walk to the outbuilding.
Shower dribbled out although bathroom was clean and had been redecorated.
Breakfast was adequate but cold, staff all looked miserable (they probably had quarters where we stayed!! Lol)
Noisy, walls are like thin cardboard.
No leisure facilities open.
Cost me £5.95 for 1 hours internet that was so slow I gave up.

Positives;
Good car parking
The area is beautiful and we found a great pub around the corner with great food and friendly staff.

BIG POSITIVE;
Leaving the hotel.....should be classed as a motel???

Travel lodge are much better value than this place, I would never return here.
My brother is a travel journo for a well known tabloid and he will visit here and have a field day!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickPlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

essex
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We really dont know what these poeple are talking about. From the reviews we read we was really worried about staying here. But was pleasantly surprised by everything. The food was superb, the building was beautiful, it was clean, good value for money and the staff were pleasant. Being vegetarian I was worried that there wasnt going to be an option but there was enough for me to choose from. Yes the rooms were on the small side and the pillows were none existant but for one night we could live with that.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatekeeper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Didn't like this place at all. Bedroom was like a nasty motel room - complete contrast to the main house which looked very grand. My husband felt as if he was on a training course from work. Food wasn't brilliant and the staff, although very nice, didn't really have a clue. When we saw the photo of the hotel we couldn't believe the price and thought we had a real bargain but at the end of the day it wasn't worth what we paid. A real disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderersEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We thought we would stay somewhere different and we got what we asked for. This old Nat West training center is being remodelled, unfortunately no gym, pool or golf course was available. Worked out this is why the rate was soooo cheap. It was like a rabbit warren trying to get to our rooms. The rooms would make ideal university student rooms and this would have been an ideal purchase to turn into a university. It is so sprawling, huge and old.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesHPH, manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2009
Dear guest
Thank you for your review.
Sorry that you had a problem with the Sat Nav. We are currently in the process of changing all our literature to a new postcode.
The Health Club is currently under going refurbishment and all web booking sites have had this facility removed for the duration. The Golf course was removed a year ago from all web sites and will be relaunched in the autumn as a Championship standard 18 hole course.
The bedrooms and facilities outside of the main house are being let as value for money rates in recognition of the more utilitarian and functional presentation of these rooms. Plans are in place for a total upgrade in the next year.
Thank you for your feedback which will assist us in improving our services for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Possibly the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - if you can call it a hotel. Was there for one night, 20 rooms booked through a film company for nearby filming. Hotel was ill managed, no hot water and rooms resembling nasty student accomodation. Bedding is stale and like sleeping wrapped in cardboard. On arrival the hotel looks magnificient. How different the inside is. Once in bed, I had two people come into my room having been given them same room key from reception. Another friend of mine had a room littered with fleas. Staff were inept and totally unhelpful. I wouldn't send my worst enemy here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesHPH, Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2009
Dear Guest
I am most concerned to read your review following your recent stay with the film crew.
The hotel was tasked with providing up to 70 rooms a night on a short lead time. The bedroom stock used was in a wing of bedrooms that is not normally used and is only used as overspill for large events with the clients approval. The basic provisions of these rooms was known and accepted by the booking company. We acknowledge that we did regretfully experience problems with the electronic door locks on one night. This I believe was at 4am in the morning when the party returned on mass. I can assure you we have no flea issues in the hotel. The staff here do try very hard to provide a caring service and I am very sorry if you feel they did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your observations as these comments will assist us in improving our product and service.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We couldn't believe our luck when using the wotif website we gained this room for 3 people at only 40 pounds. On arrival, there appeared to be an error, and the reception lady was lovely, stating that it was their error and that the room would go ahead with a breakfast too!

We had an evening meal in a bar which was lovely.

Only issue arrived when attempting to have some breakfast, we had to go and find a staff member to advise we were there for breakfast, and were all given a hot drink and 4 pieces of toast and we never saw the staff again. While we felt bad about really taking advantage, we felt the lack of service even for other customers was very poor.

This hotel is a massive mansion with lovely grounds, but is about half an hour drive from Oxford.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,314 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,647 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,805 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heythrop Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country
Heythrop Park Resort Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing