We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, solid hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

After avoiding a disaster by nearly staying at the Kings Arms down the road we got a room here for the night.

Staff were very friendly and helpful despite us not having booked in advance and just turning up asking for a room, they let us go and check the room out prior to going ahead and booking.

Our room was slightly on the small side but that wasn't an issue. Good, solid furniture and a comfy bed. Being at the front of the hotel there was some minor traffic noise but it was negligible and didn't keep us up.

A nice bar with plenty of outside space was the first visit to enjoy a beer in the sun. The foreign staff working behind the bar seemed a bit confused when we asked for a port. I had to help them find it and advise in what glass to serve it in!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike12_f1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    199
    116
    106
    119
See reviews for
124
341
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a most enjoyable 3 day break at the Crown and Cushion. From the moment we arrived we found the staff could not have been more helpful, efficient and were smartly dressed. My wife and I eat in the bar area every evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, with bed linen and towels changed everyday, always white and spotless. The bath and shower facilities were the only area’s that in our opinion required attention.

When we are in the area again this would be our first choice for a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Having previously stayed for pleasure I was in the area on a business trip and stayed again.
Comfy room, good food, good service, free parking, free wifi. Perfect for the single business person

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadalenaFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

What a suprise after reading some reviews. The food was lovely, staff were very smart , helpfull and friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Would definately recomment this hotel to friends and family and will come and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I cannot state strongly enough how hateful this place is.

The owners should not be in the hospitality industry and their attitude is too poor to describe in writing.

Our room was so cold and dirty that I slept in my clothes and was still cold. Breakfast was a shambles and when I tried to speak to someone they just shrugged and walked off (I later found this to be the owner)

They are evidently trying to 'milk' the tourists coming in from overseas into the Cotswold's hence why they are not interested in looking after their guests.

Please do yourselves a favor and don't stay - find a nice little B&B instead!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked for two nights and only stayed one. Our room was cold and dull. There were white stains on the red bedspread, the bath was dirty and had pubic hair in it. The staff couldn't give a damn, even when I eventually found an english one to complain to. The breakfast was disappointing. My husband chose to stay sober at the wedding we went to so as not to have to stay in this god-forsaken place another night. No manager around either (how convenient). I object to having to pay up front. I guess they must have had so many people refusing to pay once they had spent more than a few minutes there. If you are considering staying here, one word. DON'T!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CnHTheaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have been in quite a few hotels but this one is the worst. Food is cold rooms are dull bath in room 25 all peeling not very nice. Staff cannot understand english.Would not stay again I think the hotel inspector should go in to sort them out

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton
Crown And Cushion Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing