We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
nellish
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, great value for money”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Had read some awful reviews but I'm pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was a buffet and you could have as much as you wanted, excellent food as we also had dinner there, no complaints at all. Staff were really helpful. All in all a great weekend break in a delightful hotel and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    203
    119
    108
    122
See reviews for
126
350
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The room smelt like old people and excrement. We were kept awake all night by the busy road 2ft from our window. The "four poster bed" was a flat-pack uncomfortable disappointment. The room was cold - there was no heating. The staff were rude and uninterested. The internet didn't work. The shower didn't work. There was no where to park. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in, and Chipping Norton as a town is an absolute load of rubbish.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

So, we've stayed here before about 18months ago so we knew what to expect. It's a traditional old hotel so no modern decor here! The rooms are tired and definitely not to my taste but they're clean and comfie enough for the amount of time we actually spend in the room. We paid extra this time for a normal double bed as last time we stayed in a four- poster room but both felt a bit creeped out by it!
The room was cold, there is a small electric heater which was ok but I dread to think what the temperatures like in the cold weather! Husband had breakfast, which he said was ok- normal hot food buffet.
The bar was cosy at night and fairly busy. Chipping Norton is a great place to base yourself and lots of nice places to eat after a long day of touring the Cotswolds.
Just a word of warning- I booked through Hotels.com who hadn't informed the hotel of my booking. Luckily they had a room for us but the receptionist said they had big problems with Expedia and often they have to turn people away as there are no rooms despite being booked with online companies. Prob safer to book direct with the hotel considering their ongoing problems.
So all in all a nice, well priced hotel in a great location- we'd stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggal039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was very nice and cosy and spotless the staff were very efficient and friendly dinner was very nice and reasonably priced great atmosphere in the hotel. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice the hotel also has a nice swimming pool which is free. There is also parking which is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

No heating -radiator not working
No wifi - no signal despite advertising free wifi - one of my criteria!
No soap in bathroom
Bins not emptied - bathroom bin full of old waste
Scruffy - in need of major tlc

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank willnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire. UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Firstly I've never checked into a hotel and been asked to pay in advance and then received the remote control for my TV from the receptionist. Thankfully they didn't hand me a towel - but they were sat folding them at reception later in the evening.

The hotel is tired and in need of a renovation - wallpaper visibly peeling from the corridor walls and the room decor is old and past its best. If you like urine yellow and hangers in the wardrobe that fall off when you hang anything on them then this is a delight.

I'm sat in my room listening to the water in the bathroom that sounds like the toilet is constantly filling.

I asked for a 6.30am wake up call and was told they couldn't do that - wake up calls start at 7am.

They shouldn't have bothered with the remote - it doesn't work!

Oh and the ample car park at the rear of the hotel - my car is parked down the road in a public car park.

I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We came back to the Crown & Cushion and we'll be back again. This is the best little hotel and it's now become instinct for us to come here any time we're in the area. Once again, the staff came through and the hotel did not disappoint! The rooms are outstanding and the pub is warm and friendly! We would highly recommend this hotel without fail for anyone at any time in Chipping Norton! Absolutely the best in every way! Thanks for the memories Crown & Cushion, we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
197 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
201 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
388 reviews
7.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton
Crown And Cushion Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing