We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Was on a business trip and decided to book here as was in close proximity to the meeting. The cost of the room was very reasonable so was not expecting much. When we checked in we were given a key to our rooms and the TV remote controls? Don't know why and didn't ask. On the way to our rooms noticed there was no heating in the corridors and was dreading how cold the room was going to be. As it transpired there was no cause for alarm and the room was pleasant, warm and the TV also worked. In the bathroom there was an old fashioned roll top bath with a shower attachment. There was no shower screen or curtain so you basically had to sit in the bath to take a shower? Plenty of clean towels and toiletries supplied. Rang front desk for an iron and this was delivered in under five minutes.
Had a few drinks in the bar in the evening and this was pleasant. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a good selection of hot an cold food. Only had toast and cereal so can't comment on the quality of the hot food. Great choice if you're looking for no frills accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barton-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a three night stay,excellent location for getting about,impressed with the room we had four poster bed,staff very helpful ,food good,we had a problem with heating one night but on reporting it to reception on our way out ,on returning heating had been attended to,bar small but good bar meals,overall enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Book superior room, plenty space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The room was old and comfortable. It was a nice old fashioned place which was very relaxing. The staff are delightfully friendly. The food portions are massive and tasty. My mum was staying in another room where there were problems with the heating and the television. She let them know and they did take a while to resolve the problems which was not good for an elderly person.
However we did enjoy our stay as it fitted in with the wonderful old England feeling of the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basketSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in September after a very difficult booking experience with the hotel itself went through a booking site & got exactly what we wanted at a much more competitive price - this despite the staff repeatedly telling us we could not book single nights! Two other parties of my family also stayed here so it was a substantial booking. The booking experience should have alerted us to what lay in store! The building itself is very quaint & our room was OK but a lot of the place is in need of a little TLC. The people we dealt with on several occasion on reception were apalling & if we had any other choice of accomodation we would not have stayed. We booked breakfast for a large party of our family (we were attending a family funeral in Chipping Norton) & it was disasterous made much worse by one of the staff's attitude who also happened to be the one we had had the misfortune of dealing with at reception. On the plus side the bar staff in the evening were very helpful & the bar area is pleasant & comfy.

Room Tip: None as would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Although a no smoking the room it smelt of stale cigarettes mainly on the bed cover, heating came on at 6-00pm and went off about 7-00pm. Woke in the morning 6-30 no heating, left 8-15am still no heating.
Had a hot shower in a very cold room. Plug in sink did not fit, so wasted to much water.
Mould on wall in bedroom and on tiles in bathroom. Had to ask for a remote for TV.
Furniture so dated all with bad fitting drawers.
I complained at the reception desk, no apology just a vacant look.
Breakfast the fried eggs were cold as the food heater was not on.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first if possible. I have men staying at local pub B&B who have no problems. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slapdabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place is very basic, it is old and dated. The staff try really hard to make you feel welcome and they work hard at what they do.
my room was clean but poorly equipped, the complement tray only has two sticks of coffee, one of which is decaffeinated, two tea bags, four sugars and two milks and a sachet of hot chocolate.
The bathroom only has one shower gel and one shampoo sachet and these are not replenished, so you will need to take soap and shampoo. I had a bath with a shower attachment, so could only hose myself down and there was no shower curtain so the floor became wet and slippery.
The bar food is good as are the breakfasts, I did not eat in the restaurant as it was only open once to my knowledge in the time I was there.
The guy at reception clearly does not fully understand his role and is not confident in it and he does not read the booking information causing confusion at the desk booking in and booking out.
The bar staff were very attentive and service was good.
The lady who owns/runs the place is very pleasant and friendly.
This place is in need of updating and needs to decide on what it is meant to be, in the past it was probably very upmarket, however it seems to be predominately passing trade and working men who stay there now, so a face lift is overdue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here on the 3rd October this year and was made to feel very welcome by all the staff especially at reception. Had a beautiful room with a four poster bed and a lovely breakfast in beautiful surroundings. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
215 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
7.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton
Crown And Cushion Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing