We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown and Cushion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked two rooms at this hotel, one double & a single for Mum. Our room was huge and very comfortable, mum's single was also a good size and equally good. Breakfast was plentiful, mainly buffet style with the hot elements cooked to order, staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We ate twice in the bar and the food was of good pub grub standard. Surprised by some of the previous negative comments, our stay was very pleasant and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    189
    112
    101
    118
See reviews for
122
327
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having booked a night’s accommodation at this hotel, my car sadly broke down less than 10 miles away from the destination (after completing over 90% of the journey!) As my alternator had failed, I had no alternative other than to be recovered home to Poole. I kept the hotel updated on developments at all times and the gentleman who answered my calls was very friendly and pleasant and said he would do his best to see if I could be saved from being invoiced for the full cost. However, his manager had different ideas and I was charged the full amount. I must say that given the extenuating circumstances, not to mention the wasted journey up and additional cost of repair, I was disappointed by this apparent lack of understanding. I have worked in higher education for almost two decades and although there are rules and regulations by which we operate, we still deal with each student’s set of circumstances on an individual basis and give leniency where necessary. Given that the hotel was not short of rooms that night and the fact that they technically still owe me a breakfast, I would have thought that they might have been a little more sympathetic to my circumstances. I’m not saying that they shouldn’t have charged anything, but rather that they could have simply taken a percentage of the overall cost. I fully intend to return to the Cotswolds in due course and would have been happy to return to this hotel had they shown some goodwill. Needless to say, that will not be happening now.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room was seriously over-priced at £135, although we did not pay this much, as we arrived at 9.30pm on a Friday, but they still tried to charge it at the full amount. There was no hairdryer in the room, and the members of staff were apparently unable to get hold of one, so I had to go to bed with long wet hair. There was no mat for the bathroom floor. There was no remote control for the TV. There were no cups or glasses to use in the bathroom, only little tea cups. There was people's rubbish on the top of the four poster bed. The shampoo and shower gel did not come in nice little bottles, but in SACHETS, as you might expect to find if you were paying £40 for a night. The bar staff were very nice and helpful, but the staff on reception seemed a bit useless. The car park is TINY, with no space to turn around, and I managed to back into a wall that was low and sticking out, so I couldn't see it in my mirrors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my dad as we were visiting Blenheim Palace the next day and wanted to make the most of a couple of days away. On arrival at the hotel it seemed fine. The bar is quaint and we had no issue with this aspect of the hotel at all.

My dad stayed in room 3 which seemed fine on arrival bar the fact he had to ask at reception for the remote control for the tv, and there was no main light although there was a light switch for one. Then at about 10pm the side lights turned themselves off and he couldn't get any electricity for the rest of the evening. In the morning, he then wasn't able to wash as he had no hot water.

I was given room number 5. I also had to ask for a remote control for the tv. My bigger concerns came when I saw the mattress was about 15cm smaller than the bed frame and that there was someone's toe nail on the part where the mattress wasn't. To add to this, when I sat on the bed I could literally feel every round spring and the bed was on a complete slant to the left. Just to top everything off the window was extremely difficult to close and when I finally managed it, it made absolutely no difference due to the gap between the window and window frame. I very very rarely complain but I knew I couldn't stay in the room. Reception didn't question the reasons I gave to change rooms which definitely gave the impression they'd had these complaints before.

My final room was adequate but I hardly slept. The issue was the same with the window in this room and of course, I had to ask for the remote control!!

Breakfast was fine in the morning. A selection of hot and cold food with cereal options.

All in all it felt like a stay at Fawlty Towers....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Catt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a last minute booking, with an upgrade to superior room. I doubt the hotel would win any major awards, but we found it a great place to stay. It's slightly dated but still very pleasant. The bar was busy and had a great buzz about it. Breakfast buffet was very varied and plentiful. Service from the staff is excellent - would seem to be mainly Eastern Europeans. The location was wonderful - right in the centre of this lovely and thriving market town. Plenty of independent shops, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 25 was quite decent. Fabulous power shower. Four poster bed. A little side room with a small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mljohnson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

One of the first hotels that ask for payment before you get your key,Dont take too much luggage as you may have to walk A.from the car park to reception book in and then B.walk up the stairs (no lift) and all the way back along the passageway almost to were you parked but indoors (we had a view of our car just outside our bedroom window) Our bed was a four poster it was a very small double and very hard.
The bar was good and freindly the staff very helpfull,the breakfast also was good with a good choice also with friendly staff.
Its no distance from the shops just walk ou the front door and you are there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a warm and friendly welcome food was excellent warm fires and great service room was clean and tidy and there was a good hot and cold buffet breakfast a good bar and resteraunt menu and will be returning

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton
Crown And Cushion Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing