We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful, but let down by its breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Characterful, but let down by its breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This old hotel has character, and our twin room (Room 20) was certainly quirky, with doors both to an inside corridor and to an outside passageway. But the room was somewhat cramped, with only a narrow gap between the foot of the bed and the wall.

Our tiny en-suite bathroom had a bath so small that it was impossible to lie down in it. And for no obvious reason the flexible shower hose was tethered to the wall so that it was impossible to lift the shower-head down far enough to rinse one’s nether regions properly.

However, I would still recommend this hotel provided it can improve its breakfast experience. When we went for breakfast, we found that the restaurant had a pleasant ambience, but it was sadly let down by the buffet-style choices available. The hot items on offer were fried eggs, sausages, bacon, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms and baked beans. Fine, except that the fried eggs were grossly overcooked and the sausages were clearly hardly cooked at all. (As vegetarians we ignored the sausages, but we noticed other diners complaining about them). I usually enjoy a roll or a croissant as part of a hotel breakfast, but the only bread products available were slices of white or brown bread that been out on display so long that they were too dry to eat other than toasted.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAndrewHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    195
    113
    102
    118
See reviews for
124
333
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Crown and Cushion for one night as it is ideally located for the Cotswolds. The entrance was welcoming and check-in was efficient. The hotel has very good facilities. The lounge is very quiet and relaxed. The bar has a local pub feel and serves a good range of drinks and very nice bar food which is where we eat. Breakfast was in the main restaurant and was full english buffet style with lots of choice.

Our room had period furniture including a 4 poster bed, very in-keeping with the area. The bathroom was nice and clean as was the rest of the room. The bed was a bit creaky but I suppose thats what you get with period furniture. The local Cockerel started at 4am - the joys of the countryside.

There is a courtyard garden and a number of decked areas which are loverly places where you can sit outside and have a drink. Parking at the hotel is free but space is limited and the spaces are tight. Access is via the rear entrance.

The hotel has a lovely heated indoor swimming pool which was very relaxing and welcoming in the summer. The hotel is suitable for anyone visiting the Cotswolds including families as it has large rooms. A very nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. We would certainly stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the day before for this hotel. It was lovely inside and out and we were right at the back of the hotel in the coach house suite. It was lovely inside with lovely views over the hills but unfortunately when we went to bed the pillows fell off and inside was revealed really stained yellow pillowcases. We complained but unfortunately the replacement pillows were exactly the same. We complained again and were told that the housekeeper was getting us some more. After an hour of waiting we went to reception who said that the housekeeper wouldn't be long. We went out for something to eat and when we came back they had bought us some new pillows. This was a nice touch and the breakfast the next day was absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: Very good for an overnight stay but needs updating as no hairdryer in the room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is a delightful old building in a very nice position and has some good features. The paperwork said 'a four-poster' room, but that didn't happen. Didn't bother to complain so cannot say how that would have been dealt with. The room, in fact, which is on the ground floor, is very basic and needs updating. Did not eat dinner there as there are some very nice restaurant in Chipping Norton as well as many in the surrounding area. Buffet breakfast was just adequate, but I asked for soft boiled eggs (not on the menu) which took 15 minutes to arrive, were quite hard and had been peeled - perhaps they don't have an eggcup in the hotel?
Overall, I shall probably stay there again as I visit Chipping Norton quite often, but would not want to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a footpath right outside the window with patrons of the public bar passing bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyanne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pleasantly surprised to get a four poster bed and huge bath! Quiet room at the back of the hotel. Parking on site. Didn't use the pool but ate in the bar where the service was excellent and the food was very good. (Lite bites a misnomer as the sandwiches were huge and served with chips and salad!) breakfast was buffet style but plenty of choice and staff were very obliging. All in all a good choice and good value for money. Bed comfortable but flock pillows lumpy. Not the only hotel where this has been a problem!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LoJo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balfron
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

After a helpful welcome from the receptionist, and a friendly barman and attentive waitress, there isn't very much we can say in recommendation of this hotel. Our room, no 14, was extremely warm (OK, it was at the end of a warm day but we had come from a smaller hotel on the South Coast which provided a fan to cool the room - not difficult, or expensive to organise, when there is no AC. The welcome pint of beer went flat within seconds, although the wine menu was reasonably priced and the wine chosen was OK. We ate in the bar, since we had eaten rather well over the previous couple of days, and only wanted one course. We both chose the cod - possibly the worst meal we've eaten in a long time. Tasteless fish, tasteless batter, cheap frozen chips (although you can say this about most hotels), awful tartare sauce and a salad with a mustard dressing - a mustard dressing with cod, please!!.

Had opened the window of the bedroom but had to close it due to the sound of the kitchen fan - still able to hear it when the window was closed. But the worst was yet to come.

For breakfast we asked for a poached egg since when we looked at the fried eggs there were 3 in the tray that looked like they had been cooked yesterday. After about 15 minutes, I asked the waiter (on his own - so not much effort to provide adequate staffing) he showed some irritation that I should enquire with the words "he's (pointing next door) doing it - I am not the cooker". Five minutes later the eggs arrived and were as hard as bullets and were inedible. I had a piece of black pudding that was tasteless and the bacon had been cooked on one side.

The shower head was just about hanging together but I thought the days of small sachets of shower gel and shampoo were a thing of the past. The confirmation of booking said that the rooms had been refurbished and the hotel offered the luxury that the modern traveller expected. We stayed in 2 other hotels during our trip and in each we witnessed a commitment towards their guests that we unfortunately did not find in this hotel. Mediocrity is possibly the only word we can use about so many aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stay one night at this hotel during a business trip. Nice hotel with lovely swimming pool. Nice location,convenient for public transport. Big double bedroom but little window so it got very warm at nighttime. Good breakfast, plenty of choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Archaeoboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton
Crown And Cushion Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing