We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Fox(Chipping Norton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heythrop Park Resort(Chipping Norton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redesdale Arms Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
136
218
140
117
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
218
140
117
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverysquash courtcoaching innhotel barbar mealsopen fireenjoyable stayplenty of hot waterbuffet stylewaiting staffa lovely stayfull englishyogurtcotswoldspub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed two nights at the Crown and Cushion Hotel and it was an amazing way to experience the Costwolds. The location is excellent, just two minutes from the bus stop. If you are travelling by train, the nearest station is Kingham, which is only a 10 minute bus ride. The check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was is the top floor, so we had amazing views of the English countryside and were able to see the amazing sunset. The room was big enough and very clean. The first night was a bit cold so the staff provided us with a heater and blankets for the second night. The breakfast was more than fine and the atmosphere very familiar and relaxed. All in all, I was very pleased and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrs_ma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Crown and Cushion for 2 nights to visit the Cotswolds.
Our room was clean and comfortable, the decor was old-fashioned with an unusual mixture of styles including a blue flowered bathroom suite.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the beer and the food in the bar.
The swimming pool is a bonus, but the changing area needs refurbishing.
This hotel could be excellent with a few improvements.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JAD937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked last minute and got a great deal £150 for two, for two nights with breakfast. They were very clear that the room they had available was more suitable to the single traveller despite having a double bed but as it was all that was left we took it! OK greeting at reception, not particularly friendly but we checked in with no issue. Walked up the pathway outside to our room and found that room 34 was absolutely fine given the cost. It was clean and had everything we needed. The bed was a bit creaky and unstable and the pillows were no more than a little strip of foam, but we both slept well and it was super quiet where we were at the back of the hotel.
Pre-dinner drinks at the bar was where we started to suspect that we were not in a well-run hotel. The two girls behind the bar had no clue what they were doing and took a good ten minutes between them to get our two drinks and then for us to pay. They had to ask and indeed other guests what we wanted roughly 5 times before it sunk in. All I wanted was a fairly straight forward gin and tonic... The bar wasn’t busy at all, it was caused by their complete incompetence. We then made the mistake of eating in the restaurant. The pictures all looked lovely and the menu inviting. We sat down, ordered a bottle of sparkling water and bottle of white wine. We then ordered our food. Starter came, still no water or wine. Enquired as to where it was and got told that he hadn’t had a chance to go to the bar yet.... I would have gone myself! We finished our starter, still no water or wine despite me asking a further time. Finally the wine arrived, with no apology but in an ice bucket that had about three pieces of ice and then filled to the brim with water. I asked where the water was and then explained that we were rather parched at this stage and that our water would have been welcomed through the starter. At that point, he started to leave with the ice bucket with the wine in it to get the water! You couldn’t make it up... I had to say to him to leave the wine, we would pour it ourselves if he could please go back to the bar and get the water. The main was awful, my other half had pieces of pork swimming in a thin, watery tomato sauce, my beef fillet tips in a jus were cut up pieces of beef in a gravy. What made it even worse was the owner / manager was walking through the restaurant a few times and managed to spot that someone had been given steak but no steak knife; she did however witness ‘water-gate’ and didn’t even come over to apologise or indeed help out. Breakfast the next morning was good, the other reviews are a bit unfair on this I feel. The eggs and black pudding were freshly cooked and a good array of bread, croissants, pastries and rolls. Perhaps they could invest in a couple of toasters that took a shorter time to toast though...
The next night we ate in the bar (as the rest of Chipping Norton had closed down, it being a Sunday) and had a perfectly acceptable pub meal washed down with an incredibly reasonably priced champagne (£45 for Verve!). Table service was quick and competent.

If you are after somewhere cheap and clean, don’t mind waiting to be served your drink, can see the charm and funny side of the service, or are happy eating pub grub for dinner then stay here. If you have an expectation of good service no matter what price you pay, this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top near the car park are better. rooms 29 - 40. We were in room 34 and ours and the surrounding were really quiet
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This old hotel has character, and our twin room (Room 20) was certainly quirky, with doors both to an inside corridor and to an outside passageway. But the room was somewhat cramped, with only a narrow gap between the foot of the bed and the wall.

Our tiny en-suite bathroom had a bath so small that it was impossible to lie down in it. And for no obvious reason the flexible shower hose was tethered to the wall so that it was impossible to lift the shower-head down far enough to rinse one’s nether regions properly.

However, I would still recommend this hotel provided it can improve its breakfast experience. When we went for breakfast, we found that the restaurant had a pleasant ambience, but it was sadly let down by the buffet-style choices available. The hot items on offer were fried eggs, sausages, bacon, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms and baked beans. Fine, except that the fried eggs were grossly overcooked and the sausages were clearly hardly cooked at all. (As vegetarians we ignored the sausages, but we noticed other diners complaining about them). I usually enjoy a roll or a croissant as part of a hotel breakfast, but the only bread products available were slices of white or brown bread that been out on display so long that they were too dry to eat other than toasted.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndrewHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Crown and Cushion for one night as it is ideally located for the Cotswolds. The entrance was welcoming and check-in was efficient. The hotel has very good facilities. The lounge is very quiet and relaxed. The bar has a local pub feel and serves a good range of drinks and very nice bar food which is where we eat. Breakfast was in the main restaurant and was full english buffet style with lots of choice.

Our room had period furniture including a 4 poster bed, very in-keeping with the area. The bathroom was nice and clean as was the rest of the room. The bed was a bit creaky but I suppose thats what you get with period furniture. The local Cockerel started at 4am - the joys of the countryside.

There is a courtyard garden and a number of decked areas which are loverly places where you can sit outside and have a drink. Parking at the hotel is free but space is limited and the spaces are tight. Access is via the rear entrance.

The hotel has a lovely heated indoor swimming pool which was very relaxing and welcoming in the summer. The hotel is suitable for anyone visiting the Cotswolds including families as it has large rooms. A very nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. We would certainly stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews