We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub of all time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falkland Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falkland Arms
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pub of all time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I cannot reccomend this place highly enough. From the incredible atmosphere to the great food, this is a VERY special pub and not to be missed! A must visit if you are passing anywhere near hte vacinity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    90
    33
    27
    11
See reviews for
45
202
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a lovely old inn. All the charm and nuances that you would expect from a place that has been around since Noah. Well run and cute but be sure to go next door on the weekends to Sweet Pea and have a dinner with Antonio. Its a flower shop by day and an Italian restaurant by night. You will swoon at the antipasto. I have never seen such a display.

Room Tip: If you can avoid a room directly over the bar - do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, cosy pub with roaring fire. We didn't eat evening meal but were told by other guests the food was very good. The rooms are clean, staff polite and we particularly enjoyed the breakfast. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 979JanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend away. The Falkland Arms is a great base - wonderful rooms, cracking breakfast and main meal and a lovely area for walking. It is also a good base for exploring the Cotswolds. Staff are very friendly and treat you well as guests of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I always stay at this gorgeous English pub every now and again when visiting the Cotswolds Club up on the A44 and I have to say that every occasion has been a fantastic one.

Our stay is always welcomed by the delightful staff and our rooms, of which we've stayed in three, have always been lovely and more importantly, immaculate. The breakfast and dinner is also excellent and fairly priced.

Definitely recommended!! A++++

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The pub was delightful and set in lovely countryside. We stayed for 2 nights in Room 6 which was huge and had lovely views. The food we were served was second to none and all the staff we encountered were polite, helpful and happy.It was very busy in the bar during our stay as it was Halloween night but it didn't impact on the service we were given. Well done to Jack and the team- we will be back!

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem opt for first floor rooms as quite steep windy staircase to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This pub is set in an idyllic situation. Accommodation was at a high standard well made beds and clean bathroom. The restaurant was very busy but being residents we had a table automatically reserved and where we'll looked after . Real ales where the best kept secret we shall return soon

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkland Arms

Property: Falkland Arms
Address: Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkland Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falkland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkland Arms Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing