We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bruern Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
US$78
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heythrop Park Resort(Chipping Norton)
US$128
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox(Chipping Norton)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford(Chipping Norton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$116
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
34
5
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
5
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomwelcome packbig gardenlittle touchesthoroughly enjoyed our stayliving roombeautiful groundsprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

...but the beds were horribly uncomfortable, with a lumpy sagging mattress, the pool was cold - far too cold for babies and there were just so many things that really grated on us:
- some staff were surly - one even told my son not mess the toys up!
- no towels in the pool area, and only one set of pool towels for our whole stay
- frozen meals were ok but very expensive - we much preffered stocking up at Daylesford Organics, only a short drive away.
- limited toiletries and toilet paper - we nearly ran out!
- there was never anyone around to ask for more of anything - phone at the office was never answered
- the food / drinks in the "welcome pack" could also be better

Given the price charged for the accommodation, we felt that the owners are trying scrimp and scrooge where they can possibly get away with it, which is such a shame because overall the cottage was well appointed and in a good location.

These all seem like such easy things to fix: buy new matresses, heat the pool an extra couple of degrees and be a little more generous with the towels, toiletries etc ...

Room Tip: bring wetsuits for your little ones
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank splash2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

If you have always wanted an idyllic cottage in the Cotswolds minus the aggro', hassle and commitment then THIS is the place for you.

Just under two hours from London, three miles north of Burford, you arrive to a warm, toastie cottage, fire laid but not lit. A fridge full of champagne, butter and milk. Enough tea and coffee to last the duration of your stay. Fluffy towels, piping hot water, Sky Movies and Sports, wifi, glossy magazines, scented candles. Get the Picture? So good in fact, you get just about everything and anything you could need for a weekend or holiday week just short of an Ocado delivery.


You also get a key to the heated indoor pool.
Bruern is more than just kid-friendly. It caters for nippers in the nicest way. There are bikes, trikes, karts and a whopping games room for the young to safely play billiards, ping pong and table football leaving you in peace to enjoy all on offer in the stunning gardens.


Bruern is a magical hamlet tucked right in the middle of the Super-Cotswold triangle of Burford, Stow and Chipping Norton. It IS David Cameron country. It IS the Land of Jeremy Clarkson so beware swerving SuperCars and Flying Polictians.

The complex of 10 or so cottages/houses is right next to a super-dooper golf course at Lyneham.
It is where the good and great live so do not be surprised if one of them is sat next to you in the local pub. Archie Orr-Ewing's King's Head at Bledington and Swan at Swinbrook are both Ace pubs. The Plough at Kingham is OK, but service somewhat grumpy and noses are put most out of joint if you have the audactiy to arrive at 1.45pm when 'the kitchen's are about to close'. NOT my idea of a relaxing Saturday lunch.
 But then again this IS the English countryside.

I LOVE Bruern. It is the perfect place to enjoy all the Cotswolds has to offer in style and luxury. And when it's time to leave? Why you just close the door and take the keys back to the office and everything is taken care of. The super-organised get an Ocado van to deliver all they need as they arrive. We love going to Sam Cam's favourite butcher's in Chadlington, which has the best grocery store next door full of excellent cheeses and smoked meats, sitting next to homemade pies and fantastic veg'.


Go there.
You will not regret it. 
Bruern puts The Mark on Self-Catering and I've got a feeling it has become as much a part of our family life as the aforementioned Cottage In The Cotswolds, minus the leaks, damp and resident mice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skoolrunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We first discovered Bruern in 2002 and have been back every year since! We usually stay for 2-3 weeks and once we've unpacked we feel so at home we never want to leave!
We've done day trips as far afield as Kent, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Birmingham and Wales as access to motorways is so easy from Bruern's central location.
Although the initial cost of a cottage looks high, being able to do our own laundry and cooking means the trip is eventually much cheaper than hotels or B&Bs. And being able to spread out in so many rooms makes it so much better than hotel accommodation!
The "cleaning fairies" come in and weave their magic once a week (more often if you request it). Wireless broadband makes keeping in touch with home so easy; the pool and spa add just that little bit of extra luxury.
If the weather is good, trips around local sights and a quiet day in the garden is perfect.
Since 2002 we've stayed in 5 different cottages (some twice or 3 times!) and have brought grown up children and grandchildren with us on occasions and it's been a perfect place for the younger family members too!
And nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manieril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I can whole-heartedly recommend the Bruern cottages. We arrived late and were welcomed very warmly. Then, and this is rather embarrassing, immediately set off the fire alarm, which droned on, forcing everyone else out of their cottages. The staff was so nice after this incident, which imprinted a good impression on my mind. The cottages themselves are decorated in the typical cottage style, not necessarily my thing, but exactly as I had imagined. They are equipped with a washer/dryer as well as TV, DVD, wi-fi service, and telephone. We were five people and fit quite comfortably into the three upper floor bedrooms, though I believe they offer cottages for up to 8. The complex includes a health club and spa, and is within very easy driving and good walking or biking distance of nearby villages. I can absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing week away from it all, but with easy access to Oxford, small town and train stations.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and I had a short break here in February. We stayed in Cope which is for 2 people but has space in the living room for about 30! We've wanted to stay here for a few years but never been able to afford it. We managed to get a half price deal at the last minute.

I would say for half price is was very much worth the money. They have refurbished this paricular cottage since they took photos for the brochure and website and it looks much better than those pictures. We don't know why they haven't updated their photos as they've really improved the look of the place.

The bed was incredibly large and confortable, and the linen was incredibly soft. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed, and it was lovely to have bathrobes to use.

The kitchen is meant to be used by a chef when cooking for large groups who can dine in the large living room but I don't think it was fully equipped for proper cooking - there were no scales for example - but if you are not planning on cooking anything clever then it is quite well equipped and the fridge is HUGE!

The living room is a luxury, having that much space for 2 is incredible and the books in the library area are diverse and in good condition so you shouldn't need to bring a book with you if you like reading! It was good to have free wi-fi as well.

The whole cottage was incredibly comfortable and really quiet considering it's near the office and joined to the games room. We never heard a thing from the games room, so it's well insulated.

There isn't much in the way of outside space, but there's enough for 2, which is fine.

We had a really relaxing time here and couldn't really find fault with anything, and we're usually very picky! You could argue that there could be more in the welcome food basket and the signage is very poor in the complex but those would be the only negative things we could say about our stay.

If we had paid full price we might not have thought it worth the money, but that's because we can't really afford those prices so it would never be worth it. If you think it's an ok price to pay to stay somewhere special, then you should enjoy it.

It's in a good location for exploring the area and there are plenty of places to eat out a short drive away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flameangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews