We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Love with Bruern Cottages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruern Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bruern Cottages
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Southport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“In Love with Bruern Cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

This beautiful property is set between rolling hills and farms deep in the English countryside, and it was a wonderful home base for my garden visits in the Cotswolds. Our charming cottage was filled with really comfortable furniture, the prettiest Colefax & Fowler fabrics, and lovely antiques. It was heaven to return to after a busy day of exploration, and I could have stayed for months. It is the perfect place for those looking for quiet & serenity in the country, with the privacy & comforts of home.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and decor.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTonHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We have just returned from our honeymoon at Bruern Cottages staying in Saratoga. As the previous poster we also felt the cottage was a little worn in places. Also the televsion reception was not good at all. We asked for papers and milk to be delivered,the milk is delivered on a Tuesday and Thursday, so you can either stock up or go to the local shop approx 5 miles away. We didnt get any papers on one of the days this was taken off our bill at the end of the stay.

I dont want to come across as not enjoying our stay as we did but we are unsure if it warranted the price tag.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

This is an exclusive, top class complex of roughly 9 or 10 propertlies. Either the converted stable block or seperate cottages. They are set within beautiful grounds, with formal gardens, many properties have there own garden too. They range from 1 bedroom to about 5 bedrooms. The estate is managed very well. You can order homemade food(frozen)to be delivered, Milk and newspapers can also be arranged. The complex is owned by Lady Astor, whom I believe once lived in the Abbey( opposite) with her husband.

This is certainly not a cheap option for holidaying in the Cotswolds and you have to debate if it is worth the premium you pay(?)

This visit we felt that the property we were in was perhaps a little tired in places- the kitchen was the main area, along with the TV's being pretty old fashioned ( not wide screen) with limited choice of channels and the terrestrial channels broadcast in analogue, so pretty fuzzy - but you may be out every night so that won't matter.

Onsite there is a brand new Spa and indoor swimming pool, they have an hour or 2 each day that is for Adults only. it is lovely and warm, but it is quite small.

Within the formal gardens there is a summer house, just for the children with lots of toys and pens and paper. etc, aswell as a games room ( limited at the moment due to a fire). There are also quite a few sit in cars and tractors aswell as a climbing frame with slide and baby swing along with a children's playhouse.

We have visited Bruern 3 times over the last few years, staying in a different cottage everytime. They are all decorated and furnished with real style, using antiques and top quality soft furnishings. There is now a gas BBQ at every cottage too.

Some of the cottages are closer to the spa, but don't have a private garden ( but do have their own terrace). and are within the formal gardens.

It is a truely lovely place to stay. The gardens are well maintained, peaceful and lovely to take a wonder through and although there is an air of grandness about the place is it not at all stuffy - infact comfortably laid back.

It really is great place if you have children as there is so much space they can really wear themselves out !


.

  • Liked — The quality & refined accommodation along with the beautiful gardens/setting and lots to do for our young children
  • Disliked — How expensive it is .....
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank HisNibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

We stayed in the Bruern Cottages for several days as our main base to see the Cotswolds. While the location is a bit remote, we found it to be central for seeing many of the Cotswolds villages. We had the Shipton 3 bedroom 3 bath cottage between 4 people and it worked out perfect. The cottages are very clean, nicely decorated and well appointed. We had our own private garden and parking. It would have been very easy to just sit around and enjoy the cottage all day had it not been for the fact we had so little time and much to see in the Cotswolds. We went to some of the local markets and cooked a few of our own meals...a nice change from dining out for a week. All you need are your clothes. Don't expect maid service unless you request it. We actually liked the fact that we saw no staff...it was like having your own private home in the Cotswolds. The cottage is fully self-contained. And, considering the exchange rate, the rates are very reasonable for what you get. We can highly recommend these cottages and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere was wonderful
  • Disliked — Location a bit out of the way
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claverdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

We have just returned from 3 fantastic nights stay in Weir House. It was our 30th Anniversary and Sue's birthday so we had her mother, our 2 sons and their other halves and 2 prospective in laws!
All arrived at different times and when given the grand tour just went "Wow" when shown each room/bedroom.
All 5 bedrooms are huge, ensuite and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is big and beautiful with open plan dining that can seat up to 30! There are enough plates etc to allow this.
We had a most delicious meal cooked for us on Saturday by Ken Hall who does the catering including frozen meals to pre order.
We played tennis, croquet, table tennis, pool, table football, went swimming in the fabulous new pool and had spa beauty treatments.
The gardens are beautiful and large. There's a play area for the kids and inside a dressing up room etc.
A bar b cue on Sunday afternoon was magic. We were so lucky with the weather.
We didn't want to leave this morning.
Many thanks to Francis and her team for making such a memorable family weekend possible.


  • Liked — the size of rooms, space, decor
  • Disliked — leaving it this morning
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

We've just stayed in the stable cottages at Bruern for 7 days. Overall, a very nice set of properties with good facilities. This will be enhanced by the opening of an indoor pool and spa in Nov 06.

Don't be fooled by the website, whilst the cottages are well decorated, the furnishings and bathrooms in our cottage (Sandown) were very tired. The bathroom wouldn't have looked out of place in a three star hotel. Sandown is also very noisy from the wooden flooring in the cottage above (Cheltenham) especially if your neighours appear to have little or no common sense and social grace!

The weekend was also very busy with a party hiring what seemed to be the whole of Bruern. They had quite clearly never experienced anything like Bruern which resulted in noisy, inappropriate and rude behaviour - shouting across the courtyard, walking around in pyjamas and, unbelievably, peering through our cottage front door to have a good nosey whilst we were sitting in front of them!

Whilst a property can't be expected to vet the clientele, there should be some ground rules laid down for those guests who are unfortunate enough to lack etiquette and an understanding of appropriate behaviour.

We would go back but we'd probably hire one of the larger properties (Booker, Weir) for some privacy and to avoid the interruptions to what was a very relaxing week.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tired decor and noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book Sandown!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank MrOizo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

This was our best travel accommodation experience (and we have travelled around the world). If you are an independent traveler who wants to be in the countryside with peace, quiet and a beautiful cottage environment this is the place for you. By country, I mean real country (no passing traffic noise, no shops around the corner). We live in rural Western Australia and Bruern Cottages, during our stay in March, was as quiet as our country home with the minor exception of a few distant commuter trains further along the valley.

We stayed in ‘Cheltenham’ “cottage” for four week day nights. ‘Cheltenham’ is located in the centre of the ‘U’ shaped stable building under the clock tower. You enter at ground floor level and go up a spiral staircase to two floors of delightful accommodation. The first floor is a very spacious living/dining/kitchen area. Although centrally heated there was an open fireplace with generous quantities of firewood supplied. Everything you could need is thought of here from a wonderfully equipped kitchen to a picnic basket ready for your use. My list could go on and on to include the fine china, wine rack, current magazines, books an insulated bag for you frozen food shopping and even a list of birds spotted around Bruern by the Head Gardener. The furnishings are beautiful and could not be faulted. We enjoyed delightful rural views from all the windows. Naturally there is a dishwasher, washing machine, clothes dryer all with full supplies of ‘green’ powders for you to use in them. On arrival you receive ‘welcome’ food – a freshly baked cake, eggs, bread, butter, milk, orange juice, cereals and sparkling wine. We took advantage of their offer of prepared food and preordered a frozen meal – very tasty, recommended. It was ready waiting for us in the freezer when we arrived. The upper floor contained two compact bedrooms and a spacious, attractive bathroom. The linen was superb and the beds very comfortable. As on the lower floor these rooms were very attractively decorated. The ‘double’ bed room had a canopied bed and its own vanity basin. I am sure all the “cottages” are equally delightful as are the extensive grounds, children’s play area, games room and for those lucky people who visit in future the huge heated pool they are currently constructing.

On arrival we had a little difficulty ‘checking in’ and eventually located the ‘office’ over the road from the cottages. Help or general information is available by telephone at anytime but you are basically ‘on you own’ here and as such need to be an independent traveller. We used the cottage as our base to explore near and far. We took a day trip to Bath returning via the historic village of Malmesbury, visited Cirencester (wonderful museum), drove around the scenic Cotswolds, saw the prehistoric Rolling Stones, visited Blenheim Palace and nearby Oxford. The cost of our cottage did not vary when our numbers increased from two to four (our cousins joined us). We considered it excellent value for such quality, fully self-contained accommodation. We will definitely try to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
7.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
9.8 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruern Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruern Cottages

Property: Bruern Cottages
Address: Bruern Stable Cottages, Chipping Norton OX7 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Hotel Class:5 star — Bruern Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Cotswolds, between Chipping Norton, Stow-on-the-Wold and Burford, Bruern Holiday Cottages are one of the few holiday rentals to welcome guests just as a hotel does - for a single night or for eight weeks, both during the week and at the weekend. Even though Bruern is self-catering, you are not expected to entirely provide for yourself on your first night, so when you arrive, there are essentials like milk, butter, eggs and sausages waiting for you, along with a few little luxuries like champagne, homemade cakes and local artisan cheese with biscuits. Twice National Winners of VisitBritain’s England for Excellence Award, and current holders of EnjoyEngland’s Gold Award for quality, Bruern Holiday Cottages set a new benchmark for self-catering when Judy Astor first started converting the properties in 1992, at one time comprising eight of the properties holding VisitBritain’s top grade awards, has compared with only 132 for the whole of the rest of Great Britain. Bruern offers the comfort and attention to detail of a good hotel, combined with the privacy, independence and space of home, amidst the civilised ease and style of English Country House living. However, there are four things that really set Bruern apart from other self-catering holiday rentals. Firstly, it is a paradise for children, with three playgrounds, a play cabin, a wendy house, who, toy cars and bicycles for every child and in every size - and above all other children. Lastly, there’s a games room with, pool, table tennis and table football, for older teens (and maybe older-than-teens), for whom the above are a little too babyish. Secondly, there is the decor, which eschews the monotonous orthodoxies of minimalism, being unashamedly English Country House style – the atmosphere is elegant yet comfortable, and all the properties have log fires, and canopied or four poster beds. Thirdly, the gardens, which are a blend of formal and informal elements, feature topiary, cutting gardens with box hedges, gazebos, little orchards, statuary, a wisteria tunnel, and a vast hundred yard herbaceous border. There is barely a square foot of the entire estate that has not been planned out with a passion for landscape and an eye for detail. In 1999 Bruern’s gardens were even awarded a marking of 100 out of 100 by VisitBritain that neither we nor anyone else has ever bettered; and nor will it ever be bettered, unless the laws of arithmetic change. Finally, there is the indoor swimming pool, gym and spa, which looks out on to a separate Italianate garden and terrace, with a classical portico to sit beneath in the shade. Cited by Tatler in 2009 as one of the “101 best spas in the world”, here you can book reflexology, massages, pedicures, manicures and facials. All in all, Bruern is a place that is simply unique – over eighty percent of our business comes from returning guests, and of new guests the majority come from personal word-of-mouth recommendations. We haven’t had a review score on TripAdvisor of less than 5/5 (Excellent) in 3 years – if you read the reviews, you’ll see why. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bruern Holiday Cottages Hotel Chipping Norton
Bruern Holiday Hotel
Bruern Cottages Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing