We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairytale Farm

Fairytale Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Children will love Fairytale Farm - a sensory and learning wonderland for all the family. With our exciting adventure playground, an enchanted walk with a surprise around every corner and a chance to meet our amazing animals, there is so much to see and do. Everything is designed to be as disabled-friendly as possible so we welcome children of all abilities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

What an incredible experience! The farm has friendly staff, enthusiastic animals to feed and some very special attractions! A wonderful afternoon out. We will definitely be back to see the farm in the darker evenings where it it lit up like Christmas!
Thank you Fairytale Farm!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgeeees, Owner at Fairytale Farm, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Your review is great - thank you. You are right about our animals - many have commented on their exceptional friendliness! And you will be pleased to know that we are lighting up our Enchanted Walk with hundreds of colourful fairy lights every Saturday and Sunday in September and October from dusk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    78
    28
    26
    65
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its a work in progess”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

ive read most the reviews , and they are mostly fair apart from I think it was Sarah, the animals all looked well cared for and loved , with people working,grooming etc all the time we were there , yes its basic but they are investing in a new café building which I think is a great plan, the fairy tale walk isn't to my taste (with the witch in the oven looking like the start of a bad porn movie) and the plastic models are a bit tatty , but the farm part was lovely and play area was great , the girl who showed off the rabbits was lovely and for a youngish girl was very chatty and clearly knew her stuff and cared about the animals,

as said if you want alton towers sized rides etc pay your £40 odd to do that, cant wait for my nephew to be a little older so we can pop back and see how its coming on.

I should give it an average but have great hopes to see the park grow :-)

so keep up the great work with the animals and the interactive play items (the rubber duck race)

leave the theme park stuff to the big boys , oh and clear out some mint to let some other lovely herbs grow ;-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigfootjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgeeees, Owner at Fairytale Farm, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your kind comments about our animals, which we are all delighted to read - they are the focus of our attention and I think that shows. Work has started on our new cafe building and will continue slowly but surely over the coming months.

You are right that we are growing at quite a rate with five new attractions this summer alone. We have much more planned for the coming weeks and months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We agree mostly with the review jerseycreamlondon gave (bit harsh but true!)The animals did look cared for and were friendly. My 2 year old enjoyed the playground although the slides were difficult for him to access as they had vertical ladders more suitable for older children. Cafe basic and drafty.
It's a budget farm rather than a fairytale farm! Time and money better spent elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaxton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgeeees, Owner at Fairytale Farm, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sending your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our animals and that your 2-year-old enjoyed the playground. We do aim Fairytale Farm fairly and squarely at children, so delighted that your children enjoyed it. We are a cheap day out at the moment as we are still developing, hence our low entry price. But we added five imaginative new attractions this summer alone (Rubber Duck Racing, Hansel & Gretel, Sleeping Beauty, Giant Rabbit's Burrow and Mouse Town) and there can't be many attractions that can boast that. More new attractions coming later this year and next year too, and we are keeping our prices low until the end of this year at least. Please come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Unfortunatly my family visited the farm also over the si-fi weekend, we were there a maximum of an hour - and that was because we took a picnic. I find the negative reviews on this place seem to be more acurate than the positive ones. A couple of sheds with statues in and a story being read in the background. The cafe was something and nothing, the sensory garden a couple of plants in a pot. The water attractions my son found fun but only a couple of children can really play on them at one time. More positiely the childrens play area was good. The animals however were lovely, they seemed very friendly and cared for.

Everything at this farm is a work in progress I think, I am only annoyed that I spend £17 for really only an hours entertainment, when I expected to spend a few hours there. If the entrance fee was reduced considerably I would visit again and enjoy seeeing it grow but alas I expect the money is needed for the business to grow! I will probably visit again in a year or so and see if it has improved any.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Owner at Fairytale Farm, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review. Although you only give us two stars, you did appear to enjoy most aspects of the farm, and I actually enjoyed reading most of the review. I am glad that you enjoyed our various water attractions, and equally pleased that you consider our animals "lovely", "friendly" and "well cared for". It is good to hear that you would like to visit again and watch us grow and we hope that you do. Although you found us expensive, which appeared to be your main issue, we are (I believe) the cheapest farm park in the country and this is because we are still a work in progress and have reflected that in our entrance prices. But there is enough here to keep most of our visitors happy for several hours.

I hope you will come back and see us again soon as we will continue to add new attractions as we have done throughout 2014. We must certainly be the fastest-growing farm attraction in the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grim & dreadful place.......drive past and don't stop.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to the "Fairytale Farm" yesterday for my son's birthday treat and I am hoping he doesn't remember too much about it as it was such a disappointment. First impressions are mixed when you pull into the car park.The entrance looks grubby and the staff clearly more interested in their own conversations to be able to offer up a warm welcome that you tend to expect at these types of venues. I was £10 poorer after walking through the entrance and then another £1 lighter as I bought two small packets of seed for the ducks and goats.
We walked into what is described as the "Enchanted walk"....well its a few wooden cabins that have a sound emitting from inside of a kids story.......blah blah.....we walked through and it took 20 secs.......next........a bunch of grubby naff plastic statues including a plastic camera, a mermaid and a small pond........15 secs later......."weather wonderland" is a circle full of ball bearings that fall and sound like rain ............really. My son saw a combine harvester to play on and was off so didn't have time to be told that all the plastic statues are illuminated at night........great !
To be fair the water pumps and ducks that race down plastic pipes were fun for him and that lasted 10 minutes which was great. Next the animals.........and what a sorry sight they made as they looked as fed up and miserable as we were by now. The goats were strangling themselves on the wire fencing to be fed.........the donkeys ready to give up in the pen that had no grass left to eat.......the pigs hid in shame in their pens and the rabbits were quite cute until i saw a sign saying they could be bought for £10....! Is this place a hoarders idea of fun with tat and animals or are they really serious? The worse sight was the ducks that were neglected, feathers torn off and bare pink skin exposed......this was not right and the owners should be ashamed of themselves. If the animals are rescue then great but give them respect, a proper environment,don't con the public with silly signage and daft claims and do not go to this embarrassing slice of land between a noisy road and the next door golf club's dumping zone.

I would recommend going to Adam Henson's farm or The Cotswolds Wildlife Park instead......

The place is a real disappointment and could be so much better as the area needs more attractions...............but this place is not attractive but grubby and a disgrace.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jerseycreamlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Owner at Fairytale Farm, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Reading this review it is clear that there is little we could say to change your mind, so I am not going to try. We do, however, take issue with your description of our animals as a "sorry sight". You only have to read the other reviews to see how much our visitors love our animals and how much we care for them. Even the review above this one, which was not entirely glowing about the visit, pointed out how lovely our animals are and that they are friendly and cared for. For your information, most of our animals are rescued, mainly from people who do not want them any more. We do want them, and our visitors love them, and I am sure that we will continue to be commended for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairytale Farm also viewed

 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Fairytale Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing