We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Chippy.”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Chipping Norton B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location in Chippy.”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hotel was booked for overnight stay as we were attending a wedding near Chippy, The hotel/pub is right in the centre of the town, got my car parked on-site, checking was OK, in bar of pub, room was clean & tidy, loads of tea/coffee in room (much better than some of the bigger chains), room would have been a bit cramped for a longish stay but was OK for our stay. Only downside was checkout was at 10.00 am, not too good after you've had a good time at a wedding, another couple of hours to sleep it off would have been better for me, but as my Mum always said 'No sympathy as it was self inflicted'. Overall the hotel was very good, and we would go again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordYokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked a double & a single room for the night of 13th August 2011 thro' Travel Republic. There was a very loud party,talking very loudly outside our room. We dressed at 1.00a.m. & complained to Alice the manageress who said we would get a full refund we are still waiting!

Room Tip: Don't book a ground floor room if they have a party booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv M, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Unfortunately i was on holiday during this booking, the refund was made as soon as i returned.
As a result of this complaint i did look into what we could do to minimise the noise to the rear of the pub and we now do not let the public out the back after 11pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Kings Head many years ago, and the stay was average pub fayre to be truthful, and we have not been back to stay, as it was a bit noisy and the room we stayed in was a bit cramped. However, the thing that we always recall whenever we pass by these days, is the night we were sat in the bar having a drink, and my wife suddenly spun around and looked at the wall behind her....I said "what's the matter" and she replied that someone had tapped her on the shoulder quite forcefully!...well, there was no one there and I was facing her, and there was nobody near!....Anyway, we thought no more about it, but when we were leaving the next morning, we looked at the wall outside on the street (where my wife had been sitting in the bar the previous evening) and there was evidence of a bricked-up doorway exactly where my wife had felt the ghostly tap on her shoulder. Could she have been sitting in the way of a phantom customer from long ago, irritated by her sitting in the, now non-existent, doorway???....We always wonder! ....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Firstly, there seems to be two lots of rooms, the newer ones out the back (which are the ones we saw advertised) and the older, shabby ones directly above the pub. We were under the impression we'd booked one of the newer ones but it turned out not the case and we had a room directly above the pub. Therefore this review is of the rooms above the pub, not the ones out the back, which on face value did look a bit nicer.

The room we were allocated was a nice size but the carpet and furniture looked like something from a bric-a-brac sale covered in scratches and stains. It had obviously been well used since the early 80s. There was no handle to the bathroom at all, only a gaping hole covered in used chewing gum! Like the main room the bathroom was very basic and old.

Because of these issues we requested another room which the helpful staff member sorted out for us. However the new room (directly opposite the first) looked unclean and had very questionable stains on all the bedding. We were advised there was one other room but this was directly above the late night disco they were to have that evening (no mention of this was made prior!).

We told the staff member on duty that we could not stay there in a dirty room, and to their credit she was very polite and apologetic and refunded the money immediately without any questions. We were able to get a room just up the road at the Crown and Cushion which for about the same price, was a lot nicer.

Overall, I cannot recommend this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike12_f1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv M, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
As a result of this review we have now refurbished 5 of the older rooms to date. We have also introduced a policy of warning potetial guests that at weekends the Kings Arms is a very busy town centre pub, not a quite country hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is by no means a five star hotel, however, great rooms and a very accommodating staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had a terrible experience at the Crown and Cushion and came here, by chance instead - the staff were pleasant and welcoming, we had the lovely split-level room with the spiral staircase which was charming and really quite reasonable.

Breakfast was good, and, again reasonable - all just good old-fashioned value in a traditional pub/hotel and the staff were really pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv M, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank-you very much from myself and my staff for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Eighteen years to the day after our first ever date we thought we'd go and celebrate with a day and night of walking, eating and drinking in the country. Last minute booking and with a wedding in town this place was the only one with rooms left. Reading the reviews it looked like the pits but I made sure we weren't above the disco. We were given Room 14 which could be stunning and charging double with a refurb. Its the bedroom shown on the arkells website for this place. Lots of beams. Its got seating area, tv and twin beds and you go up the spiral staircase to your double bed and tv. It was prefectly fine for the price but just all a bit dusty and in need of some loving attention from a good hoover to the refurb of course! The pub itself is lovely, there is a pool table and a pub quiz machine that kept us entertained until dinner time. We didn't eat here as we did a tour of chippy pubs snacking in lots of them! I enjoyed my breakfast. There is parking for about 5 cars in a small yard at the back that gets locked at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersRobem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.2 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
688 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
205 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
389 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 18 West Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms has been a popular pub since the 17th century, due to its ideal location, friendly service, good food, well kept ales and high quality accommodation. Currently offering 12 well appointed rooms, all of which are en-suite and can be easily made into twin or double accommodation, the Kings is also ideal for families, with 2 larger sized family rooms available. Centrally located, the Kings is perfectly placed for shoppers looking to take a break from Chipping Norton's busy high street, or for those planning a drink and a bite to eat before an evening at the nearby theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing