We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly 'up market', but the food can be great value for money”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Chipping Norton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This pub is quite large, but quite shabby. The staff vary in helpfulness. The meals for £5 are great value and you simply cannot complain for the price. I am told by male friends that the beer is not kept well (but cannot comment on this myself as I drink wine!). Not the best place to go, but if you are on a budget it may well suit you.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

what a great welcoming all the staff so very nice and friendly, very helpfully meet some love locals in the bar and they made us feel at home.. the rooms were out of this world, we booked room 5 for my father in low and my sister in low what a lovely twin room this was very big lovely beds and lovely clean bathroom. my boyfriend and i stayed in room 14 when we were shown our room we were taken back the size was unreal so much space and a lovely stair case to the big double bed that was on the next floor up, we only stayed one night and we were so upset that we were leaving we so cant wait to go back. we have told all our friends about it and they are going to book a long weekend, we cant wait to go back this time for a long weekend...great place

Room Tip: we booked rooms 5 and 14 got to say these rooms are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

It was my first visit to Chipping Norton on my Mum's birthday and first impressions of the town were good. We decided to stop for lunch at the Kings Arms. We had a drink outside in the sunshine and checked the menu which was mostly pub grub style and prices seemed reasonable. However we didn't get as far as eating after a fairly poor interaction with one of the pub staff. I noticed there wasn't a vegetarian option on the menu. So my husband went inside to ask if there was anything vegetarian or maybe a specials board. The lady he spoke to asked quite curtly 'Have you checked the menu?' and when he replied 'Yes' she said equally curtly 'Well there's nothing vegetarian then is there?'.

Needless to say if you're ever walking past the Kings Arms...keep walking!! We went to the Blue Boar 2 minutes walk away and they couldn't do enough for us!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The Kings Arms Hotel has simply got the best food around, the Steak n Chips meal for £5 is outstanding, big steak, plenty of chips, peas, tomato and onion rings for a fiver, I don't know how they can do it!

I've stayed many times and developed a taste for the Arkells Wiltshire Gold, the first drink is marvellous after a few months away from Chippy, it's a beautiful pint.

Never stayed over a weekend, but I know the Kings is a very popular town centre pub, the rooms are perfect, clean with plenty of towels, clean bedding, soap, coffee, sugar etc.

The staff are very friendly and the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we stayed at the weekend- the room was very nice- very clean and the people were friendly- come night time though we were in the "family room" which is located right above the where the DJ is and there was a disco- it was so loud the floor was vibrating and there was little need for us to be in the bar seen as we seemed to have an unwanted disco happening in our room anyway we had to put the TV onto the maximum volume and sit right next to it in order to hear it!- and you will be surprised to know that going into the back garden downstairs was a hell of a lot quieter than being in our own room!- this went on until about 1:15 in the morning- in the week i would recommend staying, but weekends would be a no no unless you like loud music

Room Tip: rooms 6-9 will probably be the loudest- everything else is on the other side and so not as loud- the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv M, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

As a general rule we do not let the rooms above the main bar, at weekends, as we do understand that there is a noise issue! We did let this room on this occasion how-ever to another hotel in the town which had double booked, they where told that this room was above a disco which goes on until 1am, this apparently was fine, but it seems not!
We, as a hotel do warn weekend guests that The Kings Arms is primarly a pub, hence there can be noise generated until the early hours of the morning, but as the review suggests the rooms not above the bar are quite, and to aid this, after 11pm when we stop the public using the smoking area to the rear of the pub.
We have also installed triple glazing through-out the bar, to keep the noise levels out-side to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hotel was booked for overnight stay as we were attending a wedding near Chippy, The hotel/pub is right in the centre of the town, got my car parked on-site, checking was OK, in bar of pub, room was clean & tidy, loads of tea/coffee in room (much better than some of the bigger chains), room would have been a bit cramped for a longish stay but was OK for our stay. Only downside was checkout was at 10.00 am, not too good after you've had a good time at a wedding, another couple of hours to sleep it off would have been better for me, but as my Mum always said 'No sympathy as it was self inflicted'. Overall the hotel was very good, and we would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordYokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked a double & a single room for the night of 13th August 2011 thro' Travel Republic. There was a very loud party,talking very loudly outside our room. We dressed at 1.00a.m. & complained to Alice the manageress who said we would get a full refund we are still waiting!

Room Tip: Don't book a ground floor room if they have a party booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv M, Manager at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Unfortunately i was on holiday during this booking, the refund was made as soon as i returned.
As a result of this complaint i did look into what we could do to minimise the noise to the rear of the pub and we now do not let the public out the back after 11pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.2 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
226 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.4 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
449 reviews
9.1 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 18 West Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms has been a popular pub since the 17th century, due to its ideal location, friendly service, good food, well kept ales and high quality accommodation. Currently offering 12 well appointed rooms, all of which are en-suite and can be easily made into twin or double accommodation, the Kings is also ideal for families, with 2 larger sized family rooms available. Centrally located, the Kings is perfectly placed for shoppers looking to take a break from Chipping Norton's busy high street, or for those planning a drink and a bite to eat before an evening at the nearby theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing