We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money and a great breakfast too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value for money and a great breakfast too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My partner and i stayed for the weekend at The Fox after reading the reviews and seeing the photos i requested room 6 nothing was too much bother for the fantastic couple who run the Fox ,on arrival we were allowed to check in early and were given info on the little town that has everything you need. The room was clean, spacious and homely with a large bathroom and plenty of hot water whatever time you decide to shower!
The breakfast was plentyfull and delicious compliments to the chef, well worth a visit we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
19
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night at The Fox in Chipping Norton and found this hotel to be great value. There is a convenient car park at the rear of the property and the hotel is very centrally located.
We stayed in room number 6 which had a lovely exposed brick wall and was very nicely decorated with some nice furnishings. This room is at the back of the hotel so although there is not much of a view it is lovely and quiet. The only criticism I would have is that the shower was pretty low on pressure.
The staff were very helpful and a lovely full english breakfast was served in the morning.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a the rear of the hotel and so is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOURBRIDGE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a good place to stay in Chippy. Chiefly, it's a perfect location close to the shops and a great base for hiking and sight-seeing trips. Our room, No.2 (of 6) was at the front and maybe a tad noisy for light sleepers due to the hourly chime of the clock just outside and the noise of the revellers out on the town of a week-end. However, it was very pleasantly decorated and comfortably roomy. The breakfasts are taken in a separate room to the main pub and are excellent with a good choice for those of us who like the "Full English".They are nice and hot and freshly-cooked to order. (Cereals and yoghurts were also available). We only had lunch there once and this was adequate pub fayre but a big bonus for us was the Hook Norton ales on tap - fabulous! The staff were all friendly and very obliging - so no complaints here. We would stay there again. The car park isn't immediately obvious - you have to drive up the street next to the pub and go into it from there. It's a good size though a bit of a walk through 2 gates and down steps back to the pub back entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBHOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Given a warm welcome by the owners and given our room despite being early. Plenty of free parking at the back of the hotel. 

We were given Room 2 which is at the front. It was very nice, clean and well decorated. As an old character building it has single glazed windows so at night you can hear outside noise including the town clock chimes. It is in a central location so you would expect it. 

Great location in the town so everything is only a short walk away including numerous pubs and places to eat (whistlers is a must for dinner). 

The pub was a nice place to have a drink and never appeared to be overcrowded, we always managed to get a seat. 

Breakfast was very good with a wide choice, 'if they've got it you can have it. '

Very good value for £70.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Only stayed one night but good value. Large Family Room well presented very comfortable however bathroom was small especially for a family room.
Great location on town square great for exploring the town, car park available at the back.

Room Tip: Family room is large at the front of the building with views over the town square. Bathroom small th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Centrally located in the main town square, but still with ample parking accessible round the back, the Fox Hotel offers everything you could want for a country pub hotel. Room 6 is a very nice room, nicely refurbished and well appointed. Spacious bathroom with all the amenities. Very old building with sloping floors, full of character. The owners are very hospitable, giving you a key to the front door of the pub if you come back late. The breakfast was very good, and you were offered whatever you wanted, cooked to order. Was a very nice fry-up included in the price. All in all, no problems at all here. Word of advise if you are staying here to go to a wedding, make sure you book your taxis well in advance as we found out there are not many taxi companies and you will not find one on the night!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 is the one with the exposed brick wall shown on the pictures. Situated at the rear of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms24sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
308 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stood 5 nights at The Fox in Chipping Norton, we thought it would be a strategic place to stay while sightseeing the amazing region and it did not let us down. The 16th century construction is gorgeous. We were given the choice between two rooms, both very comfortable, and we chose the one in the picture above, very silent. The other was green, beautiful and with a view but there was roadwork in progress so we chose the red one (room six). We had a complete bathroom with a tub, and amenities. The owners (Lou and John) couldn't be nicer, they went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time, they gave us accurate advise about transportation, restaurants in the area, attractions in the region, opening times, etc, so kind!
Great breakfast, made to your taste and preferences. And they offer lunch as well, which I can say was excellent, their cook is really something. Pity they don't offer dinner. The pub is lovely, with a variety of beers and the locals are all very nice and chatty.
We'd love to go back and if we can make it, The Fox is our home in the Cotswolds region.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing