We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, dull, no thanks!”
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Don't let the photos on the website fool you. The exterior looks OK, the bar is fairly sleazy, the stairs and hallway leading to the bedrooms were beyond belief........ Bare, grubby carpet, dull shabby decor and a musty smell. Awful! Once in the room, it was at least clean and the bed was comfortable but I had no desire to spend any time in this place, other than what was absolutely necessary - I wonder who would have written favourable reviews at all?! It needs some serious work!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just stayed Friday and Saturday night at the Fox booked via KGB.
Stayed in Room 5 - fab decor, soft furnishings, comfy bed, spotlessly clean and good shower.
Breakfast was lovely, very helpful waitress too! Only thing I would say is to change the coffee supplier...
Lovely village, locals in all pubs were very friendly and would recommend a visit to the Blue Boar. Food and wines excellent.
Already booked to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ssb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

stayed 2 nights sat and sun .rooms good hosts great location good suday lunch v good only problem room 2 had a blind not a curtain so light came in during the night may just be me it would bother swopped with the couple we were with, rooms not partners,room 6 was fine

Room Tip: room 2 not for light sleepers because of the blind issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 007gaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

we stayed one night and were very impressed with the room (number 5) the decor was very fresh and stylish, the bed comfortable and an ensuite shower room. nice towels and shower gel etc. supplied

We had a warm welcome and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had pre dinner drinks in the bar and the fire made it cosy.

Very conveniently situated in a quiet corner of the town centre the only thing we heard during the night was the town clock as it struck the hours. It wasn't loud enough to wake us up but audible if you woke up for another reason

Parking was good at the rear of the hotel and easily found from the hotel website description

The full english breakfast was ok but I wouldn't rate it as excellent. The pot of coffee wasn't to our taste. we asked for another pot and it still tasted the same so gave up. The people that chose tea had no complaints though so I suggest you choose that

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've been stopping here every two or three weeks since May 2012 and every stop has been a pleasure.
Rooms 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 are all really clean with comfortable beds and decent bathrooms. Only reason I can't comment on Room 1 is because it's the only room I haven't stayed in yet!
The staff are all very friendly and the Hook Norton beer is well kept. I leave before breakfast so can't comment on that.
There's a good choice of pubs and restaurants within a few yards of The Fox (they don't do food in the evening).
Large car park at the rear of the pub or you can park in the town car parks directly opposite - they're all free of charge

Room Tip: Room 6 very quiet. Room 5 looks out over the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Such a helpful team, good food and a breakfast that was enormous freely cooked and delicious.

Nice room, good size with an adequate en suite shower room.

Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Having stayed in a variety of pubs in the Cotswolds, I can say that this was absolutely the BEST breakfast! It was freshly cooked and huge. I would love to see the pub renovated as it has a lot of lovely original features (stone fireplace etc) that could be accentuated, but the staff were so very welcoming and friendly, I would definitely stay there again. Very comfortable bed, too.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and very quiet. The town hall clock chimes every 30 minutes, so light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YayaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
724 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,024 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £93 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing