We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at the Fox Hotel chipping norton. It is a pub with rooms. The rooms were well decorated but had very small shower rooms. The bar is unpretentious with log fire and very friendly staff and locals. We were here on a deal and found it excellent value. It's a pity they don't serve food in the evening but lots of choice in town,

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be a little noisy but not too much of a problem and interesting with view over Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    67
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
108
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
inverclyde, scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Don't let the photos on the website fool you. The exterior looks OK, the bar is fairly sleazy, the stairs and hallway leading to the bedrooms were beyond belief........ Bare, grubby carpet, dull shabby decor and a musty smell. Awful! Once in the room, it was at least clean and the bed was comfortable but I had no desire to spend any time in this place, other than what was absolutely necessary - I wonder who would have written favourable reviews at all?! It needs some serious work!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just stayed Friday and Saturday night at the Fox booked via KGB.
Stayed in Room 5 - fab decor, soft furnishings, comfy bed, spotlessly clean and good shower.
Breakfast was lovely, very helpful waitress too! Only thing I would say is to change the coffee supplier...
Lovely village, locals in all pubs were very friendly and would recommend a visit to the Blue Boar. Food and wines excellent.
Already booked to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

stayed 2 nights sat and sun .rooms good hosts great location good suday lunch v good only problem room 2 had a blind not a curtain so light came in during the night may just be me it would bother swopped with the couple we were with, rooms not partners,room 6 was fine

Room Tip: room 2 not for light sleepers because of the blind issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007gaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

we stayed one night and were very impressed with the room (number 5) the decor was very fresh and stylish, the bed comfortable and an ensuite shower room. nice towels and shower gel etc. supplied

We had a warm welcome and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had pre dinner drinks in the bar and the fire made it cosy.

Very conveniently situated in a quiet corner of the town centre the only thing we heard during the night was the town clock as it struck the hours. It wasn't loud enough to wake us up but audible if you woke up for another reason

Parking was good at the rear of the hotel and easily found from the hotel website description

The full english breakfast was ok but I wouldn't rate it as excellent. The pot of coffee wasn't to our taste. we asked for another pot and it still tasted the same so gave up. The people that chose tea had no complaints though so I suggest you choose that

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've been stopping here every two or three weeks since May 2012 and every stop has been a pleasure.
Rooms 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 are all really clean with comfortable beds and decent bathrooms. Only reason I can't comment on Room 1 is because it's the only room I haven't stayed in yet!
The staff are all very friendly and the Hook Norton beer is well kept. I leave before breakfast so can't comment on that.
There's a good choice of pubs and restaurants within a few yards of The Fox (they don't do food in the evening).
Large car park at the rear of the pub or you can park in the town car parks directly opposite - they're all free of charge

Room Tip: Room 6 very quiet. Room 5 looks out over the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E. Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Such a helpful team, good food and a breakfast that was enormous freely cooked and delicious.

Nice room, good size with an adequate en suite shower room.

Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing