We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but in need of refurbishment and some atmosphere”
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location but in need of refurbishment and some atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Have just stayed for 2 nights at the Fox Hotel on a KGB deal and first impressions were not good, scruffy outside and dated interior with no atmoshere. Was really surprised to be told that they do not do food at night as I would have thought the whole idea of doing these sort of deals was to benefit from extra trade, but the locals in the bar were very helpful in telling us places to eat. We were showed to our room (No 5) and on initial first impressions it had stylish decor but on closer inspection it looks like the refurbishments hadnt included the scruffy and frayed carpet which was also replicated in the corridors with large rips in some areas. The bathroom was clean but window sills could have done with a good clean. Breakfast was in a really dated room but was good quality and cooked fresh to order - staff were all really friendly and helpful. We were directed to the car park at the back which led to a patio/garden area at the back which was the same as the interior of the hotel, scruffy and atmosphereless and this was our approach into the hotel which smelt of stale chip fat. On visiting other pubs and bars in the town this was by far the worst all the others had atmosphere and were warm and inviting. General overall impression was I was disappointed and this place really needs an overhaul to bring it up to date and be given some TLC to give it atmosphere. As our trip was given as a gift I am glad I wasnt paying for it but we did enjoy touring the Cotswolds and trying out the pubs and restaurants in Chipping Norton which I have to say were excellent in terms of service and quality of food.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel as the clock chimes every hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MABDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
110
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Had room 2 which was a nice room but a lot of street noise from outside and the church bell rings every hour so not the best sleep. Shower was very weak also. Breakfast staff member had BNP tattoos on her arms which I felt was totally inappropriate and made us uncomfortable and the general atmosphere in the bar area at night is tense to say the least. Full of odd ball locals. Yes, it's an old inn but the bar is stuck in the 70s and needs a serious make over. There's plenty of better bars 2 minutes walk away. However, it's in a great location right in the middle of town and the breakfast was good but over fried. Everything must have been chucked in the deep fat fryer. We'd stay again just for its location but they need to sort the rest of the place, staff out and the price. Not worth the money in my book. It wouldn't be open if it wasn't for where it was, end of!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were given a 2 night K.G.B. voucher to stay at The Fox. We were not expecting a 5 star hotel but we're still a little disappointed in the booking in process - we had to ask the bar staff as there was no obvious reception. When we were shown to our room we were pleasantly surprised to find a very nicely decorated room which was very clean as was the bathroom (we had room 6) - a quiet Room at the back. The breakfast Room was a little dated but clean, warm and inviting. the breakfast was freshly prepared to order and was excellent. the staff were, without exception, pleasant and helpful. The bar/lounge area was clean but is in need of a little T.L.C. overall we had a great time and feel that this break was excellent value. We spoke to others who were also staying on K.G.B breaks and they were of the same opinion as ourselves and having a good time. A very good location in the town and for visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel entrance was homely but worn. However, the bedroom was lovely and clean with tasteful decor. We were not disturbed by any noise. The cooked breakfast was very filling.The car park and location was convenient and it is a pleasant little town to visit with a gorgeous church and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrynrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Last time I reviewed The Fox I hadn't stayed in Room 1. I've got the "full house" now as I stayed in Room 1 last night! Happy to report that it is very good! It's a large room with shower room ensuite. Shower room is small but who cares?! This room is on the side of the hotel which is fine and it's at the far end of the corridor so the quietest room as no one passes it.
Had lunch there yesterday and today and both meals were great, freshly cooked to order and very good value.
As ever the team were all very friendly - better than the other hotel in town, which I only ever stay at when I can't get in to The Fox.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POULTON-LE FYLDE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Visited for three days in order to visit Oxford and the Cotswolds. My first impression of the hotel was unfavourable because the entrance was scruffy. However, the bedroom was lovely and clean with tasteful decor. We were not disturbed by noise from the pub below.
The cooked breakfast of scrambled egg was the best i've ever tasted. The cook, Debbie, was always charming and remembered from one day to the next what we had ordered.
We were delighted with the parking arrangements round the back of the hotel. This hotel is in a brilliant location to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed bank holiday weekend with friends on a KGB voucher,and it was very good value.
Firstly this is a very old quirky coaching inn ideally situated in the town.
First impressions of the bar area was a bit scruffy and without being snooty the clientele did leave a bit to be desired , BUT this is in stark contrast to the many other very lovely bars / pubs in the town.The garden/outside area also was poor compared to others avaialbe in town.Good idea would be to get rid of the old delapidated garden furniture and spruce the area up .
Very small details like black mould in the shower tiles, black mould and cobwebs around the window frames, the shower pressure was poor and was either freezing cold or boiling hot. The dining room has quite dim lights and the windows were quirte dirty.
With some bigger light bulbs and a good scrub this could make a huge difference!
That said we had rooms 3 and 6 at the back of the hotel and were both very clean. comfy and quiet. Lovely white towels changed daily. Small details like cleaning the carpet again would help.
The breakfast on both days were piping hot and in fact has the be probably the best cooked full english we have ever eaten. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful.
This was great value for our voucher, but a good scrub, fresh flowers, a few hanging baskets and spruce up the bar area would make this a good rather than an average.
The Fox needs a little TLC !

Room Tip: Room 3 ( walk in shower) Room 6 (shower over bath) both at the rear and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing