We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location friendly people”
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed on a KGB B&B 2 night package
This is a period property above a pub so don't expect a butler, but if you want an excellent B&B with a great breakfast and good clean room come here.
The bus stop across the road takes you into the centre of Oxford without the parking hassle.
Tat will fill you in on local knowledge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMcCutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent one night in Chipping Norton and were happy that the location of the Fox Hotel is right on the main square. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was very nice and quiet. Very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and filling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here at the start of July 2013 for 2 nights. The good points is that there is lots of parking and the staff are really friendly and helpful BUT the room was filthy and I felt I had to take a picture as soon as we went in the room it was that bad! If we hadn’t travelled over 150 miles I would not have stayed.

As soon as you go upstairs to the rooms you get an overwhelming smell of fat coming from the kitchens. Not the nicest thing to smell when you walk in. The carpets on the stairs are threadbare and torn in places and it wasn’t any better in the bedroom. The bedroom carpets are long overdue a steam clean and there was a huge stain on the bed valance. It was the first thing I noticed so rooms cannot be cleaned very well (see pictures).

Generally everything could have done with replacing and decorating and this is one place we will not be staying at ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilmskittycute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here mid June along with another couple on KGB deal, which was fantastic value for bed and breakfast, good clean rooms small but adequate bathroom, free WiFi.
All staff were very friendly and provided lots of good local info, we enjoyed the local Hookey beer and breakfast was excellent.Chipping Norton itself is a good location to visit with plenty of places to eat.
We also visited Blenheim Palace and spent a day in Oxford travelling by bus as recommended by Fox staff, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Visited using a 3 night KGB deal. The pub is well situated in the middle of the village close to shops, other pubs, restaurants and supermarket, and has ample parking. We were greeted on arrival by a very helpful lady who was working behind the bar. She booked us in and showed us up to our first floor room which was very spacious, had a good sized comfortable bed and a size-able en suite bathroom, and has tea and coffee making facilities. The pub does not serve evening meals so we were advised that the Kings Head around the corner did and the meals are reasonably priced.A good tip as the other pubs and restaurants in the village are a bit pricey. English breakfast was a substantial plateful that set you up for the day. They liked you to say in advance the time you were likely to want breakfast as the lady who cooks it also takes your orders, clears the tables and serves it along with the drinks and toast. If you breakfast at the same time as others then there can be a bit of a delay. The pub itself serves Hook Norton cask ales and has the usual mix of pub characters. The barmaid who greeted us originally was very helpful in suggesting how best to get into Oxford and other places worth visiting. Thanks very much to her. On the whole we enjoyed our visit to the Fox as a bargain break but if you are picky you will see that a lick of paint on skirting boards and walls would not go amiss and maybe it might have been nice if a vacuum cleaner had been run over the bedroom carpets during our stay. Oh and finally the town clock is just outside the pub windows and chimes on the hour and every half hour all through the night and day. If you are a light sleeper it may disturb you but we found that a few pints before going to bed sorted that problem out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niloc520831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night KGB deal stay at this hotel. We stayed in room number 4 at the front of the hotel. It was noisy at times outside but this didn't disturb our sleep or spoil our stay. Our room was lovely with plenty of storage space. The shower room was spacious and bright. Breakfast was cooked to order, I had a deliciously filling bacon butty! Special mention and thanks to the friendly kitchen staff. It's a shame the hotel doesn't do evening meals.
The hotel was in an ideal location, many places of beauty were within a short driving distance. I've given the ratings based on the fact it was a KGB deal and great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here 4th to the 8th while we were at the Cornbury Festival, A pub full of helpful friendly staff, And a breakfast which was the best cooked to order and hot and very filling, service was very good nothing was a problem, Room was at the back which was lovely and quite. Value for money good location,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
719 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,992 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,879 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £93 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing