We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights in Chipping Norton.”
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“2 Nights in Chipping Norton.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Fox Hotel in Chipping Norton on a KGB deal and at £65 it was very good value. We stayed in room 5 which was large clean and comfortable, the only thing missing was a chair, the bathroom is very small but quite adequate with a shower instead of a bath. Unfortunately they don't do evening meals but they do sell Old Hookey beer, there are other pubs with meals from £5 and special offers, the Chequers down the town does special nights and also keeps Fullers ESB and HSB. We visited Belnheim Palace on day 2, just a short car journey away.
We found all staff very inviting and no menu at breakfast wasn't a problem. We also met the pub cat, a beautiful animal which the Landlord rescued in Spain and brought back. There is also ample parking in the Pub car park, but ask for directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
110
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, it is a lovely little hotel. Parking is impossible to find at first but just ask the staff and they are more than helpful. All the staff are friendly.
Breakfast is lovely, I do agree with the other reviews in saying there could be a menu but none the less the full english is yummy and the waitress is very friendly.
Our room was number 5, was much bigger than expected, the room was clean and very nicely decorated. The bathroom could do with an update.
The hotel is very central so great to walk around Chipping Norton. We went to two other villages called Chipping Campden (our favourite) and Burford which is a 10 minute drive with lovely pubs. We ate in The Mermaid pub, would highly recommend the food is gorgeous!
Overall I have recommended to family as i think its great value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on a KGB deal. The good points are the friendly staff and the central location. The bad points are unfortunately many. Ths place really needs money spending on it, grubby threadbare carpets, scuffed and dirty walls etc. the bedroom, No 6 had clean linen but the lamps, mirror etc were dusty, the carpet was dreadfully grubby and worn, the underneath of the bath plug was disgusting. How it s No 1 out if 7 hotels in Chipping Norton beats me. What on earth are the others like. The bedroom wasn't vacuumed the 3 days we were there and towels not changed, even though I only left one towel in the bath to be changed, it was still where I had left it on our return.Wouldnt stay again or recommend. The breakfast was OK but the waitresses clearly hadn't any training as we were asked what we wanted without being given a menu so we had to say, well what is there? Full Englsh came reply with no explanation as to what it consisted of.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Fox on a KGB deals package and for 2 nights B&B at £65 it is good value and well worth the money. Plus points are location, recently decorated room, friendly bar staff and hearty breakfast. Negative points are no welcome/explanation of how it works or menu at breakfast (fairly obvious to work out I know but a friendly smile and few words/couple of signs is not a lot to ask and we weren't the only couple looking a bit puzzled in the morning). We found we were staying during the mop fair which was ok as the light traffic gets diverted past the pub and the noise of the fair setting up meant a sleepless first night but the fair shuts down before bedtime. However, we were slightly dissapointed as when we booked in April we originally wanted a week earlier but were told that was the fair week so we deferred by a week to avoid it. And no, the fair did not change its dates. The bedroom was cleaned Ok after the first night though there was no sign that the bathroom had been touched.
Overall, a decent enough place, good value with KGB but let down by lack of attention to detail.

Room Tip: At the back - especially in mop fair week
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights so that we could attend The Big Feastival which is held at a farm
about 5 miles away. The Fox is located right on the market square and is in easy walking distance of all of Chipping Norton’s pubs and restaurants.

We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room which was a good size and tastefully
decorated with a decent size ensuite shower. The toilet handle was a little temperamental but it still worked. The mattress had seen better days and was a bit slopey and the window blinds were not dark enough to block any light which was a shame (although made sure we didn’t stay in bed too long!)

Breakfast was great – generous, good quality helpings – and the waitress was a bubbly, friendly and genuinely customer focused person who made everyone feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooking_with_Capers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed at the FOX for three nights recently.
The overiding impression is of the very friendly staff team, always smiling, offering a greeting and just being generally nice!
We ate lunch on the first day and it was lovely, tasty and very generous portions. The same could be said for the breakfasts- mammoth portions. In fact on Day 2 we had to ask for much smaller portions. Everything was cooked very well.
The bedroom was lovely , comfotable bed and spacious bathroom. Although it looked out on the square we weren't disturbed by noise.
The location of the hotel is very central - couldn't be handier for the village centre. However we weren't induced to stay around during the day because of the major roadworks which had just started before we arrived and were due to run for most of August ! Good call Oxford County Council - that's the way to dispel the disillusionment of local voters and attract tourists !!
The local business holders have every right to be very angry at the "plonker" who decided, "let's rip up the centre of Chipping Norton at the peak of the holiday period!". I have no doubt that Chipping Norton is a lovely place to wander round for a day but we decided to spend our days elsewhere.
Well done Fox Hotel and all the other local residents who battled on through this.
We would certainly go back again to the Fox Hotel and have no problem in recommending ti to others.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are probably quieter but we weren't bothered in Room 4 at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

An old town centre Inn with its own car park and good bedrooms with en-suite services. A bit frayed round the edges but overall clean and tidy. Chiming of the Town Hall clock is not at all intrusive - in fact it's rather nice and comforting to hear it if you are awake in the middle of the night. Considering its town centre location it is not at all noisy at night.
The kitchen and room staff are exceptional - so friendly and happy and the cooked breakfast is lovely - not a spot of fat! Bar staff are also great and the three real ales are up to standard!
Good restaurants and pubs are only a two minute walk from the Fox.
It's well worth giving the Fox a try.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a double and single room but with a small shower room. The view down the High Street is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HedgePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing