We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fox
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here after a relative brought us this trip for Xmas last year, was a little worried before going as had read some pretty poor reviews however my worries were completely unfounded. We arrived and was escorted to our room which had a rustic feel to it. The staff were lovely and friendly, the breakfast here was amazing, there was a selection of all the main aspects of a full English that they tailored to your wants, the only suggestion that I would made is the need for a menu to be provided to help you decide before the lady takes your order. Fantastic weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    67
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
106
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a two night kgb deal at The Fox Hotel The last pub deal we did was so bad we gave up after the first night - but not this one! Smashing location in the centre of Chipping Norton with plenty of good pubs and restaurants within a short walk. The staff were great, particularly the breakfast ladies and the breakfasts were spot on. The room (Number 5) was large, clean, warm, with a comfy bed and had all you needed. OK, the town clock does chime on the hour throughout the night, but I doubt it actually woke us. Anyway, all in all a very good break and may we wish the Landlord and Landlady best wishes in their new venture in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a lovely weekend break with good friends, A Kgb deal what good value!!! Had a fantastic time, Rooms basic but very clean, Very central for very good food (Chequers) lovely places to visit - a big thank you to the breakfast staff - you can ask for anything - all homemade , freshly cooked , quality goods, Thank you The Fox Hotel

Room Tip: Spot on, no issues for £69 for 2 4 2 nights, would have paid more, some people want 5* value for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freniacoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Bought a KGB deal, 2 nights with full breakfast.The building is very old and typically Cotswolds,wonky floors and ceilings etc. The pub downstairs is a bit 'rustic' shall we say.Could be fabulous and Im sure with time it will have a re-furb. Some of the rooms are modernised and ours was very sweet, immaculate, cosy with a bathroom that was a bit dated but perfectly clean and functional, cant complain when taking into account what we paid. (69.00). the bed was very comfy and perfectly warm, tea and coffee, hairdryer etc.Its a great place as a base and we visited Burton On The water and Stow On The Wold. The other great advantage is the Hotel/B&B is right in the town centre so both evenings we were able to walk out and enjoy dinner very close by. The Landlord John was very helpful and the staff all friendly, the full English was plentiful and cooked to order, all in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: It may be a good idea to ask for a newly re-furbished room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonycadno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just had two days here on a KGB deal. Great deal at two nights for 2 at £69 with a full English thrown in. Having read some of the reviews I set off with some trepidation. I needn't have worried though. As usual the worst reviews came from those from a different planet from the rest of us Earthlings. You get a hotel in the centre of Chipping Norton with a welcoming host and very cheerful and friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable and warm with en-suite that was fine. The breakfasts were cereal and orange juice followed by a full English in any combination of same cooked freshly to order. None of the big chain breakfast dried up and shrivelled nonsense here. Loads of toast and preserves filled any spaces left.The bar area was small and comfortable and served a variety of local ales as well as the usual lagers. It isn't the Ritz for sure but it's a damn fine base for a Cotswold stay and as such I recommend it, especially with a KGB bargain deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roubiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked three nights B&B through KGB deals at a bargain price. We arranged to go in April but unfortunately I had flu and had to cancel. I was very pleasantly surprised that the landlord said we could rearrange and go later on when I had recovered. I am sure the terms and conditions of the KGB deals don't allow for that ! The accommodation was over the pub . There is a car park to the rear but the entrance is concealed . You need to look on the side of the building at the entrance which says FOX Hotel car park. There is also a beer garden which you have to walk through which has wooden decking. Take care if it is wet ! I felt the approach to the rooms was a bit unwelcoming. The carpet was very tired and threadbare in places and there was a mixture of steps up and down and tight turns through doors with very strong springs. But once inside our room everything was very different. The decor was very nice. There was old a window seat with a selection of coordinated cushions. The lighting in the room was good. The bed was 6' and comfortable. The shower room was a good size and there was plenty of hot water, liquid soap shampoo and tissues provided.
Breakfast was individually cooked with a choice of fried food and a limited choice of cereals and yogurt but no fruit. You had to book a time for breakfast the previous night but it was served from 8 till 10. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We are members of the NT and took advantage of this visiting Chastleton House and Upton Hall, two very contrasting but equally interesting properties. We also visited Bourton on the Water, Banbury and Broadway and toured around the area which is purely delightful.
Well worth a visit especially if you get another KGB deal as we did.

Room Tip: All rooms are over the bar and at the front overlooking the town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandvLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned following a weekend stay. We stayed on a KGB offer so for us everything was really good. Yes there are some communal/stairs areas which need some decorating and carpet replacing, but if that's all you have to complain about maybe you need to get a life. We had a brilliant stay six of us in total all adults. The location was good, close enough to visit Oxford. The service was really good the only time we had to wait was at breakfast time. There was only one staff member taking orders and serving so we had to wait a while but that is our only criticism. When the breakfast arrived it was one of the best we had eaten in any hotel, plentiful, lots of tea and toast so all in all worth the wait. Some people pay little for a two night says ie KGB or Groupon but expect 5 star service. This hotel is good and we would return again. Thank you to all. Maggie, Gareth, Val, Terry, John and June.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethmagg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
955 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,368 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing