We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonably priced”
Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the area. When looking for somewhere to stay, we were really glad to find The Fox as it was only £70 for the room and we could stay for 1 night. Everywhere else we had looked at required a min 2 night stay at this time of year.

The pub itself was pretty average and did have that 'kitchen fat' smell about it. Fortunately this was undetectable in the rooms. Our room was lovely and had obviously been renovated quite recently. Towels, tea & coffe etc... all great. Bathroom was fine, new floor and a lick of paint, but the bathroom suite was obviously quite old. Still it was clean and all functioned well and we wouldn't have expected anything more for the money. The pillows were quite uncomfortable so if you're fussy I'd advise taking your own.

Breakfast was ok, I'd been expecting better given the previous reviews on here, and there was plenty of tea and coffee.

The land lord was very helpful and upon asking about what time we needed to check out he told us that noone was staying in our room the next night so just to take our time.

All in all a good place to stay and we'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

The Fox was very clean and tidy, the rooms were lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Very reasonably priced, would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASM9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

A friendly place to stay staff couldn't have been nicer, made to feel like a local in the bar. Exellent breakfast and the beer ain't half bad. Room clean, comfortable and quiet, we will be back. I can't understand the negative reviews we found everything positive

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

If you like proper pubs ,with, in our case, a tastefully furnished, comfortable en suite bedroom(70 pounds-room 2) and a properly home cooked full English breakfast ,served with a smile, then The Fox is worthy of consideration. There is a little traffic noise from the front bedrooms, but you are centrally located in this charming town. The Landlord was notably welcoming-we arrived much earlier than scheduled but this wasn't a problem

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyvernLancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We walked in off the street as our booked hotel was unsuitable. Nice welcome and bright airey room with en-suite. Basic room but very comfortable with flatscreen TV.Traditional english feel and cosy rooms above cosy bar. Excellent breakfast cooked to order rather than the usual buffet.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funboyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Having just read the negative reviews about this hotel I have to put my own comments on record. We have just had another lovely week-end at The Fox, it has started to become a habit! We have now visited this friendly pub, sorry, hotel several times and will not be looking to stay anywhere else in Chipping Norton. We are always welcomed on arrival as if we have been friends for years, the staff seem genuinely pleased to see us. Our room was again spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, nothing is too much bother to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is great! Breakfast is the kind that will see you through the day, but the choice is yours, just ask to vary the "FULL English" to suit your own taste and it is done, no hassle! and there is no rush to clear your table, so no indigestion! The meals that are available at lunchtime and in the evening are excellent, again served in a friendly manner and not only look good on the plate but taste as good and are great value. The whole experience has again been a pleasure and we are booked to visit again soon, to escape the hassle of our usually busy lives. Thank you everyone at the Fox.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForestOfDeanAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

In the current economic climate; when a group of friends and I discussed the notion of taking some time away from work, it seemed both appealing and appropriate to seize the opportunity of staying in England and taking in the beauty and heritage of the Cotswolds by means of some much needed and eagerly anticipated R&R! The Fox Hotel of Chipping Norton being both traditional yet modern catered to the tastes of all members of our party. Everything from its home cooked food to its rooms of accommodation are both reasonable and value for money, something that in the fore-mentioned economic climate is praise indeed. Both the Hotel and the town boast a laid back and tranquil atmosphere that is all to often forgotten and neglected in Ones modern and hectic lifestyle. With free Wi-fi (from which I write to you now) and staff ensuring you be their primary concern, every necessity and eventuality is both considered and humbly delivered. All I can say is “same time next year!”. We not only felt welcome here but at home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNeedabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
719 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,992 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,879 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: £93 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton
The Fox Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing