We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
116
76
52
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
76
52
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub roof terrace relaxation room patio doors afternoon tea cotswold hotel skewers deluxe room treatment rooms interesting holes hand wash half board really enjoyed our stay here wild thyme treatments booked pate large shower
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held a corporate golf day at this venue with some of our major customer attending. The venue was brilliant! I cannot stress how helpful everyone was, from the pro and the event team to the hotel staff. the evening meal was first class and the catering staff were on the ball. We were very very impressed and would recommend this venue to anyone. The course was in tip top condition and is absolutely perfect! We are hoping to return next year. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wesleytaylor1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Cotswolds Club Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear wesleytaylor1959

It was such a pleasure to supply your golf day sir & thank you for your kind feedback. I will be sure to pass these on to my team. When you are ready to talk about next year please contact me direct as I am sure it will be bigger and better with the addition of our apartments.

all the best
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They got everything wrong from start to finish. This was supposed to be a relaxing break for two couples for a birthday and potential future wedding venue. Spa treatment booked wasn't available, toilet in the bar was blocked with tissue and excrement all over the seat and down the front. We booked this direct with their own booking agent but on checking in they doubled the price even though we had a total price on the paperwork - manager very unhelpful, arrogant and clearly doesn't understand concept of customer is always right. We walked out and were left in the Cotswolds looking for alternative accommodation. It since transpired their booking agent had booked golf and spa for 4 but single occupancy on the two double rooms we booked??? Their mistake but we were blamed. Poor customer service, poor management and will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulN3704, General Manager at Cotswolds Club Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are most concerned to note these comments. We pride ourselves on our friendly , personal and efficient service and our warm welcome at reception.
We offer packages to suit individual budgets and taste and in this case the packages purchased represented outstanding value for money.
The package price per person was £159 , which was for a 1 night stay on a Saturday in a double or twin room, with dinner and breakfast, plus a spa treatment for each of the ladies and a round of golf for each of the men. The reservation details clearly stated that 2 rooms, each with 2 guests, were booked at the rate of £318 per room and there is no discrepancy , nor any question of us increasing the price.
You did after all experience the spa and the golf course and we are sorry that you chose not to stay with us and enjoy the accommodation and our restaurant.
With regard to you comment about our toilet, we do of course inspect regularly and clean our facilities to the highest standard and can only apologise for this unfortunate occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I can't comment about the hotel, as we only played golf here. However, our golfing experience was excellent.

Pro was welcoming and friendly on arrival, and gave us a few tips about the course. Had a quick coffee in the bar (which is hampered in its view by the marquee of the hotel), but the barman was very friendly and the coffee of a very high standard.

The course itself is not the most complicated, nor longest, but it was in excellent condition especially considering the summer that we've had. The greens were flat and true and a sensible pace, the tees pristine. The fairways had been long tined (fair enough) and were a bit spartan in places, but were perfectly playable.

The layout is fun, with some interesting par 3's, risk reward par 5's and some challenging par 4's. Perhaps not the most demanding course in the world, but attractive and tree-lined making it a suitable test of golf. The good thing is that they cut the rough under the trees, so you get all the penalty of having to play out sideways, but without the frustration of spending hours looking for balls.

I also have to commend the members for their pace of play. We followed a ladies' competition, which was played in three-balls, but they zipped around spending less than 1h 45m per side.

It may not have the prestige, nor the challenge, of some of the bigger courses in Oxfordshire, Warwickshire or Gloucestershire, but what it does have is a wonderful package of being well-maintained, welcoming and with some interesting and challenging holes, all for a very reasonable green fee.

We'd definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of booking a society day or just a fun round of golf in the Chipping Norton (and wider) area. We'd also be very happy to play it again.

Thoroughly enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DandEHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Cotswolds Club Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear DandEHants

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent trip . I must say your comments are bang on the money. I will of share your comments with our greenkeepers who work round the clock to keep the course looking in shape.

Maybe next time consider one of our stay and play packages which we believe is incredible value for money.


Again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

I booked a trip to the spa so I could spoil the wife with some spa treatments, but due to ill health we were not able to make the booking, Some time passed and we re-booked with the venue and the reception staff were so obliging and booked us a lovely room and a couple of treatments which were superb. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was super, the staff were so friendly and helpful we can only praise and say good things, thank you so much for making our stay wonderful, sure to come again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have a view over the golf course
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Cotswolds Club Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Tony D

I so pleased that we were able to accommodate you after your ill health & I will be sure to pass your comments to the team.as I know they take great pride when we receive such lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

18 of us attended our fourth golf society day out of the year at Cotswolds Golf Club. Whilst the fairways had clearly been quite badly affected by the very warm weather we have had over the summer, the greens were in brilliant condition. The course has always been a great challenge without being too penalising for the society golfer. I stayed overnight which was very comfortable and had a bar meal in the evening of fish & chips followed by ice cream which was of a very good standard and reasonably priced. We played 36 holes of golf on the day, with bacon baps & coffee on arrival followed by a selection of sandwiches with chips at lunchtime and then a lovely 3 course dinner in the evening consisting of pate, double beef burger with salad and chips and then chocolate praline dessert - all very tasty. The service was generally very good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidL408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, General Manager at Cotswolds Club Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear DavidL408

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback from your recent stay with us & yes i could not agree more with your comments on our course it has fared well considering the recent run of dry & hot weather.


I am sure Danny in the Pro Shop would love to help you out should you wish to return even this winter as the course is always open due to its fantastic drainage

thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews