We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Row Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Row Barge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

After parking up in the long term car park on Goodall Close and a 5 min walk, we received a warm welcome at the pub. Nice spacious room, with modern bed and bathroom and good facilities. Clean throughout. Soundproofing between rooms not great, but we were lucky with quiet neighbours. Stayed for a few drinks in the bar in the evening, and staff very friendly. Would recommend for good value stay in Henley.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChubbsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
64
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Good central location, nice traditional pub, but bedroom was pretty average. Nice large and comfy bed, good sheets etc but the room was far from clean and dingy curtains and patched up walls really let it down. Large en-suite, only shower was attachment on bath (not on wall) and again, unclean, especially loo. Lots of noise from other guests when they came in late and could hear their TV's on very early morning - not at all soundproof.

Friendly service and good breakfast however, and it didn't cost a fortune. Used to going to hotels, will pay more to do so in future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise499482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Once again Trip Advisor worked perfectly. In town on business but gained great pleasure through comfy room, delicious breakfast, nice quiet bar for a drink and great location.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Situated in a quite back street of Henley this is a traditional pub with four bedrooms, ideal for a one or two night stay in this quaint town. Rooms are clean and spacious but with low ceilings and steep narrow winding stair access, so not ideal if you are either very tall , not so mobile or have heavy luggage. Standard full English breakfast , limited evening menu (not tried) overall laid back and friendly service but efficient. No car park, we used public car parks in town 5 minute walk which are free from 6pm Saturday and all day Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We didn't really enjoy our stay at The Row Barge. Although the rooms were very nice the service we experienced was extremely poor and unprofessional.

£80.00 a lot of money I think. We arrived for breakfast in the morning, to be offered a full English "but we are veggies I explained, I had informed you of this". The guy just looked at us as if we were from a different planet. Basically we paid 80.00! for cold toast, small box of frosties and a glass of orange juice we had to share. My partner did fare a bit better he had egg and beans! Basically we didn't feel very welcome. Won't be going there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meerkat059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

A group of us stayed here for the weekend to cycle the Chiltern Challenge. The accommodation was pleasant. The rooms were spacious and the pub central to the town. The owner was very accommodating and staff friendly.

The pub itself is a charming local pub on a lovely street just off the centre of town. It was full of character with a little winding staircase up to the rooms. My first impression was that the room was absolutely lovely. However, upon visiting the bathroom, I found a pubic hair on the toilet seat, fluff and dust on the bathroom floor and the glass shower screen was not very clean at all. I found it quite difficult to sleep in my room as there was a lot of light coming from the landing, from an emergency light in the room and from the bathroom window. The beds, however, were very comfortable and had crisp, clean sheets so if light does not bother you, you will probably have a very comfortable night.

Some members of our group mentioned noise of guests leaving in the early hours of the morning but my room was at the back of the pub and I did not experience this.

All in all, the accommodation worked well for our weekend but a little more attention to detail, in my opinion, would make it worth the £85 per night for the large room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for one night after a surprise 30th wedding anniversary. The location is great - it's in a quiet road, right in the centre close to all the attractions. The rooms are lovely - very comfy mattresses and spotlessly clean. The rooms are surprisingly big too with a large en-suite and sofa - all in all very comfortable. We had a lovely big breakfast in the morning (so good we came back for lunch). Lovely couple who own it - local Henley residents doing their best to keep an beautiful old pub alive - and they couldn't have been more helpful. All in all, great value and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFMZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
780 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Row Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Row Barge Inn

Property: The Row Barge Inn
Address: 37 West Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Row Barge is one of Henley’s oldest coaching inns. Not far from the town centre, you can find us 100 yards from the Town Hall on West Street, just behind the fire station. In a quiet residential area yet only moments from the centre of town and the stunning walks along the Thames, this 16th Century traditional pub will satisfy those in search of a good drink, great home-cooked food and a warm and comforting welcome, for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Row Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Row Barge Hotel Henley-On-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing