We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday roast lunch in Henley”
Review of The Row Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Row Barge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Willunga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Sunday roast lunch in Henley”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This pub has the best Sunday roast in Henley. Not easy to find but well worth the effort . Just go up past the town hall on the rght hand side with river behind you. Great roasts - pork, beef and chicken with a great choice of vegetables. Need to book as locals claim it as their own. Love the place. Staff friendly and efficient. Try it. You will not be disappointed ! We are Australian and come here every year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lezlih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
62
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Catered for a large group of adults and children at very short notice. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent - all very obviously top quality ingredients and home made!! No children's menu - but all adults meals could be scaled down - even going so far as to halve their puddings so that the kids could share. We were staying elsewhere so can't comment on the accommodation - but really can not praise the food and service highly enough. Bar very friendly too - felt like more of a locals pub but we were made to feel very welcome (children included). Is located a little bit further off the beaten track than many other pubs but well worth the short walk. Some of our group even booked for the following night as well!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JLRobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

A beautiful historic local pub. Full of character and spotlessly clean. A warm friendly welcome and a proper show stopper breakfast !!!
Rooms are low beamed with tastefully added en - suite and freshly decorated. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon-barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our daughter was due to fly from Heathrow to Canada and we needed somewhere to the west of London to stay overnight prior to her flight the following day. We'd never been to Henley before but suspected it might be a nice place to spend an evening together before her departure and it was certainly handy for the airport.
Our plans immediately fell apart due to major problems on the motorway down from the north west and instead of arriving around 6pm we arrived at the Row Barge, tired, thirsty and hungry at 10.30pm! As we'd feared most places to eat were closing down but the owners of the Row Barge made us very welcome, quickly gave us a drink and immediately, without being asked, started to try and find us somewhere in town to eat. Fortunately they were successful and we were able to spend a very enjoyable couple of hours with our daughter and had a lovely meal at the Asiana Spice restaurant (the subject of a separate review).
We had a very brief glimpse of Henley at night and the following morning - it's a beautiful small town and we definitely intend to visit again.
We equally intend to stay at the Row Barge! It's a lovely old pub with lots of charm and very handy walking distance for the town and the Thames. There are just 4 rooms of which we occupied 2 - both were large and spotlessly clean with not a right angle to be found!! (sloping floors etc which just added to the charm!). A full english breakfast the following morning was enjoyed with gusto.
Can't recommend this place highly enough and look forward to the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this pub as a place to stay. It is situated within easy walking distance from the centre of Henley with all the amenities that this quaint English town has to offer. The accommodation is very clean and has a friendly atmosphere, and for any Americans who wish to stay I would recommend room number one as the bed is supersize !!

The locals are very chatty and friendly as are the staff, and the bar food and cooked breakfast are excellent.Another review complained about the breakfast, but the staff are so accommodating that I am sure that more options would have been catered for if they had had a friendly word with the chef.

I would definitely stay there again .. the pub is quite small and higgle de piggledy but this adds to its charm and can only be expected of such an ancient property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We called ahead but really gave no notice to our visit...about 5 minutes really...but were greeted warmly and had lots of help to unload and carry our luggage. Very spacious clean room and quaint bathroom..well equipped. All floors were sloping but that made it interesting and quirky and niot really unexpected since the pub itself was quite old and historic. Lovely home cooked breakfast in the morning. Friendly locals..A great place to stay!! Try it!You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the first room up a few stairs to the left...huge room and giant bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a lovely family run this pub. Very welcoming even though we arrived in the middle of a private wedding party - funnily the party guests weren't as welcoming! Never mind.
The room was spottlessly clean, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom also nice. Stairs up were a bit of a climb but it is a quaint old place.
Very well positioned - away from the main drag, just, so not too noisey.
Breakfast! It's worth the stay for the fry up. So if you like a full English, make the trip, even if you don't need to go to Henley.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreeFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
542 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Row Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Row Barge Inn

Property: The Row Barge Inn
Address: 37 West Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Row Barge is one of Henley’s oldest coaching inns. Not far from the town centre, you can find us 100 yards from the Town Hall on West Street, just behind the fire station. In a quiet residential area yet only moments from the centre of town and the stunning walks along the Thames, this 16th Century traditional pub will satisfy those in search of a good drink, great home-cooked food and a warm and comforting welcome, for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Row Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Row Barge Hotel Henley-On-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing