We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - we will be back!!!”
Review of The Row Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Row Barge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for one night last minute! The guys there were really helpful, fitting us in. The room was great with a really comfy bed and the breakfast was delicious - enough to fill you up all day! The staff were really knowledgeable about the local area and what is on throughout the year. We will definitely be back to this lovely pub and B&B with the wood burning fire going on cold nights!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephLL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed one night at the Row Barge whilst in Henley for a wedding. Our room was up some winding stairs at the top of the building and was very nice. En-suite was spacious and bed was comfy. The barman who welcomed us was very helpful and gave us good advice about where to park. In the morning, the breakfast was an excellent full-English and the staff were exceedingly friendly. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huuuuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

its ever so slightly off the beaten track, but the food is brilliant ; good home cooked bar meals (not fancy gastropub stuff) good portions and very tasty
service was good and the food was very good value for money . We will come back again !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanLovedSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This pub has the best Sunday roast in Henley. Not easy to find but well worth the effort . Just go up past the town hall on the rght hand side with river behind you. Great roasts - pork, beef and chicken with a great choice of vegetables. Need to book as locals claim it as their own. Love the place. Staff friendly and efficient. Try it. You will not be disappointed ! We are Australian and come here every year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lezlih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Catered for a large group of adults and children at very short notice. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent - all very obviously top quality ingredients and home made!! No children's menu - but all adults meals could be scaled down - even going so far as to halve their puddings so that the kids could share. We were staying elsewhere so can't comment on the accommodation - but really can not praise the food and service highly enough. Bar very friendly too - felt like more of a locals pub but we were made to feel very welcome (children included). Is located a little bit further off the beaten track than many other pubs but well worth the short walk. Some of our group even booked for the following night as well!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JLRobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

A beautiful historic local pub. Full of character and spotlessly clean. A warm friendly welcome and a proper show stopper breakfast !!!
Rooms are low beamed with tastefully added en - suite and freshly decorated. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon-barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our daughter was due to fly from Heathrow to Canada and we needed somewhere to the west of London to stay overnight prior to her flight the following day. We'd never been to Henley before but suspected it might be a nice place to spend an evening together before her departure and it was certainly handy for the airport.
Our plans immediately fell apart due to major problems on the motorway down from the north west and instead of arriving around 6pm we arrived at the Row Barge, tired, thirsty and hungry at 10.30pm! As we'd feared most places to eat were closing down but the owners of the Row Barge made us very welcome, quickly gave us a drink and immediately, without being asked, started to try and find us somewhere in town to eat. Fortunately they were successful and we were able to spend a very enjoyable couple of hours with our daughter and had a lovely meal at the Asiana Spice restaurant (the subject of a separate review).
We had a very brief glimpse of Henley at night and the following morning - it's a beautiful small town and we definitely intend to visit again.
We equally intend to stay at the Row Barge! It's a lovely old pub with lots of charm and very handy walking distance for the town and the Thames. There are just 4 rooms of which we occupied 2 - both were large and spotlessly clean with not a right angle to be found!! (sloping floors etc which just added to the charm!). A full english breakfast the following morning was enjoyed with gusto.
Can't recommend this place highly enough and look forward to the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
686 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Row Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Row Barge Inn

Address: 37 West Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £88 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Row Barge is one of Henley’s oldest coaching inns. Not far from the town centre, you can find us 100 yards from the Town Hall on West Street, just behind the fire station. In a quiet residential area yet only moments from the centre of town and the stunning walks along the Thames, this 16th Century traditional pub will satisfy those in search of a good drink, great home-cooked food and a warm and comforting welcome, for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Row Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Row Barge Hotel Henley-On-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing