We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and location”
Review of The Paddock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Paddock
Reviewed 23 July 2013

On our first visit to Henley on Thames 5 years ago we stayed in a lovely old B&B facing the river, however I could not locate this when searching TripAdvisor last year so we opted for "The Paddock" which turned out to be not far around the corner in a very good location within 5-10 minutes walk of the town centre. On our arrival (on quite a hot day) we were greeted by Jane who immediately offered us a cold drink. Our room upstairs was well equipped, although fairly hot, sitting beneath the roof and a west facing window, however the fan provided meant that we slept well at night. Jane's breakfasts were great, not to mention her friendliness and willingness to provide advice on where to eat etc. the night before we left we were treated to an outdoor movie along with their friends and neighbours in their back garden. This is a great place to stay in Henley on Thames.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidPAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We really felt at home. Jane made us feel very welcome. Everything was perfect. The room was comfortable and large enough to spread out in. Bottled water and snacks in the room There was a living room that was a perfect place to sit and read or relax. A beautiful garden with patio furniture made a lovely place to sit outside. Fresh coffee was always available in the kitchen. We had the downstairs bedroom which has a bath across the hall; I found the shower a bit small, but I'm pretty big. The location is very nice. Just far enough from the town and train station that none of the commotion reaches you (even during regatta week). If you are coming from Heathrow, the tube and train are not very convenient. Jane put put us in touch with a local taxi company that brought us from the airport for only a few pounds more than the tube and train fares would have been. If you're driving there is plenty of off street parking. The breakfast is fantastic: full English, fruit and berries, yogurt, assorted bread, assorted cereal, juice, and all very good. Jane was very accommodating with the hours We recommend the Paddock unequivocally. If we are back in Henley, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kush23435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was a bit nervous about a home-style b and b having had a previous bad experience, however, The Paddock reminded me of what makes these English gems so special.

Jane was very welcoming without being in any way intrusive. She made me tea and cake on arrival. There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as lots of biccies and water bottles. The room was fine - spacious, clean, comfortable bed - everything you'd need.

Best bit is breakfast - it included massive, quality cooked breakfast and fresh bowl of berries. It's worth going back for!

Only suggestion is maybe to put locks on bedroom doors which they don't have because it's a family home. It was OK for me as I didn't have anything of value but others may feel more comfortable with them.

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKimmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed the Paddock this weekend. It is the best B & B i have stayed in Jane made us feel really welcome and made us tea coffee and biscuits when we arrived. There was everything you could think of our room, with bottled water on each bedside table and large mineral water by our kettle. Balcony over looking pretty garden. I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

we recently stayed at the paddock. The hosts were so friendly making us welcome,with tea and biscuits. Once shown to our room we were amazed it was a huge family room with on suite and balcony, pure luxury with massive t.v . The room was very warm and comfortable and is close to the centre of Henley with lots to do. The breakfast was amazing fruit, yoghurt's and cereal followed by a full English and then chocolate croissants. we cant thank the hosts enough for a lovely stay and would recommend this b and b very highly and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bambi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this b & b for the 80's festival at the weekend. I cannot say enough how welcome we felt. It was like we were part of the family. The room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent with every choice on offer. I would reccommend this accommodation to all. Could not praise enough. Hope to stay next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minieggHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were for 2 nights at this amazing B&B.
As you might notice from my other posts, I am more a "hotel type" than a "B&B type". But this was my exeception that could make me a B&B type !
Jane and Mike made our stay indeed just perfect. Ranging from general comform in the spatious room, the surroundings and garden, plenty of parking space in front of the house to small details like a power plug adapter in the room, all the time abundance of (warm) water from the shower, the amazing selection of amenities, various relaxing bath foams and shampoo's, watercooker, coffee and biscuits, hanger and cupboard space available ,THE breakfast, just too much to mention.
These people have been travelling and wanted to do everything right for their guest. They do not just want to generate some income, they want their guest to feel comfortable.

Their house is located just on the outskirts of Henley, but within walking distance (5 min) of the towncenter. Even a great location if you are visiting London !

Please, if this review was helpful to you, try not to forget to click the "YES" button below.
Thank you !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddock

Address: Vicarage Rd, Henley-on-Thames RG9 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing