We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with excellent room facilities”
Review of The Paddock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Paddock
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great B&B with excellent room facilities”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent one night here in the large family room (a free upgrade) whilst attending a party locally. Very easy to locate and just a short walk from the Thames and Henley centre. The room has some wonderful features: an adjustable massaging bed, a whirlpool bath and a balcony. What a lovely welcoming touch to be given tea and flapjack on the balcony, on arrival.

The breakfast was amazing with cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurt as well as a full English. Jane was an excellent host and made us feel very welcome.

I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 574ejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at The Paddock for three nights for my 70th birthday weekend, with the younger members of our family, including our 2 year old grandson, joining us for two nights in an adjoining room. The whole experience was a delightful one which helped to make the weekend memorable. Jane was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. The Paddock retains the atmosphere of a relaxed family home, yet guests are very well provided for, both in the rooms and at breakfast. The full English breakfast was beautifully cooked, while the fresh summer fruits and warm danish pastries were delicious. The location, five minutes' walk on quiet streets to the town centre, is very convenient, and being set back from the road, the gravel drive provides plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed for 24 hours whilst visiting friends. Jane and michael are charming hosts and most welcoming. Breakfast was outstanding. House is a short walk from Henley town centre. Would recommend whole heartedly

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I'll keep this short. Big room, comfy bed, nice en-suite with good hot shower, huge and excellent breakfast, free wi-fi and walking distance to the town centre. £85 seems a reasonable price for such quality.

What more could you want? A friendly hostess? Well, you're in luck on that score too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob99Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose The Paddock for our annual 1 night reunion of a group of female school friends. Our expectations were high after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Jane is a wonderful host: extremely welcoming and keen to help in anyway she can, but not at all intrusive. She was also very helpful prior to our visit in recommending walks and restaurants to suit us. The rooms were lovely and unusual in layout. Jane has added many little thoughtful touches, explained in detail by other reviewers, to add to the whole experience. The breakfast was delicious and very relaxed, so we were able to take our time and savour the treat. Jane was extremely thoughtful in the way she managed the timings for breakfast to accommodate us and the family who were also staying.
The Paddock is definitely one of the best, if not the best, B&B we have stayed in as a group. a huge thank you to Jane!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were very good. Family room is especially spacious and has a great layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at The Paddock for 2 nights while moving in to my new house in Henley. Part of my reason for choosing it was the universally positive Tripadvisor ratings, something which is relatively unusual in my experience. That said, I am very happy to add my "Excellent" to the list. The Paddock was as close to perfection as I could have hoped to experience. It started with the warm welcome from Jane when I arrived, continued with the room ("Emily"), which was equipped with everything I could have wanted - wifi, freeview TV channels, tea, coffee and a delicious range of biscuits, mineral water, comfy double bed, fluffy towels, en suite bathroom with lovely toiletries and bath as well as shower - I could go on, but I need to talk about breakfast. Oh, the breakfast! It is served family style around a big table in a family dining room. There is lots of information available about Henley on Thames to peruse over your meal, if you can take your mind off the food! Fresh fruits, juice, a great selection of cereals, yoghurts, delicious bread to toast as you like it, and cooked breakfast choices, by which I mean you can go for the full English, or just have a few slices of bacon to make yourself a bacon sandwich if that is your fancy. One of the best B and Bs I have ever stayed in. I have no hesitation in wholeheartedly recommending The Paddock to Tripadvisor travellers. The only thing that will stop me visiting again is that I now live in Henley!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Paddock for 2 nights during a business trip. I cannot fault this lovely little B&B from cleanliness to the amazing breakfasts in the morning. Jane & Mike go out of their way to ensure your stay with them is comfortable and pleasant, whilst giving you enough privacy to forget that you are actually staying in their family home.

Little touches were very much appreciated such as tea and cake on arrival and fresh bottled water in my room. Will definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
193 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddock

Property: The Paddock
Address: Vicarage Rd, Henley-on-Thames RG9 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing